We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fairly Good Quality, Abundance of Rules, Any need for a Gun?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Camping Domaine de la Yole
COVENTRY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fairly Good Quality, Abundance of Rules, Any need for a Gun?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed here for 2 weeks in June 2011 in one of the caravans on site.
First impressions, when we arrived, were that the pitches were a little small with little room around them or between vans, and fairly shaded from the sun by the abundance of large trees - OK for some but we like somewhere to sunbathe outside the van, however, we asked our 'Venue' rep to be moved and we got a caravan right opposite a little park with quite a bit of room both sides.

The first day we arrived was a Friday and it being a French bank holiday the site was very busy. We got to the pool only to be turned away by a security guard as we had forgotten to put on our wristbands in the rush to unpack and get to the pool. After getting them the over-zealous security then insisted that I took off my T-shirt before going into the pool complex!!! Many others were being stopped (like customs but worse) for various breaches of what we were to find were the abundance of rules and regulations that the reps failed to even mention. It was then I noticed that the security guard had a handgun (seriously) strapped to his belt, alongside what looked to be pepper spray and a baton!!! I hurriedly took my 3 young kids into the pool before he decided a strip search was required.

As soon as I got into the pool a lifeguard approached me and told me that swimming shorts were not allowed! First I had heard of it, but until I changed I couldn't swim with the kids, I wasn't even allowed to stand in the 2ft deep baby pool to keep an eye on my 2 yr old, despite my shorts being nowhere near the water.

We then got my 4 yr olds rubber ring out as I couldn't accompany him, to put around his waist - guess what - the lifeguard quickly jumped on that and insisted it wasn't allowed despite my protestations!! We later saw a couple who had a baby in an inflatable baby support ring being ushered out of the pool.

The guy who has the gun appears to either run the site or the site's security. He regularly has accidents, whilst we were there he twisted his ankle and trapped his finger in a door, funny until you think he has a loaded handgun whilst he's stumbling about. Even more concerning was when he was helping out with the odd bit of DIY. He helped the bloke next to our van fit a satellite dish. To do this he had to get up a ladder, so before this he 'sensibly' took off his gunbelt and left his handgun on the table outside the van. This was next to our van and the children's play area, where there were several kids milling around!

I better tell you about the site a bit more, to give a full picture. The site itself is fairly well run, and has so called security guards wandering around all the time, looking for any misdemeanours, I suspect, to allow them an opportunity to flex their under-developed muscles. The pool complex is pretty good, with a slide pool and surrounding pool, kids playpool, small kids paddling pool, and 2 larger deeper pools. There is a fair bit of room but very few sunbeds certainly not enough for when it gets busy and this wasn't even high season and no umbrellas to provide shade on hot sunny days . In fact, I cannot think of anywhere I would less like to be, come high season, as the site is so large that even a third full as it was at its busiest when we were there, was too busy for the pool complex to cope.

There is a bar, restaurant, snack bar, Spar supermarket, bread shop and little shop on site. The supermarket is fairly pricey but handy. The Bread/cake shop is a must and the french bread & cakes are all freshly baked and delicious. The restaurant is reasonabley priced compared to local restaurants, but quality and service is poor.

There is a mini-disco most night for the kids - this is mainly German focussed, and the bloke who does it scares the kids and is a bit weird. The kids had fun though when they got over that. After that there is nightly entertainment, bands, disco, kareoke etc - not great quality but OK for a campsite if that's what you want.

There is also a mini football pitch, tennis courts, a couple of playgrounds, mini golf and a games hall - so lots for kids to do. The animation team seem to do a bit with the kids, but we never left the kids with them at all so not sure what they do.

The site has wifi in some areas, but this is not free, which is a bit tight.

There is a beach about 10 mins walk from the site - this is nice, and runs all the way up to Valras Plage harbour a couple of miles away. There's a cafe on the beach - pricey but handy.

Locally, Valras Plage is about a 5 minute drive, or you can get the train/bus that goes from the site every hour and takes around 40 mins - the kids liked this. Valras Plage itself is OK around the harbour area, with some mediocre restaurants a small fair and a lovely beach. The Casino area of Valras Plage, between La Yole and the harbour is fairly run down and dingy.

Overall, a medium quality site, with a fair bit to do, but spoiled a little by the rules. I am all for dealing with anti-social campers, but this being a family site I would doubt there's ever anything to deal with, and when you would ever need a gun is beyond me.

Room Tip: Get a map of the site before booking and pre-select a pitch/van if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sulli69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    171
    100
    48
    21
See reviews for
357
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

good bits, good facilities if a little pricey - nice swimming pools but very busy and slides a bit basic

evening entertainment a bit cheesey but passes the time - goes on till 11.30

good winery with good cheap wine - they will fill up your bottles for a euro or two

close to a nice beach

but very large and crowded site , the key camp mobile homes very crammed in , and tents dotted in every available space, your kids walk out to see some bloke having a wee against a tree 20 feet away, also don't expect things to quiet down till 2 am and if like us , you are near to a bin enclosure, you can expect the clatter of bottles and rubbish from 6.30 am. - having been on various similar trips abroad and in the UK, perhaps that's just how it is as the more they cram in the more money they make?

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HighStandards_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

This is our third trip to domine de la yole. Its a good camp-site with clean toilet blocks and great pools. Our children also had a ball at the disco and kids club, the entertainment was fun and the site tho large was still well kept and welcoming. We had some car trouble while there and reception were very helpful with translating and sorting out tow trucks and the like.
The beach is lovley and the town center a 20 min walk but worth it for the ice cream! .Our only real complaint was that the bar and restaurant were very expensive but it seems to be the way of things when camping in france now so we just cooked for ourself .im sure we will return

Room Tip: try venue holidays for decent value accommodation we did and found the reps helpful and the accommod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sopc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

After getting a little lost looking for the entrance to camping de la Yole (getting lost was to be a trend for our stay) we were given our allocated camping site. We quickly assembled our small tent and decided to go straight to the beach. This first meant finding the changing rooms/toilets/showers in our area, and then trying to find the entrance to the beach after what seemed like we had walked around the camp site two or three times. Don't depend on the posted signs, and after finding the beach memorise your way back to your campsite with land marks. After reaching the etrance to the beach, its a further 500m walk.
Each morning we went to the very popular small bakery for some nice freshly cooked crossiants and choclatines with coffee. We tried the main restaurant one evening for dinner and it was ok. The swimming pool was a nice change to the cold sea with plenty of choice but very its usually very busy.
The farm was a nice distraction for 2 hrs. The vineyard was disappointing as it was only a small shop with tasting available if you want to buy. We caught the end two of the shows coming back from the town (note the small train which services all the other camp sites and the town is a great servie) and they were entertaining.
First impressions were the whole site was a little crowded, with very little privacy, even though we were still alittle out of the way situated at the end of the Cassis area. Everything is very international with mainly families with small children from France, Netherlands, Belgium and Germany. Overall I enjoyed the stay at the site and if there is a next time would like to try one of the bigger camp areas. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed with keycap for 7 nights. Great reps and the caravan was actually clean when we got there- a first! Site was just too big, lots and lots of personal tents with mobile homes in the minority. Pool complex good but always crowded and agree no space for a towel on the ground at times. The pitches are tiny, we had campers just outside the children's window who understandably were enjoying their holiday but as they were on top of us it was noisy at night. Entertainment can also be heard until late, we went to a couple of them and they pulled the crowds but were naff!! Good winery on site and will fill a water bottle with Rose for about 1e30c! Walk to the beach about 20 mins and my 4 yr old needed some persuasion after a day of sand castle building. We have stayed a little further down the coast at vias plage and would recommend it more, more space at the pool, bigger pitches, beach on your door step.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliMc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

We have just returned from domaine, me my usband and two boys aged 5 & 8 we stayed with keycamp which were brillant, the park is great it has loads to do for children of all ages, most entertainment is around the bar area, kids park amusement arcades and a great astro gturf pitch which all could be seen from the bar area, so we could watch the boys play football whilst enjoying a drink in the bar, the pool area is good although there isnt many sunbeds they are lke gold! and they have a strict trunks only rule for men and boys, they have a take away and supermarket which be warned isnt
cheap, there is a nice beach within walking dstance although we found the beach in the town about 5-10 mins in car or 20 min walk was fantastic with parks for kids on there and football goals and pedlo hire along with all the shops and restaurants its a great beach and town which comes alive at night, overall we had a fab holiday and would definately go back due to the kids entertainment and the adults entertainment each evening was really good

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kelly528785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

Loved the camp and resort, fab beach, one of the best ive been to, apart from not much choice for food for little ones, everything with chips!
Disliked the fact everything closed from 12.30 until 3.30pm, so if you wanted to get away from pool for drink or coffee, there was no bar or cafe open.
We stayed with vacanceselectcamp. uk - lovely mobile home. Payed 50 euros deposit.
Cleaned the home before leaving and then this fussy dutch rep said wasnt to his standard, as we had to leave within 1/2 hr we left the deposit which he said he would need to clean. What a rip off! The caravan was clean! It was swept the night before and following morning, but if anyone else noticed it was a very breezy area, and he accused us of the floor having dust on it!! Would not go with them again. My grandson also cut his nose on the ladder of the bunk beds which flew off and hit him in the face!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestWalesDaffodil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valras-Plage
1.3 mi away
Albizzia
Albizzia
#2 of 11 in Valras-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel Cap Pirate
Hotel Cap Pirate
#1 of 28 in Cap-d'Agde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
7.6 mi away
Camping Domaine de la Dragonniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Siblu Villages - Les Sables du Midi
9.3 mi away
Siblu Villages - La Carabasse
18.3 mi away
Camping Le Castellas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Domaine de la Yole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Domaine de la Yole

Property: Camping Domaine de la Yole
Address: Avenue de la Mediterranee, 34350 Valras-Plage, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Valras-Plage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Valras-Plage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Camping Domaine de la Yole 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A green paradise of 23 hectares situated in the heart of a Wine Estate, ideal for a camping holiday in your caravan or motor home, in a modern and comfortable rental, or even in a tent. Enjoy the pleasures of the surrounding water either on; the sandy Mediterranean beaches, accessible by small sheltered paths, or in our heated swimming pools, equipped with water slides and a rapid river. Entertainment is provided throughout the day for all ages and tastes. After enjoying all the outdoor activities that are offered during the day, we offer you and the whole family to take part in our evening activities at Domaine La Yole, which are among the most renowned in campsites around France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, CampingAndCo and Priceline so you can book your Camping Domaine de la Yole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Domaine De La Yole Hotel Valras-Plage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing