We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Esiweni Luxury Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Esiweni Lodge was beautiful and such a unique place. The bedrooms were very spacious and had stunning views of the valley. It was probably the best view I’ve had from a hotel room. The daily safari’s were exciting and very much tailored to what animals we hoped to see. Having a glass of wine at sunset towards the end of the safari was such a nice touch. The food was incredible and the chef was very flexible to ensuring we were happy with our meal choices. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we really felt like we had become friends with everyone by the end of our stay.

Esiweni is a very romantic place and is where I got engaged. It was the perfect setting. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatGane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

Very nice setting and the lodge is very attractive. The staff are very good and the food is excellent. Our guide was very good and we appreciated his knowledge of the bush. The rooms are spacious. I loved the bird life and despite the grass being very long we still saw mountain and common reedbuck as well as steenbok as well as a variety of antelope. We had a good experience with a breeding herd of elephants. It is cold at this time of the year but with roaring fires at night and heaters and electric blankets in our rooms we were cosy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Return here after about 18 months with wife and mother-in-law. Last time was great and again Magda, Nati and the team excelled. Good location as there is no need for malaria tablets which is always a good thing.

Rooms are lovely with great views over the gorge and food is lovely.

All happy, all good. Just go.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

All of the positive reviews on Tripadvisor are well deserved. We recently stayed for four nights and found the lodge as welcoming and comfortable as expected. The quality of the rooms and food was exceptional, and the game drives were very well done. Everyone was very warm and friendly, and we had absolutely no complaints. Very personal staff who all seem to truly enjoy what they do.

Well worth the money, and our 11 year old is already demanding we return next year. She saw all of the animals she hoped to, and we were very happy that extra effort was made to locate animals she wanted to see.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcn2045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Went with a group of friends for a 30th birthday - contacted them in advance and they were fantastic, organised a lovely cake and champagne! Had an incredible weekend. Felt very personal due to the small numbers. Great food. Beautiful rooms. Would strongly re commend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank greenshieldsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

On our own. Could arrange bush trips to suit weather & ourselves. Grass very long so difficult to see small animals. 1st season snow on the Berg while there so early morning very chilly. Beautiful vista's from Lodge & a great place to book out with a group of friends

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RayCanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Unfortunately I could not stay longer but I was most impressed with what I did see of the lodge. The room was excellent and the food even more so. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. I would not hesitate to recommend the lodge to any prospective tourist.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ladysmith hotels
1.5 mi away
Nambiti Plains Private Game Reserve
6.7 mi away
Nambiti Hills Private Game Lodge
8.9 mi away
Umzolozolo Lodge
Umzolozolo Lodge
#7 of 17 in Ladysmith
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Cheetah Ridge Lodge
Cheetah Ridge Lodge
#3 of 17 in Ladysmith
248 reviews
6.5 mi away
Springbok Lodge
Springbok Lodge
#8 of 17 in Ladysmith
224 reviews
34.3 mi away
Spionkop Lodge
Spionkop Lodge
#6 of 17 in Ladysmith
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esiweni Luxury Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esiweni Luxury Safari Lodge

Address: Nambiti Private Game Reserve | Elandslaagte, Ladysmith 3371, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Ladysmith
Price Range: £676 - £742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esiweni Lodge offers five, luxurious, individual suites. Each has an indoor shower, magnificent views from the bath and a private, outdoor shower. Two of the suites are interconnected for use as a family unit. Each suite has underfloor heating for cold winter nights and overhead fans for warm, summer evenings. Our honeymoon suite has a private, outdoor bath with stunning views across the valley.Fully retracting patio doors open onto private decks where you can enjoy the majestic views of the Sundays River, waterfall and valley below. The decor of the main lodge is elegant depicting a colonial safari theme. Large, stone hearths warm the lounge and dining areas on cold, winter nights. During good weather, outdoor dining overlooking the valley is served on the vast, wooden deck. An intercom system is in place to connect each suite to the lodge staff in case of emergencies. Safes are also provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Esiweni Luxury Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing