We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough, but fantastic food from restaurant below”
Review of Hotel Grotto Bagat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Grotto Bagat
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is located along the lake at Ponte Tresa, so we had a nice view from our room, which opens up to a common balcony. The room was adequate. There was a queen sized bed and a sofa bed, and one bathroom. It's good for 2 couples or a family; but don't expect to get any privacy since it's all in one room. The room was clean and the hot water in the shower was consistent.

Our stay included breakfast, which was adequate. There was an assortment of pastries and cake, and coffee, tea, and yoghurt.

The highlight of our stay was the food from the restaurant below. There was a good range, and the food was excellent. The waiter even brought it up to our room at our request, and we had a lovely meal on the balcony, overlooking the lake, away from the noise of other restaurant patrons,

In summary, the room was decent for the price. But definitely, give the restaurant a try.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thesmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2012

The service, food, atmosphere at this hotel and restaurant was exceptional. We eat in the restaurant on three evenings and the staff were really welcoming along with English menus being available to help you decide. The staff on reception were always prompt and professional and there appeared to be a real sense of pride in their hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank geocachegang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Excellent stay in a town that is less busy, but equally, if not more beautiful than Lugano.
Hotel was exceptional value with decent size and very clean rooms. We were very to find this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NJ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Martina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Raffaele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank kenparker72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fabrizio J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel Grotto Bagat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grotto Bagat

Address: Via Brusimpiano, 16, 21037 Lavena Ponte Tresa, Italy (Formerly Hotel Ristorante Grotto Bagat)
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Lavena Ponte Tresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lavena Ponte Tresa
Price Range: £46 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grotto Bagat 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Grotto Bagat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing