We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem of a place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Le Mas Fleuri
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We found this Hotel by chance. When we arrived in Perpignan we were without a place to stay. It was the height of the season and all the Hotels in the city were full. We were told that the nearest Hotels with vacant rooms could be found in Vernet-les- Bains and so made our way in that direction. The one and a half hour journey to the Hotel was a delight. We stopped off at Prades en route. On arriving at the Hotel Le Mas Fleuri we were greeted by Stefan (the manager )who informed us that he had a free room. As there were four of us, two children and two adults we were given adjoining rooms which was ideal. There was ample space. Each room had a bathroom and toilet. There were also two fridges which meant that we could stock up on provisions such as cheese, bread and delicious meats. Please note that there is a Intermarche down the road. The village of Vernet is within walking distance and this is where we would get our fresh bread, croissants etc. in the morning. The rooms had adjoining balconies and there was a lovely pool situated within the grounds of the Hotel. There was also table tennis,billiards and table football which the kids loved. We didn't go for the bed and breakfast option choosing instead to have our breakfast sitting out on the balcony.
Stefan and his wife were extremely hospitable and both spoke good English. They were able to advice on which restaurants to eat at and which walks to take in the surrounding area.
This Hotel has a really good feel about it and is certainly well served for families. We stayed for a couple of nights at the beginning of our Holiday and then went off to explore neighbouring Spain. At the end of our holiday we choose to return to this Hotel. We don't usually stay at the same place twice but felt that the location and welcoming nature of this Hotel warranted a further visit.
We recommend it to you.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on the second floor as they have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kenyantrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefM66, Directeur général at Hotel Le Mas Fleuri, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write an opinion so long and complete. Many families with children appreciate our hotel pout his garden and various facilities made available. The fact of having come twice during your holiday proves your satisfaction and we are happy. Best regards, Stéphane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed at le Mas Fleuri for three nights in September. We had stayed there before and it has a number of advantages:
- Nice location close to the center of town, but still quiet
- Large, quiet rooms
- Reasonably priced
- Helpful service

We thought that the 12 Euro per person breakfast was too much and they were nice to loan us an electric kettle to make tea and instant coffee for breakfast in the room. The fridge also came in handy. We bought lunch at the market and ate it on the balcony one day too. They were understanding and not snooty at all about us wanting to save some money on meals.

The other reviews are right that the furnishings are basic, but the beds are comfortable and everything was clean and in order. It isn't the Hilton, but the charm and value are there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefM66, Directeur général at Hotel Le Mas Fleuri, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thank you for giving your opinion about our hotel.
I see you have enjoyed the value for money, the room size and proximity to the center of the village.
The price of breakfast corresponds to the product quality and the place in which it is served ( typical house of the end of 19 century ).
It is also true that we try as much as possible to respond positively to the special request of customers.
Hope to see you soon in our hotel. Best regards, Stephane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Le Mas Fleuri is a simple but very comfortable hotel in Vernet-les Bains. The bedroom and bathroom are somewhat rustic, but perfectly clean and comfortable. There is no air conditioning, but because of the altitude it cools down nicely in the evening, and we had no trouble sleeping. Each room has a private balcony and a refrigerator. The real charm is the large property. The garden is ideal for sitting in the shade and reading after a day's sightseeing; there is an outdoor pool; and there is plenty of free parking. Breakfast is taken in an older building that was once the residence of the original owner of the property. The manager was exceptionally friendly and helpful. He helped us choose restaurants and telephoned to make a reservation for us. He also clarified for us the best way to visit St. Martin de Canigou, which is nearby. The hotel represents good value and is an ideal base for exploring the area. We were very glad that we chose to stay there.

Room Tip: Book ahead on the hotel website, non-refundable, to enjoy considerable savings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retired698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefM66, Directeur général at Hotel Le Mas Fleuri, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

We wanted to thank you for your message. We see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel notably through our garden and swimming pool. Hope to see you soon at the Mas Fleuri Hotel. Best regards, Stephane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

All the rooms have balconies, great pool, comfortable beds, light airy rooms, delightful lounge room; didn't try the breakfast so can't comment, but fantastic value for money. If you want a regulation Holiday Inn type place, it's not for you, but if you like characteristic quirky French, go for it, you'll enjoy it.

Room Tip: All the rooms have balconies and are overlooking very pleasant grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefM66, Directeur général at Hotel Le Mas Fleuri, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Thank you for spending your holiday in Hotel Le Mas Fleuri. It is true that our centenary park and swimming pool are assets to our establishment and in the way you noticed, we attach great importance to the quality of bedding. See you soon in Catalan country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This hotel, although needing a facelift outside (and maybe removal of the plastic flowers in the rooms!) is actually a great place to stay: every room has a balcony (great for drying towels etc), the beds are king-size, the rooms all have a fridge - luxury! and are very spacious. The owner is friendly and very helpful indeed. Only downsides are a separate toilet with no washbasin (so unhygienic) very expensive breakfast, and no restaurant in the hotel but a fantastic one recommended by the hotel at the top of town, and a few cafes in small town centre, and slightly gloomy decor. All in all a good place to stay summer or winter.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Hello, first of all, we wanted to thank you for spending your holidays in our hotel.
Overall, we notice that your stay went well. We see that you enjoyed: the balcony of the room, quality bedding, room size, the fridge,etc...
About health, most customers appreciate that the toilet is separated from the rest of the facilities (washbasin and bathtub/shower). You think that is not hygienic and it's your point of view.
Our breakfast is served in the form of buffet style in a typical house in the hotel garden. The price corresponds to quality and the environment in which it is served. Finally, i am delighted that the reception particularly suited you and would be happy to receive you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Lacking atmosphere. OK if you want a swimming pool. It would have been overpriced if we had not had a promotional deal.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Hello,
We grant a lot of importance to the opinions of our customers and we thank you for taking the time to write a comment on our establishment.
We are surprised that you have not been sensitive to the calm and serene atmosphere of our hotel and the charm of the old park (The terrace of your room having seen direct on this park).
In addition, we are attentive to create a family and friendly atmosphere appreciated by the majority of our customers.
Nevertheless, we shall take into account your remark and hope the rest of your stay in France went very smoothly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Beautiful location and setting with stunning vistas all round, this place was ideal for a quiet relaxing break and within easy walking distance of the town and attractions. No bar area but drinks were available from a vending machine including beer and wine and charged to the room which was good. No restaurant so walks into town each evening and we found no shortage of places to eat and all OK.Swimming pool area was immaculate and during our stay we found at times we were the only people using the pool area which made it feel kind of special. The views from the pool were excellent and so beautiful and on one occassion we had an eagle flying overhead.Rooms were good and a decent size and contained a fridge which was good for cooling drinks and after sun down with nice balconies also to sit at, especially good late at night watching the moon.

Room Tip: Good facilites in the room with a fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lisbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernet-Les-Bains
14.9 mi away
Appart'hotel Castel Emeraude
Appart'hotel Castel Emeraude
#1 of 7 in Amelie-les-Bains-Palalda
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Princess
Hotel Princess
#1 of 4 in Vernet-Les-Bains
189 reviews
5 mi away
Hotel Les Glycines
Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 2 in Prades
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VTF "Clair Canigou" et "Balcons du Canigou"
VTF "Clair Canigou" et "Balcons ...
#3 of 5 in Vernet-Les-Bains
81 reviews
0.6 mi away
Camping L'Eau Vive
Camping L'Eau Vive
#1 of 5 in Vernet-Les-Bains
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Delphina
Villa Delphina
#1 of 3 in Vernet-Les-Bains
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Mas Fleuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Mas Fleuri

Address: 25 boulevard Georges Clemenceau, 66820 Vernet-Les-Bains, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Vernet-Les-Bains
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Vernet-Les-Bains
Price Range: £57 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Mas Fleuri 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Le Mas Fleuri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing