We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed feelings!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Restaurant Moderne - Residence Creole
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Valras-Plage
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We were met by a very friendly, helpful receptionist, but the lady on the later shift was not so friendly. This was our last stop in France before going into Spain and was the most expensive room we had booked.( We thought this was due to the location) The location was good and quiet in the evening' but was noisy in the early morning. The room was small, as was the bathroom, and was in need of updating. Everything looked very tired. We were on the third floor and found the stairs very narrow and quite a climb. But the bed linen was clean. So mixed feelings!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NlincsLindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

We were met by an impolite, and not at all helpful., employee. The room they gave us had a terrible view, the beds should have been replaced several years ago and the aircon were non functioning. You're better off visiting the hotel closer to the beach. Sorry Moderne, this is just not good enough. Moderne? Not at all

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BjornVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The staff and location next to the beach and cafes were both very good as was the room rate. The top floor rooms are spacious enough but the sloping, garret type ceiling beams are Deadly if you are taller than abour 5' 8". The town is relatively quiet at night but the commune seems to delight in noisy street cleaning in the early morning. There is no lift and the upper stairs are very narrow. Combined with the bar on the top floor Windows, survival in a fire would be unlikely.

Room Tip: Go for 1st floor and avoid top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnTodd187167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This is a 2 star hotel in a great central location close to the beach, with staff who are friendly and efficient. We stayed in a hotel room for a few days the transferred to an apartment across the courtyard. The rooms are basic, but spotlessly clean. The key thing about this hotel is the staff who really wanted us to have a good stay, were warm and friendly and helped us greatly when we lost a wallet on the beach (later recovered, amazingly). Sylvie was fantastic! Their coffee is great too!

Room Tip: Consider taking an apartment room. Although the hotel breakfast is good, there are a couple of exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 648Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Hotel Moderne and were very pleased with our stay. We chose this hotel because of its price and proximity to the beach. We had a very simple, but perfectly adequate room, overlooking the main square and (by leaning out of the window a bit) could see the sea very nearby. The staff at reception were very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. There is parking outside the hotel at a price but the receptionist pointed us to a car park very close to the hotel, behind the shellfish stalls, where we could leave the car for free.
We were in Valras Plage at the beginning of October so it was obvioulsy the end of the season but there were still a number of visitors and some restaurants open. We even went for a swim in the sea which was very cold but the air temperature was 34 and we spent a lazy day on the beach. All in all a good experience.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank grandad88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We arrived in Valdras Plage at 11:00 p.m. on our first night in France with no hotel reservation and speaking no French. The night desk clerk at Hotel Moderne was like a good will ambassador. He welcomed us, helped us get oriented to the town, gave us tips on free parking. At first we were skeptical about the old hotel with no elevator , but soon it's charms worked it's magic. We stayed two nights and came back again on our return down the Cote d Azour coast back to Spain. The daytime clerk spoke some English and was very gracious, cheerful and helpful, too. The hotel has a cute little courtyard with tables and chairs. Our room was simple, with a comfortable King bed and a bathroom mirror decorated with blue sea creatures that took me back to memories of childhood beach vacations. The housekeeping staff kept the room immaculately clean. This hotel is situated right downtown and within walking distance of the beach. Next door is a french bakery where we bought scrumptious french fruit tarts for $1.90 euros each morning for breakfast.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cyndi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I stayed off season in a single persons room on the top floor. I asked if the room would be suitable because of my height and was answered yes. However, when I got to the room, the head height was severely restricted. The room was lovely, bright and clean and a low price so I took it anyway and stayed two nights. Smoking is not allowed (on the top floor at least) but its not a big problem as you can smoke in the courtyard or at the front. The hotel is really close to the beach and cafes bars and restaurants. The staff were friendly and spoke a little English. As I appeared to be the only person staying, I drank some of my own wine I had bought in the courtyard, and this didn't seem to be a problem. There is free parking (you might have to fight for it in high season) all around. Also, Wifi signal was weak at the top, but ok on the ground floor. The bed was a double and comfy.

Room Tip: Beware the top floor if you are single and tall. I managed for a couple of days but would have had t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauligato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valras-Plage hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alcyon
Hotel Alcyon
#5 of 11 in Valras-Plage
11 reviews
0.7 mi away
Albizzia
Albizzia
#1 of 11 in Valras-Plage
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Chalet
Le Chalet
#4 of 11 in Valras-Plage
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#8 of 11 in Valras-Plage
43 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel De La Plage
Hotel De La Plage
#9 of 11 in Valras-Plage
41 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence Alizea Beach
Residence Alizea Beach
#6 of 11 in Valras-Plage
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Moderne - Residence Creole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Moderne - Residence Creole

Address: 13 Allee Charles de Gaulle, 34350 Valras-Plage, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Valras-Plage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Valras-Plage
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Restaurant Moderne - Residence Creole 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a stay by the sea, the Modern Hotel, a family's Hotel** situated in the heart of Valras -Plage just a step from the beach, the shops and the animations, will be happy to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Moderne - Residence Creole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing