We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Review of Le Vieux Port”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camping le Vieux Port
Surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Review of Le Vieux Port”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

This was our first visit to a camp site in France. We travelled on 26 August for 8 days. We have 3 children, aged, 7 and 5. We thought the campsite was great (but obviously have nothing to compare with). It is set in a lovely forest, we had a safari tent which was great fun and very comfortable. We found the place clean and well looked after. The toilet blocks and showers were regularly cleaned. The beach was a 10/15 minute walk away and it was beautiful. Although the coast is Atlantic and dangerous, life guards are there during the day. We had great weather every day so this helped. The children loved the pools and slides. We stayed for 8 days and did not even get a chance to use the kids club as there was so much to see and do around the campsite. The village of Vieux Boucau was great and we ate out a couple of nights there overlooking the lake. There was also a festival going on the weekend we were there so we saw a Bull fight show and there was a fair with rides.

Lake Leon is worth a visit where you can hire a boat or pedalo. We went pony trekking (5 mins outside campsite). Definitely recommned hiring bikes or taking your own.

The only disappointing thing was the evening entertainment. Not much for the kids and all entertainment was in French but we did go end of season. I think my daughter was hoping for more UK holiday campsite style disco! The restaurant on site we did not use as it seemed very expensive. The take away pizza's were great though and reasonably priced.

Would recommend visiting local big supermarket - Super U at end of the road or LeClerc as much cheaper than on site SPAR shop.

We had a great holiday and the children loved it so we are returning next year. I think if we had not had such great weather, however, if would have been a different story! It is a busy campsite but going last week of August seemed quieter.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happycabbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    410
    284
    125
    101
See reviews for
914
108
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk, Co.Louth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Hi, stayed here in June of this year. Its probably a lovely place - in the right weather- but it had rained for a month solid before we arrived and it rained continuously while we were there. The site is very obviously geared for the great outdoors so we had a pretty miserable time - we couldn't navigate around the campsite on foot or bike eventually it got difficult to get round by car it was that badly flooded. Keycamp advised the camp owners do have pumps etc to deal with flooding however they were too busy with their own customers to deal with other areas. We saw alot of miserable faces and ended up leaving early.
Again a very biased review as we were so unlucky with the weather, that aside the pool is lovely and well kept, the beach is fab and the sorounding cycle paths look lovely. However the site itself is HUGE! even if it wasn't flooded we couldn't have allowed our kids to wonder around they would never have found us again. It is so big and sprawling and the mobile homes are packed very tightly together. The food was terrible, entertainment nil ( though I believe they did have something on the night we fled) and staff - well they were non existent. So all in a very disappointing holiday.
Just to add while keycamp staff were hard to find on camp we had great help from customer services in cork and in the camp site we moved to.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scirish4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have stayed on this camp site a number of times since our first visit in 1987. On all our visits over the years we have had at least one meal in the camp restaurant and found the quality good and prices fair. Unfortunately the same cannot be said for whoever is running it now. The moules and frites were the worst I have ever had in the 37 years I have been travelling to France. The moules were poor quality, small and practically taste less.The frites, fat and greasy. Cost Euros 13.80 - the highest price for this dish in France this year. What hope is there for a restaurant who cannot get right what is practically a national dish? My husband ordered the fried chicken which amounted to a chicken burger in a bun - cost Euros 14. Best value were the two crepes, but by this time we were disillusioned and will not bother again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetview68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Messanges hotels

Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We've just come back from a week at this campsite, we booked a pitch privately and stayed in our Campervan. We were so excited on the day we arrived, the weather was fantastic and the campsite looked amazing. The kids (15, 8 and 6) quickly got settled into the pools and other kids activities on offer. The only disappointing factor across our weeks stay was some of the staff. On our first night we were spoken to very aggressively by one of the waiters at the bar (we ordered ourselves inside the bar instead of through him), he proceeded to shout at us in front of other guests saying he would get in trouble with his boss because we didn't order from him. We didn't go back to any of the bars because of this during the week. We paid almost €50 for that round of drinks with the group of us there, we should have been able to order at the bar if we wanted!!. To sum up the Campsite itself was amazing however as a guest sometimes we just felt as if we were in the way of the staff. They really would need some kind of training on Customer Experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We visited as part of the Sun holidays promotion and stayed with Eurocamp. The reps from both the site and Eurocamp were excellent and the accommodation clean and well equipped. We visited with our children who are 15,12 & 2 and none of them were bored thanks to the combination of the many pools, onsite entertainment, children's clubs and locality to the beach.
On the downside we found eating out (in general) to be expensive and also the site shop, worth traveling a but further to find a larger supermarket (LeClerc). Be warned you will not be allowed in the pool with regular swim shorts, you need budgie smugglers or will be asked -told to leave the pool!
The nearby town of Vieux Boucau is lovely for an evening out with restaurants and bars for a spot of people watching. The market there is also worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

It's a nice enough place, beach and sea are superb, but our whole experience was dented by Keycamp's assurances beforehand that we would have cabins next to each other, and then we arrived to find we were a good 10mins walk away, which with a 78-year-old disabled grandmother made it so much harder for mealtimes and evening socialising. She's rung up especially to get confirmation that it'd work, but Keycamp liaison between sites and HQ is obviously seriously lacking because it couldn't be done. When you spend two grand getting there and for the week and food, it just leaves a bad taste in your mouth. Having said all that, our little kids just loved it, so, similar to the other review, do go, but not with Keycamp.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonMG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

The resort of Lieux Port is a 1500 site campground/caravan park. With this many sites the resort is actually a very active/busy town of 5000 tourists. It is not a quite, chill, romantic get away spot. It is a BUSY family vacation spot.

The resort itself has a great pool and park facilities. Remember this is a busy place: the pool is busy, the on-site shops are busy, the roads are busy, the disco is busy. The beach is wonderful but given the placement of your campsite you many have a 1.5 km walk to the beach. Wifi is not free and very expensive to purchase, 8 Euro/day/device.

We found our stay with Eurocamp to be acceptable but not good value. We rented a two bedroom caravan for two nights. The per night charge was more expensive than our two bedroom VRBO flat in Paris, on the Seine, directly across from the Louvre. Given the king's ransom we paid for our Eurocamp caravan we were expecting something a little more posh and better equipped than we received. The unit was clean and spacious but the mattresses and pillows were of poor quality (the pillows were 6 cm thick). Although the unit had a kitchen we had to buy/provide our own: BBQ grill, dish soap, dish washing sponge, dish towel, salt, pepper and TOILET PAPER. These are items that normally come with a self catering unit. Providing your own toilet paper was also absurd. As is normal at the resort you must also bring, or rent, your own sheets, pillow cases and towels.

The resort has many different tour companies on site capable of renting you holiday accommodation. We wished to extend our stay at Le Vieux Port but Eurocamp had no available unit thus we changed tour provider and rented a caravan from El Fresco. The El Fresco caravan was: larger, half the price of Eurocamp, and came equipped with: a BBQ grill, dish soap, dish washing sponge, dish towel, salt, pepper and TOILET PAPER. We were also lent a beach umbrella and beach matts.

I would be wary of booking a vacation property with Eurocamp again because of the value. There are other service providers at Le Vieux Port that will provide better accommodation for less money.

Room Tip: Be aware of the "extra charge" items.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Messanges
1.3 mi away
Pignada
Pignada
#4 of 8 in Soustons
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Maison de la Prade
La Maison de la Prade
#1 of 1 in Messanges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
13.3 mi away
Complexe Saubusse Thermal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Les Ecureuils
Les Ecureuils
#3 of 7 in Moliets et Maa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
6.6 mi away
Belambra Clubs Les Tuquets
3.4 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Moliets Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping le Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping le Vieux Port

Property: Camping le Vieux Port
Address: Route de la Plage Sud, 40660 Messanges, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Landes > Messanges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Messanges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Camping le Vieux Port 5*
Number of rooms: 1546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camping Village Resort & Spa : Would you like to have an unforgettable holiday in the biggest 5 stars camping of France? Put down your luggage, park your car, we have everything on site: the beach, animations, nightlife, spa, aquatic park, equestrian center, shops! You won't have the time to get bored! Come with your family, even teenagers won't get bored! We wait for you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., CampingAndCo and PitchUp so you can book your Camping le Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Le Vieux Port Hotel Messanges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing