We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Fasthotel en Bergeracois
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fasthotel en Bergeracois
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montcaret
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Given the "chain" nature of its name, I was expecting a budget hotel, and, to a certain extent, that's what you get here. Rooms are reasonably sized, a little characterless, but very clean. En suite facilities again very clean and, provided you are not an overweight traveller, absolutely fine. I found the air con a little noisy, but ear plugs sorted that out. Despite the fact that the photos suggest it is rather on the side of the road, there is a good distance between carriageway and hotel and the road is not at all busy at night, so car noise not an issue.
Totally disagree with a previous reviewer about its location. Yes, it's in the middle of nowhere in that it's between towns, but it is CERTAINLY close enough to St Emilion to be used as a base. You can either go direct on the main road for about 20 minutes, or meander around "route des vins" circuits and immerse yourself in some beautiful countryside and some quaint villages. Also, 10 minutes drive from Pessac, where you can hire canoes from a very well organised set up.
For me, this was also ideally situated, as it was a short drive from Chateau Soulac, where I was attending a wedding. 25 euros taxi ride during the day, 40 euros at 3 am, although I wasn't drinking and was able to drive both ways.

The HUGE plus for the hotel, however, is its staff. Excellent cleaner, based on the standards I saw, and owned by the a truly charming couple. They took the place over in September 2012, coming out of retirement to do so. I was silly enough not to eat there on the first night, as the dining/reception area is a little bland and soulless and I went on appearances. However, having tasted Madame's home made jam at breakfast the following morning and having seen the menu I missed, I was kicking myself. Everything was freshly cooked, ranging from omelettes made from eggs produced by the chickens in the field at the back of the hotel, via fresh salmon, to steak tartare . On the morning of my departure, Madame bid me farewell at breakfast, saying that she might not be back from the market in time to see me again. I had visions of her returning laden with goodies for that night's menu!
So this is budget, chain hotel rooms and facilities, with all that implies in terms of blandness, but, in the end, so much more thanks to a charming elderly couple who have given it their own twist. There were 6 other guests from the wedding staying there and we all agreed that it was such a pleasant surprise to find a warm, friendly, personal level of service. Try it and see.

Room Tip: To be absolutely sure of a minimum of road noise (not that there is much), ask for a room at the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    13
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
11
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tayport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Just what you would expect from a travel lodge in France. Not as good as most. Bizarre decor but shower worked and so did air con. It's in the middle of nowhere really. Not close enough to St Emilion if you are going there. Very close to Castillon La Bataille. Just average so should be cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather_suds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pianoBar24, Directeur général at Fasthotel en Bergeracois, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
If you find any trouble, it's better to go to the reception and say why you don't agree !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montcaret hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2011

This hotel was just right for our two night stay.The manager was very friendly. The price was right. The bedroom was spacious and clean and the en suite was clean and had a good shower.There is a restaurant which we sampled on the first night. It served a purpose but everything was out of a packet so on the second night we drove about five miles to" Le Mounan" a wonderful pizzeria. All the hotel bedrooms are on the ground floor with the car park in front so easy for loading and unloading.The one thing we found a little frustrating was the noise of the air conditioning unit which did disturb our sleep at times.
All in all perfectly adequate for our requirements.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viv85270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2008

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights for a friends party following on from a 2 day stay at the somewhat more luxurious Regent in Bordeaux.

We paid 50 Euros per room per night and therefore our expectations were not great for this 2 star establishment, however our expections were definitely exceeded.

The hotel staff were friendly and professional with a good understanding of English. We were given our room keys with no problem and directed to our rooms at the rear of the property (The property was 2 rows of back to back rooms on a single floor - like a US motel). The rooms were quite small, very clean with bright paint and bed coverings. We had a small closet/cupboard for our clothes and a modern bathroom capsule like you get on ferries. The shower was a perspex tube, very "beam me up Scotty" but we were delighted by the good water pressure and the abundance of hot water. The bed was a solid foam mattress which nestled around you and stuck when you slept, although surprisingly allowed us to get a good nights sleep. The location is very pretty and quiet.

Breakfast was 6 Euro per person including a buffet of cereals, breads, pastries, ham, cheese, fruit and yogurt and of course the usual hot beverages and orange juice. Very reasonable for the price.

Next time in Montcaret we would stay here again, despite it not being our usual choice of hotel. It is definitely a good location for visiting the abundant vineyards in the area, and definitely good value.

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — bed mattress
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triplalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montcaret
7.1 mi away
Hotel l'Epicurial
Hotel l'Epicurial
#1 of 1 in Saint-Pey-de-Castets
62 reviews
3.7 mi away
Chateau de Sanse
Chateau de Sanse
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Radegonde
124 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Roques
Chateau Fleur de Roques
#1 of 1 in Puisseguin
192 reviews
16.0 mi away
Hotel Mercure Libourne Saint-Emilion
7.7 mi away
Hotel Cafe De La Gare
Hotel Cafe De La Gare
#1 of 1 in Sainte Foy-la-Grande
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fasthotel en Bergeracois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fasthotel en Bergeracois

Property: Fasthotel en Bergeracois
Address: D936 | Lieu-dit "Tête Noire", 24230 Montcaret, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Montcaret
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montcaret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fasthotel en Bergeracois 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is on west from Bergerac(30km). It's a new building (3 years ago), with shower in bathroom and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HostelWorld so you can book your Fasthotel en Bergeracois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fasthotel En Bergeracois Montcaret, France - Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing