We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mountains and railway”
Review of Hotel Princess

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Princess
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Having booked the Princess for our visit to the mountains and the Petit Jaune railway, we were pleasantly surprised by the hospitality of the owner who up graded us to mountain view rooms and was very helpful in accommodating our every need including moving tables on the terrace to catch the last rays of sun and modifying the menu to cope with my wife's fussy eating!

We had a lovely time and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel in the mountains.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank l_lee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princess H, Gérant at Hotel Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014
Google Translation

Nous sommes heureux de lire que vous avez passé un agréable séjour dans notre établissement. Nous sommes toujours à votre service pour satisfaire et nous adapter au mieux aux régimes alimentaire. Au plaisir de vous accueillir lors d'un prochain séjour.

We are pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel. We are always at your service to satisfy and adapt better to the food plan. Looking forward to welcoming you on a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Princess
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just spent a night here on a trip from Argelès to ride Le Train Jeune.

The hotel was great and good value. Room was bright, modern and very clean. Welcome was friendly also.

We caught the 240-241 bus to and from Gare Villefranche-Vernet les Bains about 6km away. Buses aren't that frequent but we found them reliable. Check the times at www.cg66.fr.

Near to the Thermes bus stop you can walk up to the winter gardens for stunning views of Vernet les Bains, not to be missed!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princess H, Gérant at Hotel Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014
Google Translation

Le train jaune est l'un des sites incontournable à voir absolument. Notre établissement est à proximité du départ de la gare de Villefranche-Vernet. Nous avons également beaucoup de randonnées au départ de notre vieux village. Nous sommes heureux de voir que les rénovations constantes de notre établissement 3 étoiles nouvelles normes vous satisfassent. Lorsque l'on n'est pas véhiculés, les bus à 1€ (sans réservation et à payer au départ des gares des Pyrénées Orientales) vous transporteront à votre destination (arrêt "la poste" le plus proche de l'hôtel). C'est toujours un plaisir de voir que vous appréciez l'accueil qui vous est fait. Au plaisir de vous accueillir lors d'un prochain séjour.
The yellow train is one of the must think to do in the aera. Our hotel is near from the station of Villefranche-Vernet. We also have many hiking from our old village. We are pleased to see that you like the constant renovation we have done at the hotel. Buses 1 € (without booking and pay on departure stations of the Pyrenees Orientales) will transport you to your destination (the nearest stop to the hotel "la poste"). It is always a pleasure to see you enjoy the hospitality that is done to you. Looking forward to welcoming you on a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We spent two nights at Hotel Princess while we explored the steep, twisty mountain roads in the area. The hotel is "charming" but it is very comfortable and has excellent, enthusiastic service.

Our room had a small balcony, and I loved sitting out there in the late afternoons writing my diary and watching the locals walk their dogs and chit chat on the corner.

We took the demi-pension plan, which saved us some money and saved us from hunting the village for open restaurants. Our waiter was very friendly and efficient, and the food was good. Our first night I had a salad of lettuce, avocado and smoked salmon, while my husband had a mushroom soup. Then he had mussels stuffed with cheese and a cream sauce. A bit different but very good. And I had lamb gigot served with golden roasted potatoes which was sort of boring but fine. My dessert was cheese, served the French way, a platter (here a slate) with six different cheeses that I cut my own serving from. Wonderful - for the ritual, the variety and the taste.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dapurdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princess H, Gérant at Hotel Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014
Google Translation

Le charme de notre établissement vous ayant conquis, nous serons heureux de vous accueillir lors d'un prochain séjour de repos ou de visites culturelles. La saison débute en mars et notre équipe sera de nouveau au complet pour vous faire partager le service à la Française. Sincères salutations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

I've been coming to Vernet les Bains for many years but have always been disappointed by the lack of and generally poor accommodation options. I recently tried this hotel, I'd always assumed it would be a bit dated, and was very impressed. The rooms are super; large, newly decorated with quality fittings. The staff are nothing less that extremely professional, helpful and very friendly. To find this level of quality and service in a small village is both refreshing and reassuring. I'll be recommending this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PiersBravery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princess H, Gérant at Hotel Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014
Google Translation

Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps de partager votre avis aux internautes pouvant fréquenter notre petit village au pied du pic du Canigou et de son Abbaye. Toute notre équipe est à votre service pour vous faire passer un agréable séjour au sein de notre établissement. Nous continuons nos efforts dans ce sens et rénovons notre structure d'accueil tous les ans et sommes heureux de constater que vous y êtes sensibles. Nous vous souhaitons d'agréables séjours à venir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

A very comfortable hotel with rather a modern feel to it. The rooms are well appointed and quiet. It is located in a quiet part of the town but only a short walk away from the main town centre. The staff are very helpful and always on hand to ensure good service. The restaurant is acceptable but not as good as we had hoped. The one cooking pot rating from Logis is about right and this place cries out for a better chef/menu.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank britabroadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Vernet-les Bains is a small, quiet spa town which has, seemingly, fallen on hard-times. People talk in the town of how there used to be 3 butchers and all sorts of other shops in the town but now there are just a couple of boulangers and an Intermarche supermarket. Admittedly we were there quite early in the season but a lot of shops were shuttered up with ‘for sale’ signs up. It is, however, a delightful place to unwind and relax in the shadow of Mt Canigou, breathing healthy, vitalising air, straight from the mountains; the birds sing in the trees, the water rushes down the river. This tiny corner of France still has much to offer. Not least - the Hotel Princess.
The hotel is an uninspiring building but it’s what is inside that counts. This is a very well run hotel.
The two owners are omnipresent. They supervise breakfast, they are at the reception desk whenever one passes by and they are there for dinner, too.
On our first day the weather was poor, Madame came up with a list of interesting activities for us to see and do, where the weather was immaterial. She showed us how to save money by collecting stamps from the sites we visited and they were both a mine of information on anything and everything local.
Monsieur explained to us that the nights we ate in the hotel, we would be charged a, substantially reduced, half- pension rate and if we ate out there would be only the room charge to pay. The staff in the restaurant, especially Didier, the Restaurant Manager, were equally friendly, intelligent and helpful.
Our room was bright, sunny, well maintained and, like the whole hotel, spotlessly clean.
We’ll be back to Vernet-les-Bains and we’ll certainly be back the Hotel Princess.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princess H, Propriétaire at Hotel Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013
Google Translation

Vous avez raison, Vernet-les-Bains est un petite village tranquille de Thermalisme qui comme tous les petits villages de France voit certains de ces magasins de proximité se fermer. Mais cela n’empêche pas que notre village soit un endroit agréable pour se détendre et se relaxer. Nous avons eu le plaisir de vous accueillir et nous vous remercions pour votre avis et vos compliments que nous ne manquerons pas de transmettre à toute notre équipe qui vous reste sincèrement dévouée.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Vernet-les-Bains is a really pretty and peaceful small town surounded by great mountains. Plenty to see and do if you like the outdoors. Hotel Princess has the feel of a 'chain' hotel, but is so much better than this. Big rooms with great views, huge bathroom and a very comfortable bed. Very quiet as well. Owners work hard to make you feel welcome. Restaurant is highly regarded with good reason. I wasn't expecting a hotel of this standard in this location!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Addled_in_Ades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princess H, Propriétaire at Hotel Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013
Google Translation

Nous vous remercions beaucoup pour votre témoignage. Effectivement notre établissement se trouve au départ de randonnées ainsi que de sites à visiter et nous sommes satisfaits de voir que vous avez de bons souvenirs de notre magnifique région. Nous profitons de notre réponse pour vous souhaitez une excellente année 2013 faite de moments de bonheur dans vos futurs voyages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernet-Les-Bains
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Mas Fleuri
Hotel Le Mas Fleuri
#2 of 4 in Vernet-Les-Bains
115 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chateau De Riell
Chateau De Riell
#1 of 2 in Molitg-les-Bains
265 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Les Glycines
Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 2 in Prades
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#2 of 2 in Molitg-les-Bains
154 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Hexagone
Hotel Hexagone
#2 of 2 in Prades
60 reviews
14.7 mi away
Appart'hotel Castel Emeraude
Appart'hotel Castel Emeraude
#1 of 7 in Amelie-les-Bains-Palalda
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Princess

Address: rue des Lavandieres, 66820 Vernet-Les-Bains, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Vernet-Les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Vernet-Les-Bains
Price Range: £61 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Princess 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing