We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ms Makabane”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nauntons Guest House
Ranked #2 of 18 Ladysmith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kloof, South Africa
1 review
“Ms Makabane”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I had stayed in one of the hotels in Ladysmith and I was not happy. I thought let me give Naughtons a try and I was extremely impressed. The service was good and I was very comfortable.................

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Zandile M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    48
    7
    8
    4
See reviews for
41
59
7
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with my brother as we travelled from Durban to Nelspruit, following the Welsh Rugby Team. The establishment is very well run and the staff are very helpful and pleasant. The twin room we had was very clean, comfortable & well appointed. On our first night we enjoyed a good evening meal, while both if the breakfasts were tasty & filling. The sofa & chairs around the roaring fire made a pleasant place to relax with a pre & post dinner drink from the "honesty bar". All in all an excellent stopping off place for anyone visiting, as we did the battlefield sites. As mentioned in another review, the only slight issue is locating the entrance sign, which is easy to miss. Highly recommended

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gareth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I recently visited Ladysmith on business and was booked into a hotel in the city. This proved to be a big mistake. I requested that the team be relocated with immediate effect and we were moved to Nauntons Guest House. I have travelled to many places in the country and abroad and stayed in some of the finest hotels and guest houses and never have I experienced greater hospitality than at Nauntons. Wesley was the best host we could ask for. In fact we were treated like family and not guests. We received only the best. Thank you Wes and your team. I look forward to spending some private time with you in the near future.
Brenda Corke, Department of Basic Education

Room Tip: Any room is recommended as they are all unique and very tastefully furnished. you will feel at home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda151725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My overnight stay was very pleasant, with crisp clean facilities all round that matched the friendliness of the staff. Food was good and service was prompt. I would really recommend anyone to go and experience this.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Se3-em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirrawee
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We enjoyed dinner and breakfast. Dinner was varied and included a braai (barbecue) with the family one night. There were two weddings while we were there which caused minor nocturnal noise issues. Do book dinner as Ladysmith is not a good night time environment

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Fantastic initiative to request feedback - I enjoyed the stay - perfect for what I needed. I would enjoy having lighter suppers and a place to hike, walk, jog, as we are sitting the entire day. Thanks

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elsabe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Nauntons so that we could do the Anglo-Boer and Anglo-Zulu battlefield sites. The guesthouse is located a few kilometres out of Ladysmith and if arriving after dark you could miss it as it is not well lit up at the entrance. However, it is an ideal base for exploring the area and is about 40 minutes from Dundee and the Talana Museum and a further 40 minutes brings you to Rorke's Drift.
An evening 3 course meal is available for SAR130 per person and is quite good but no choice. There did not appear to be much choice in Ladysmith itself finding a steak house and a Nando's in the main area.
Naunton's has a calm feel to it and the owners and their staff are very helpful and friendly. It is clean and toiletries are provided as well as a glass of sherry in your room every night! Bed was a bit hard for me after 24 hours travelling. Good choice of English speaking sat tv with movies and news.
Breakfast is made to order for hot items and a continental buffet laid out.
A very comfortable stay indeed.

Room Tip: all rooms are very spacious and I believe there is an outdoor bridal suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obankirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ladysmith
3.6 mi away
Buller's Rest Lodge
Buller's Rest Lodge
#1 of 18 in Ladysmith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
9.2 mi away
Nambiti Hills Private Game Lodge
3.2 mi away
Memra Guest House
Memra Guest House
#3 of 18 in Ladysmith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Cheetah Ridge Lodge
Cheetah Ridge Lodge
#4 of 17 in Ladysmith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
20.8 mi away
Spionkop Lodge
Spionkop Lodge
#8 of 17 in Ladysmith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
15.2 mi away
Zingela Safaris & River Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nauntons Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nauntons Guest House

Property: Nauntons Guest House
Address: 11 Newcastle Road | Model Kloof, Ladysmith 3370, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ladysmith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Nauntons Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some of our offerings include: • 4 Star Guest House graded by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa • FREE WiFi Internet access to all guests • Over 60 DSTV channels in every room • Our 10 Rooms include either King, Queen, Double or Single beds • Hospitality 4 - 5 Star Polycotton Percale 200TC Linen on all beds • A 3 Course Dinner Meal (on request) • VIP Gold & Mocha Java Filter Coffee in every room We offer a relaxing environment for both tourists and businesspersons, situated on the outskirts of a town full of historical interest. At Nauntons Guest House we pride ourselves on spoiling you and making it a perfect home away from home. Our estate is situated 2km outside Ladysmith, Kwa-Zulu Natal. Our 10 en-suite bedrooms are beautifully furnished and each room includes a 32inch Flat Screen TV with over 40 DSTV channels and is air conditioned. A superb 3-course dinner is available on request. We cater for all special dietary requirements. We take immense pride in our food and serve only the best quality. Laundry is also available. Our staff is dedicated to making your stay as pleasant as possible. We have a huge living area where you can either enjoy the home-theatre system or simply relax at the honesty bar after a long day's work. Guests are welcome to make use of the swimming pool area. We also co-ordinate weddings from beginning to end. All kinds of weddings can be organised - Western, Eastern and African. No matter how small or how big the budget, our team can create a wedding to suite your tastes, themes and colours. A choice of on-site venues are available from Thandana Wedding & Conference venue to garden weddings where the couple can get married under a gazebo in a very tranquil setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Nauntons Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing