We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lions Valley Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$266
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Royal Country Inn(Dundee)(Great Value!)
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Cathedral Peak Hotel(Giants Castle Game Reserve)
US$270
US$250
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$417
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Nest Hotel(Cathkin Park)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Inkungu Lodge(Drakensberg Region)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Harrismith Inn(Harrismith)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sierra Resort(Mooi River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
237
8
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
8
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsromance suitethe reservegame drivesrooms are hugechef jameswithin feetstar luxurywatering holewater holehis knowledgegreat reservehighest qualityspent three nightshis passionattention to detailblack rhinoinfinity pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Returned to Lions Valley Lodge with friends over New Year period even better than previous visit, saw everything except leopard, great lion sightings, rhino, cheetah. Even the elephants obliged us, they came down to water hole to have a mud bath while we had breakfast on New Years Day. Audri and Greig doing a great job running the Lodge. Kurt (sorry for any mis spelling of names) a great ranger all the staff friendly and cannot do enouh for you. If you are considering a safari couldn't think of a better place. Luxury at affordable price.

Room Tip: room close to Boma means you can walk back to your room in daylight instead of going in golf cart
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilly1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at Lions Valley in the Nambiti conservancy.
When we arrived I was amazed at the size of the lodge even though from our
approach it just blended into the valley slope. The open reception, with
'staircase' and chandeliers is stunning! The bar, indoor & out dining,
lounge and library are laid out and decorated to perfection. There are
traditional hunting trophies and then there are extras with a twist. A
'mirror-ball' effect kudu trophy and huge modern art original on canvas of
wild dogs. Our room was the 'enchanting zebra'. It was all things black and
white. There has certainly been a huge amount of thought gone into each
room. Every detail is meticulous but so subtle that everything blends in and
is not over the top in any way. We took a look at some of the other rooms to
and wow, each one is individually themed and decorated with great skill. The
food, introduced by the chef, in the evening was wonderful. My kingklip was
cooked to perfection. The reserve itself is home to the big 5, and whilst
there we encountered 4 of them plus a stack of other game. Maybe next time
we will see the illusive leopard? SafariKZN has more information on our stay KZN

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SafariKZN-Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Nambiti Conservancy and Lions Valley Lodge (LVL) were outstanding. We simply did not want to leave. LVL provided us a wonderful opportunity to experience the bushveld and see the Big Five in their natural environment. Each game drive heightened the experience of the next and we came away with a new appreciation for conservancy and maintenance of a natural environment. The rangers were experienced and knowledgeable. The owners and staff of LVL were hospitable and provided personal attention, service, and a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelnfam105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We visited the reserve as part of a package for the world cup in 2010 and were astounded by everything about it.

The lodges were incredible and ultimate luxury - something special.

The main focus was the safari drives of which there are typically 2 per day. I would recommend this experience at least once in a lifetime - its incredible. However, remember that you are driving around on dirt tracks for hours at a time which could be an issue if you are anyway delicate. But if you are reasonably healthy I would encourage you to go along.

The accommodation and safari drives are the highlights without doubt - but the rest of the services are of equally high quality.

I cant say we will be back, as its the sort of trip I would do only once, but I strongly recommend this reserve as a destination.

Intenet connection is difficult, bit we were able to upload photos to the web during the drive when we came across a mobile signal. Make sure you bring a camera with a good zoom 10x or better (my only regret). If you dont have one borrow or buy one befoe you travel.

If you have infants in your family - its probable best to wait until they are a bit older.

Room Tip: They are all excellent - so no tips required
  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oaklands_Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

My fiance and I spend 3 days and two nights at this magnificent lodge. The setting is just gorgeous. Our room was 5 star luxury, spacious, very private, with lots of romantic options like 2 claw foot baths, 2 outside showers, 2 inside showers and a patio splash pool. The two 3-hour games drives each day meant that we got to see 4 of the big 5, along with lots of game and even two cheetahs. The staff are very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The food was generous and very tasty. The lodge is not fenced, which makes the experience all the most exciting. I would visit Lions Valley Lodge again in a moment. A fantastic visit, worth every penny!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HeyLeClubJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews