We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
405
18
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
405
18
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family tent game drives the reserve luxury tents comfortable lounge piece of paradise coffee tea station went above and beyond large bathroom main lounge bush experience blown away amazing animals special family an adventure wild animals comfortable accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

This was our first visit to Nambithi and we decided to opt for one of the family lodges. Ndaka Safari Lodge exceeded all our expectations. We were treated like royalty from the time we entered the main gate. We spent 6 nights at the lodge and the accommodations was full board.
The food was 5 star and we were spoilt for choice.
The game drives, 2 a day were amazing and every drive out was different.
The accommodation was excellent, clean, modern and spacious.
The staff. what can I say, Steve, Gugu, Bongwe, Kate, Given, Courtney, Siya, Nico, Kwanele, each of you has a special place in our hearts and we cannot wait to return!

Tracy & Mark you have done an outstanding job and wishing you all the best, thank you again!

Angelique Rees

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AngRees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate O, General Manager at Ndaka Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you so much for a such a wonderful review - the entire team so enjoyed having you all at the lodge and your little man has crept into all out hearts - even though he supports some interesting teams. We are already looking forward to your return later in the year and getting to meet the new additions to your the family. Thank you once again for choosing Ndaka as your family safari destination. Kind regards Team Ndaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

A beautiful place to experience nature at its best. Lovely luxurious tented suites with all the normal luxuries of home ie. hot water, baths, showers, king size beds, lounge, heaters, tea/coffee table. Scenic views of the wildlife from your tent provided you are on the side of the reserve like we were in. Sit and chill with nature. Electric fences to protect your suites. Lovely resort for nature loving families. Children have specific meals and entertainment. Staff are very welcoming and friendly and best of all is that it is on first name basis. You are welcomed by being addressed by your name. Meals were lovely and you have a selection only for dinner. Overall a beautiful experience to watch white rhinos, elephants, lions/lioness, giraffes, cheetahs, wildebeest and others.
You have two drives, one at 3pm and another at 6am. With these drives you have a stop over for coffee/amarula in the mornings and a sundowner for the evenings.

Room Tip: Quite Place to be away from everything but winds are strong certain periods can be a problem
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rajin-Pillay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate O, General Manager at Ndaka Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you so much for your great review Rajin, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of Ndaka. We are thrilled you and your family enjoyed your time at the lodge and look forward to welcoming you all back. Kind regards "Team Ndaka"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

We recently stayed in one of the safari tents at Ndaka for three nights. We had a fantastic time and will definitely try to return on our next SA trip.

The tents are large with a separate lounge area and bathroom. Due to the rather cold weather we couldn't use the outdoor shower but we very much enjoyed taking a bath and looking out at the bush after coming back from our game drives. We didn't see the rooms in the main building, but if you decide to go I would definitely recommend choosing a tent.

With regards to the game drives: You are taken on game drives twice a day. Our guide (Amy) managed to get us to the most amazing sightings - including among others lions very close up to the car after sunset, lions feeding on a wilderbeast and elephant bulls playing in a dam close to the lodge. Amy is great at her job and we learnt lots about the animals in the reserve.

Ndaka in general: The food is good and you will never manage to get hungry there. Drinks are not included but we had the impression they are sold with just a tiny premium above the purchase price, which was a nice surprise upon check out.

So overall we can highly recommend Ndaka and would return anytime.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank A_E771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate O, General Manager at Ndaka Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you so much for such a great review. We really are lucky to have Amy as part of the Ndaka team and are thrilled you managed to see so much while you were with us.
We look forward to welcoming back to Ndaka when you return to South Africa Kind regards "Team Ndaka"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

We recently stayed midweek at Ndaka. It was our second stay and even though we had the most fantastic experience last time, this stay exceeded any expectation.

Game drives: Absolutely superb. Amy is incredibly knowledgeable and 'read' us very well as to the depth of detail we were interested in. She struck the balance exceptionally well between us viewing so many animals knowing that we wanted to see as much as possible, but also spending time enjoying observing the animals behaviours. The game drives were between 3-3.5 hours each and we set off at 6 am and 3:30 pm daily. The sundowners with snacks, and morning hot chocolate (Amarula) with rusks were welcome additions to the drive. The use of Ndaka ponchos while in the open vehicles made the drives much warmer.

Accommodation: Superb! The 'tented' rooms are tastefully decorated with the heaters and electric blankets being welcomed. The rooms are all quite spread out which gives a good sense of space and facilitates relaxation. The view from the room (and bath!) was awesome.

Food and Common areas: Faultless! The 'new' dining room/ lounge/bar is beautifully designed and decorated. The all day tea/coffee/rusks added to the relaxed feeling in the lounge where the comfortable sofa's encouraged great conversation, a few games, reading, and even a bit of knitting! The food is plentiful and great quality/variety. There's a buffet breakfast and lunch, while dinner is preordered off a 3 course menu.

Staff: So friendly. Fana welcomed us in the beginning with the biggest smile which set the stage for the entire stay. Nothing was too much of a problem for anyone, and it was wonderful to see everyone working so well together. The service is great and the second drinks, and welcome back drinks/ towels after game drives were a nice addition.

Overall our stay really was 5 star. We spent 2 nights at Ndaka which was perfect or us, and left us longing to go back.

Until next time......

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey M, Owner at Ndaka Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Wow! Thank you for this incredible review - we are all so grateful.. We are blown away by your feedback and thrilled that you had such a wonderful time with us. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Ndaka. Warm regards from Team Ndaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

I highly recommend family-owned Ndaka, one of the ten lodges forming part of Nambiti near Ladysmith, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. The warmth and friendliness of owner Mark Marshall cascades through all levels of staff who remember names and happily converse in English. Our amazing guide, Amy was not only extremely knowledgeable, but listened to our questions and answered with authority. What we said and needs we expressed seemed really important to her. She also provided experiences of a lifetime throughout the early morning and late afternoon drives especially when lions were so close that my 96-year old mother said she actually stopped breathing for a while! But Amy inspired such trust that we knew everyone was in safe hands amongst the ‘ Big Five’.

At mealtimes, I particularly noticed that everyone (including Mark and Amy) were ‘ hands-on’ clearing plates where they noticed the need and happily engaging equally with all the guests. Teamwork and collaboration are evident. The ages of our party ranged from 47 to 96 and all were made to feel most welcome. The food was fresh, of excellent quality and delicious. The recent upgrades under the careful planning and design of Tracy Mashall provide comfortable, interesting décor which is most appealing. The ‘ tented’ cottages are luxurious and very well designed. Each has a special theme – for example, we stayed in Zebra and really enjoyed the attention to detail like the zebra picture, throw on the bed and coat-hooks.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brendaeckstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey M, Owner at Ndaka Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Many thanks for this lovely review from your recent stay with us. We are delighted that Amy and the team took such great care of you all. Mark & I really appreciate your kind words and will be sure to pass them on to everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews