We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal Base for Families to Explore the French...”
other travellers have booked this property
4 bedroom villa with French windows onto front terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
4 bedroom villa with French windows onto front terrace
Private heated 10x5m pool in secluded rear garden Comfortable living room with French windows and wood burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
4 bedroom villa with French windows onto front terrace
Private heated 10x5m pool in secluded rear garden
Comfortable living room with French windows and wood burner
The dining area seats ten people with French windows to rear garden and pool
The view from front terrace onto large mature garden with swings and table tennis table
Kitchen with doors to south-facing terrace for outside dining with views of Canigou
Double bedroom with views to rear garden, pool and hills
Upstairs double bedroom with ensuite and views to rear garden, pool and hills
Recently refurbished downstairs shower room with walk-in shower
Upstairs en-suite bathroom with shower over bath and view of front garden and Canigou
Double bedroom with French windows onto south-facing terrace
Two single beds in back bedroom with door to rear garden and pool
The pool with solar shower and 1m deep shallow end for children
A fantastic view of Mount Canigou from the villa
Views of Mt. Canigou from heated pool with sliding/removable domed cover
Views of Vernet les Bains, its main square an easy 10 minute walk from villa
The main square with shops, restaurants and 3x weekly market in Vernet les Bains
Take a spectacular trip on the Little Yellow Train up the valley towards Andorra
Enjoy a scenic walk up to the nearby abbey of St. Martin du Canigou
Visit the fortified village of Villefranche de Conflent only 5 minutes drive away
Local activities include rope courses, tubing, cycling and horseriding
Locals wear Victorian costume for Belle Epoque Festival at the end of May
A variety of ski resorts from only 50 minutes away
Beautiful beaches near Perpignan under an hour's drive away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Vernet-Les-Bains, Pyrenees-Orientales, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Martin K
1 review
“Ideal Base for Families to Explore the French Pyrenees”
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We enjoyed a fantastic 2 week holiday at Villa Amelie. Located just on the edge of Vernet les Bains, and an easy 10 minute walk to the town centre for fresh bread and croissants from the local bakery

Our group comprised 2 families holidaying together, and even with 10 people sharing (4 adults, 1 teenager (16), 4 kids 11,10, 7, 3 and a toddler) the Villa felt spacious and was extremely well equipped with everything you'd need already there.
A supermarket is located just 2 minutes drive away for day to day shopping, and another 15 minutes will bring you to the Super U in Prades for a huge selection of grocery and homeware shopping (pool games, outdoor bits and pieces etc). There's a Lidl in Ria just a short drive away also.

The Villa isn't the most modern, but is very homely, clean and after a day out touring or at the beach it's a lovely place to come back to. It has a home away from home vibe to it.

The shutters help keep the Villa nice and cool when needed and the huge garden was a real hit with our kids to run around in and they used the swings a lot. Everyone enjoyed the badminton, table tennis and boules every day.

Having the pool to cool off in was great. The cover is easy to open/move and there were adequate sun loungers for everyone to use. The pool area is spotless, well maintained and we all agreed it is the best thing about Villa Amelie.

The kitchen has everything in it for cooking for groups, and though not huge, it certainly doesn't feel small at all. When the doors onto the terrace are open, it really adds space.

Bathrooms are good, downstairs shower room in particular. The utility room is well equipped and stores a lot of the accessories for outside. All bedrooms are of a good size with comfortable beds and nice linen.

We did a lot of the activities in the area, including;

Kapoupakap - rope zip wire course in a local forest. A great way to pass a couple of hours for all ages and only 15 minutes from Villa Amelie.
Aqualand, St Cyprien Plage - good sized waterpark about an hour away.
Aquaglisses 66, Vinca. - Inflatable obstacle course on a nearby lake. Good enough for an hour. The lake has a small beach and is a nice place for swimming.
Grottes des Canalettes - local caves, steep climb up to it but very good. 5 mins drive.
Day trip to Font Romeu, any athletics fans will know this is a popular training spot from some of the world's top athletes. Some great hikes around here and the drive up and down provides amazing views of the valleys and mountains.
Collioure & Argeles Plage - opposite ends of the scale but both enjoyable. Collioure the chic artist's retreat with beautiful restaurants and views. Argeles the touristy beachfront, with less crowds but perhaps more family friendly with amusements and night market. We did Collioure for lunch and Argeles for the evening and enjoyed both.
Villefranche des Conflent - very pretty walled town just down the road from Vernet. Lovely place for a walk and evening meal. Nice shops here too.

There are superb local walks and hikes within easy striking distance from Villa Amelie - Guide information and maps are in the house already, so no excuses. Pic de la Pena is a steep climb but the views are incredible. You can be at the top within an hour's walk from Villa Amelie and can just about pick out the swimming pool from the view at the top. I spotted Griffon Vultures soaring high above me, and dozens of butterflies and lizards along the way.

The walk to the Cascades des Anglais is a longer trek, less steep but still a challenge well worth taking on. It's a lovely walk early in the morning and dipping your feet in the ice cold water at the finish is a great way of cooling off.

We ate at Bistro le Cortal after reading the reviews, it's nice. Good food, great value and lovely setting. Cafe Camp de la Base on the town square does decent tapas.

Overall, Villa Amelie is a lovely place to stay and we thought was excellent value. Vernet les Bains is beautiful and the scenery is stunning.

Would highly recommend a holiday here.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2017
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Villa Amelie and thank you for your recommendations of activities in the area- you certainly fitted a lot in to your two week stay and I am sure future guests will find these ideas useful!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankEngl...
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Will probably be returning.”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

A little difficult to find (particularly if you were arriving at nightime).
But, once there, it was very good. Great location, very private, lots of sunshine. Big rooms. (creaky staircase, so no sneaky trips to the kitchen in the nightime !). Mountain views, walks, climbs, attractions nearby. Great private pool.
Vernet les Bains has many attractions. Tempted to say "no" to the question below so that it doesn't become heavily booked and make my bookings difficult.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in Vernet les Bains and look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Jun 2017
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Villa Amelie. Do get in touch if you would like to return to Vernet les Bains another year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Adventure...
1 review
“Great Villa, great location, great pool”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

we stayed here for 2 weeks in July. One of the best villas we have stayed in. it is really close to the beautiful town of Vernet Les Bains, about 5 min walk which has some great restaurants and bars, a market 3 times a week and loads of other activities. Although this villa is close to the town, it does feel remote. you are not overlooked by anyone. the gardens are large and beautiful. i would recommend having breakfast on the terrace at the front. there is a large fir tree with all sorts of wildlife, including 2 red squirrels! every morning they were there.

Inside the villa is great. the downstairs shower is fantastic. all the bedrooms are large and the kitchen and living room are good too. there are loads of good books and games there. The kitchen has everything you need.

The pool is amazing. it is heated so early morning/late evening dips are no problem. the cover, which is legally required, is a bit of a faff and takes about 10 mins to take off/put back on. Again, you are not overlooked either.

Some tips, take mosquito spray/wrist bands for the evenings/nights. I was bitten a lot. take some binoculars as well. the wildlife is amazing and the views towards the mountains are really good.

will certainly be booking again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandybidg...
Bedworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic villa in a beautiful location with great pool and facilities.”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We've recently returned from a week's stay at Villa Amelie and it couldn't have been better. The directions were very clear and we found the villa easily. We had a spot of bother opening the gate; don't stand in front of the infra-red beam! The grounds are beautiful with lots of space for the four children and four adults. The layout of the house is a little odd, but I think this just adds to its charm! Despite the weather being very hot, the house remained cool and comfortable. It was a joy to wake up in the morning and open the shutters onto the garden; we lay in bed and watched red squirrels in the tree! We initially thought the pool cover would be a bit of a faff, but actually, once we knew how, it was pretty simple to slide the cover back, and the water was warm at all times and incredibly clean, as was the solar shower. We never took the cover completely off, as it provided a bit of welcome shade in the heat. The house had pretty much everything that we needed and the kitchen, though small, is very well-equipped. It was lovely to eat out on the terrace and see the mountains beyond. The lounge was comfortable with enough seating for everyone, though we didn't spend much time inside! The Wi-Fi was also excellent and coped with 4 tablets and 4 phones with no connection issues.
The location of the villa itself is fantastic; it was just a short walk to the village of Vernet les Bains. I can recommend the ice-cream in the village square; best lemon sorbet ever according to our son!
The caves a couple of miles down the road are not to be missed: just breathtaking! And the walled town of Villefranche was also lovely. The supermarket is also just down the road.
We had a fabulous holiday and I would definitely recommend Villa Amelie. If there weren't so many other places to visit, we'd certainly be back!
A final thank you to Heather for her great communication.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The pool and the location of the villa.
Liked least: The layout of the villa.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VJ2
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Villa Amelie”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Stayed here with friends in May for a long weekend. We were lucky enough to have perfect weather and made full use of the pool which has the most beautiful views of the mountains. The house itself has everything you'd need and is set in lovely grounds. We ate at the house for most meals, but visited a beautiful restaurant in town which was within easy walking distance. Hope to be back soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah J
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Trip!”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We wanted a nice long weekend away with the girls and this was perfect. Really relaxing but an amazing restaurant within walking distance! Perfect for what we wanted. The house is lovely and homely and the scenery was beautiful. Perfect Trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the scenery from the pool
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing