We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic French Holiday”
Review of Maison Arc-en-ciel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montcaret
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maison Arc-en-ciel
Ranked #2 of 8 Montcaret B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic French Holiday”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We are a family of 5 just back from our ' mini tour de France'. A highlight for us was staying at this wonderful b&b in a beautiful area of France. The hosts were so very welcoming and had the perfect balance of being there when you needed something and giving you your own space,they really looked after us, nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel very at home. A BBQ was made available for us to use in the evenings which really helped make this an affordable stay for us as it meant we didn't have to eat out and the breakfasts were incredible! The children also had a super time and loved the owners dogs! We couldn't recommend this place highly enough! The Howard family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

A number of us stayed at La Vigne cottage during a heat wave. Whilst the cottage was very comfortable, the drains did not stand up to the number of inhabitants so there was always a lingering smell permeating the building.
It is a great place to just relax in the outdoor environment.
The hosts were very helpful and hospitable
It wasn't an easy place to find and was not the walking distance from the village that we anticipated.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToolesNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madames2, Owner at Maison Arc-en-ciel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are sorry the drains were a problem the week you stayed with us. Your original booking was for 5 adults which was then changed to 9. I explained at the time that this was well over the expected adult capacity. When several showers are taken each day plus several loads of washing each day during extremely hot weather conditions the septic tank system has no time to evacuate the water going through it, and this can cause some unpleasant smells for a time. It also is important to use to correct toilet paper as provided as some can block the syatem. The system is emptied and checked annually and is functioning correctly. That said, we are sorry this caused an issue.
The walking distance to the village is 1.5kms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Stayed with friends in August 2012. The best holiday ever!!! Great weather (not guaranteed ) fine hosts, lovely rural setting, big clean pool(warmed by heatwave) loads to do in the area. Coming back in 2013 work permitting!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DP1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwell, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

OK - so here's the real honest deal. We first went here in 2002 for 1 night on our way to a camp site on the med - my sister was friends with the new owners before they ran to the sun - so there was a connection. The place is a secluded paradise with great helpful service and advice, with peace and quiet and great food and wine thrown in. We happen to have been back for 1 - 2 1/2 weeks at a time in: 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, .... oh and 2008, and 2009, ... oh and 2010, 2011 .... oh and 2012! Funnily enough, we are booked in for 2013!!! I haven't mentioned that numerous friends who came with us have also been again on multiple occasions, for many different reasons. Is this record because we have nowhere else to go or because we had an original introduction via my sister? Come on! We are lucky enough to have been able to go to lots of great countries and places in far flung places (caribbean, USA, Oz, lots of western and eastern Europe), but a common factor is we keep coming back here as well or instead of. If you are a family and want great family fun in the sun (that is safe), or a group of girls (or boys, or both!) who want a great food and drink get away, you will travel long and far to find anywhere as relaxed and perfect as this!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyEezisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We had a lovely week at Maison Arc-en-ciel. It was absolutely perfect for the type of holiday we were looking for - a complete getaway from the stresses of city life and busy jobs; some great wines; and good food. We hired the whole cottage (La Vigne) for a very reasonable rate. It was really two big for the two of us, so we just used the downstairs and didn't go upstairs at all. The cottage is beautiful, comfortable and extremely well equipped. The garden is huge and absolutely gorgeous - lots of fruit trees, some vines, a pool, table tennis, a hammock and more. We spent many lovely lazy days lounging by the pool, playing boules on the lawn and BBQing. Sue and Cath were fantastic hosts. They brought us fresh figs that they'd picked in the garden, gave us advice on the local area, ordered pizza for us from the pizza van than comes to Montcaret every Monday (yum). We enjoyed going to the market in Libourne and coming back with lots of fresh food and preparing it in the cottage. The location is quite remote so this probably wouldn't be ideal if you plan to eat out at restaurants most nights. But the beautiful medieval town of St Emelion is only half an hour's drive away. La Vigne is dog friendly and our little dog had a wonderful time roaming in the local fields and magical woodland (and playing with Sue and Cath's lovely dogs). Would definitely return here and would recommend to anyone wanting to completely relax in beautiful French countryside.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank andyoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This is really everything you want and need if you´re looking for genuine French accomodation. Countrystyle, calm, comfortable living. Genuine feeling with good kitchen, big garden with big pool.Nice dogs and nice cat :).
The owners Sue and Cathy are so kind, serviceminded, always ready to help in a discreet way!
Booking this will be just a hit!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 285728Ulle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We had a perfect time in the beautiful Gite La Vigne. It is cosy with a superb pool, a wonderful garden in the middle of a scenic landscape. Cath and Sue were wonderful hosts - Thank you. I recommend to try their Table d'Hotes - they can really cook!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mdschmid-FFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madames2, Owner at Maison Arc-en-ciel, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you Markus we enjoyed meeting you all. We hope for better weather next time you return to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montcaret hotels
1.6 mi away
Fasthotel en Bergeracois
Fasthotel en Bergeracois
#1 of 1 in Montcaret
32 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Grand Chemin de la Vie
Le Grand Chemin de la Vie
#1 of 8 in Montcaret
47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Domaine de Fonroques
Domaine de Fonroques
#3 of 8 in Montcaret
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
A L'Olivier
A L'Olivier
#4 of 8 in Montcaret
7 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Maison Arc-en-ciel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Arc-en-ciel

Property: Maison Arc-en-ciel
Address: Le Fauresourd | 4 Impasse de la Croix, 24230 Montcaret, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Montcaret
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Montcaret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful, comfortable unfussy accommodation in the heart of the Bordeaux and Bergerac wine regions. We are only 20 minutes drive from the UNESCO World Heritage Site of St. Emilion. We have a large swimming pool and a Jacuzzi hot tub. Breakfast is when you want it and we provide homemade organic jams and organic fruit from our own garden. Wheelchair access and free WiFi. There are 3 bed and breakfast rooms available or our cottage next door which is self catering with its own kitchen and has 4 bedrooms. In total we can sleep 14 + 2 babies in cots throughout the property. We offer evening meals if booked in advance for an extra charge, special diets can be catered for. Wine tasting at local organic vineyards can also be arranged. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maison Arc-En-Ciel Montcaret, France - Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing