We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and relaxing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Les Sources de Caudalie
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Martillac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We just returned from a business awards trip, spending three nights at Les Sources de Caudalie. What a beautiful property! Charming and inviting, with something interesting to look at everywhere you turn! Our room was in one of the buildings away from the main building. The room was on the small side, but this is usual for Europe. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the bathroom was large with a walk-in shower with products from the spa. Our room had wifi. Staff was helpful and unobtrusive. We spent our days touring vineyards, the city of Bordeaux and the village of St. Emilion, so we did not try out the spa-maybe next time! We did not have dinner at the restaurant, but we did enjoy late night drinks in the bar. It rained much of the time we were there, but that did not mar the beauty of the place. The chateau is not close to the city of Bordeaux, so a rental car or private car would be necessary. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: It was nice to stay in one of the separate buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idontwant2gohome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 231 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

Just spent a night at the Chateau whilst on a boys road trip around the Bordeaux vineyards. The stay here was definitely the highlight of our trip.
Rooms were extremely well furnished, very clean and were original. The wecome to your room with a lovely glass of wine and fresh fruits was great. The Bistro restaurant served fantastic food and has a complete wine list. Service and food quality was A*.
Breakfast was awesome.
The grounds and hotel are imaculate and well cared for.
Thank You !

Stayed: April 2012
3  Thank Jammydodgerglb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed at this beautiful property for 2 nights with work and would return for pleasure.

Room
The room (I think it was No.20) was located on the 1st floor of the main house and was of a good size, well decorated with a large comfortable bed. It had a balcony which overlooked the pretty lake and vineyards and faced towards the morning sun. The bathroom was large with walk-in shower and bath. As mentioned by others, Caudalie toiletries and product samples are in the bathroom. The only negative was that the lighting in the bedroom was poor if you need/want to work (but this is a spa hotel not a business hotel!).

Spa
I didn’t use it but it should be noted that this is a chargeable extra and I believe that only the outdoor pool is included in the room rate.

Public areas
All appeared to be very well kept.

Grounds
Very impressive. The chateau, vineyards and lake make for a stunning backdrop. There are bikes available for use at the front of the hotel.

Restaurant/Bar
I ate breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel. The quality of food and wine was excellent (although I can’t comment on the cost). I particularly liked the breads and fresh grape juices at breakfast. NB: breakfast is “continental” so some people may find it limited.

The bar area was rather small and prices were quite high. No free pouring here so measures are small.

Service
Friendly but sometimes appeared a little slow.

Location
The hotel is not that close to the centre Bordeaux

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RSF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We were here this summer for a romantic vineyard getaway....anything but that! We decided to stay in the smal cottage on the lake on the property. From the outside it looks rustic and charming but the interior decor screamed like it was from a tacky casino. The had a couch that looked like a set of lips and wall paper that appeared to look like mirrors..can we say 1980's??? The Internet connection was terrible and the front desk was unaccomadating and rude! We asked for things to do in the area...wouldn't help us..restaurant reservations, they said call yourself. It is quite ashame because the setting is lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomaneRelationClient, Responsable relations clients at Les Sources de Caudalie, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Dear Mrs D.,

we are sorry you did not spend a pleasant time at Les Sources de Caudalie last summer. We regret you did not appreciate the modernity of your suite designed by Maison Martin Margiela. The avant-gardist decoration of this room is surprising, and I can understand that it could not suit your taste.
We deplore you had to face other inconvenience during your stay, and assure you we keep training our staff to reach the best level of service.
I stay at your entire disposal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Had lunch couple of days ago, very fresh ingredients with nice execution, relaxed atmosphere with efficient service, very nice wines to match with dishes. Enjoyed a three courses menu for 35euros. Will remember the cappuccino of panais...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naturalG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

The location of the hotel, although quite inconvenient to visit Bordeaux easily (about 30min far from the center), it is beautiful, located among the vineyards of the chateau, facing a beautiful pond hosting a couple of swans.
The rooms are normal to spacious size, mine was on the first floor overlooking the pond and the vineyards. The bathroom was full of Caudalie cosmetics (a real joy - this brand has very good products!), and there was a bath tube. The room was supposed to have wifi, but... no! There was no reception of the wifi there, although from my room I could see the main building - it was not far at all. That was really inconvenient, sometimes there was no wifi not even in the reception and main building.
The breakfast was one of the best ones I 've had in a 5 star hotel. A very nice selection of cheeses, home made croissants, quiche, fantastic apple pie, variety of breads, eggs made to order... All raw material used were really carefully chosen. I would say the same for the 2 restaurants: la table du lavoir offers a very nice ambiance and casual dining, the Grand Vigne is a Michelin star restaurant - well, I have to admit that food was nice but not exceptional to rate it with a michelin star! I cannot say about the prices, since it was not me who paid.
The Spa was below expectations unfortunately. It seems that it left without any renovation for a long time. The massage rooms are nothing special, there is no sauna (only a hamam), and the thermal bath is just adequate. There are no lockers but a wardrobe with a woman who keeps your staff, which is not very convenient having to leave your handbag and precious belongings there. Finally, the fitting rooms were just next to the place of the spa where you could sit and relax in between your therapies and watch the outdoors, and there was no door in between: that had as an effect that you could hear the hair dryer at times while you were enjoying your tea and the views... The massages were more like rubbing you...
Choose to go there for 3-4 days to enjoy the nature, walk or cycle around (the reception offers bicycles free of charge to go around!), enjoy nice, traditional food and drink good wine. On the side you can enjoy the spa, but don't have high expectations because you will definitely get disappointed!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trip-lover-forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomaneRelationClient, Responsable relations clients at Les Sources de Caudalie, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear Sir, dear Madam,

we are glad to see that you spent a nice moment at Les Sources de Caudalie, but are sorry that the Caudalie Spa did not satisfy your expectations. Be sure that we pay attention to keep the place in peace and quiet : we regret you did not relax as you wanted to.
For several years, our treatments meet a great success in all our spas, thanks to our specific and unique protocols. However, be sure we are going to audition your therapist to revalue his competences. If her professionalism is not as high as our ambition, we shall also take measures to guarantee a very good level of treatments to all our customers.
We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at Les Sources de Caudalie.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at Les Sources de Caudalie in September of 2011; and had a nice time, that could have been improved with better service. The property is gorgeous with wonderful sculptures placed along the grounds, and spectacular views overlooking the vineyard. We had a very nice room in the beautiful Boathouse building.

The problem with the property, is the service in the bar and restaurant is extremely poor. Except for one wonderful waiter (whose name we sadly never got), we felt we had to ask for most things twice because the first request was often ignored. When trying to order a drink in the bar, the waiters would pass the table never looking or checking to see if you may want to order. I do not think in a hotel of this caliber one should have to wave down an employee for service.

We did the tasting menu in La Grand' Vigne one evening (happily we had the excellent waiter); and all of the courses were phenomenal. The other evenings we ate in La Table du Lavoir; which has excellent food, but the menu is limiting with only 4 entrees.

Due to the beauty of the property, and the very central location, we had a nice experience; but the rude service would prevent us from ever returning or recommending.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WestsideRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martillac
21.7 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
911 reviews
2.6 mi away
Domaine de Larchey
Domaine de Larchey
#1 of 1 in Saint-Medard-d'Eyrans
189 reviews
7.9 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 174 in Bordeaux
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel
6.3 mi away
Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux
7.8 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 174 in Bordeaux
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Sources de Caudalie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Sources de Caudalie

Address: Chemin de Smith Haut Lafitte, 33650 Martillac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Martillac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Martillac
Price Range: £208 - £837 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Sources de Caudalie 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Sources de Caudalie are located in the middle of Chateau Smith Haut Lafitte vineyards, only 15 minutes from Bordeaux center.The hotel also includes 2 restaurants and a Vinotherapie spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Les Sources de Caudalie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Sources De Caudalie Hotel Martillac
Les Sources De Caudalie Martillac
Les Sources De Caudalie France/Martillac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing