We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“our wonderful holiday in La Goupillere”
This is a large detached property in extensive grounds with stunning views over the valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This is a large detached property in extensive grounds with stunning views over the valley
View to the west Lounge, through to large kitchen / diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This is a large detached property in extensive grounds with stunning views over the valley
View to the west
Lounge, through to large kitchen / diner
Lounge, through to downstairs bathroom, toilet and utility room, all via a bright hallway
Comfy seating
The road outside
Kitchen / Diner, through to paved patio with teak furniture, large BBQ and enclosed garden
Kitchen / Diner, showing the old bread oven
Kitchen /Diner, ample space and large oak table which easily seats six
Master bedroom - it's very big
Master bedroom, the large traditional wardrobe is 7 feet high
Bedroom 2, the large double bed can be reconfigured as two singles upon request. Large wardrobe
Bedroom 3, the large double bed can be reconfigured as two singles upon request
Light and airy mezzanine, additional table and chairs, soft seating
Downstairs bathroom with shower cubicle and heated towel rail. There is a separate WC room
Some of the other rooms, hallways, utility room and upstairs bathroom with shower cubicle
The approach with its huge courtyard
The back of the house, now very secluded and matured
Teak patio furniture
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Villaines la Juhel, Mayenne, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ge0rgehar...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“our wonderful holiday in La Goupillere”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Having just spent a most enjoyable holiday at La Goupillere one adjective to describe this Gite is " exceptional " , from the moment we arrived to be met with such a warm welcome by our hosts Sally and Peter Marshall, we felt totally at home. The welcome pack awaiting us in the Gite was truly comprehensive to say the least, it included everything we would need for our first meal as well as two good bottles of wine.. our hosts had thought of every detail , it was nice to be able to relax and dine in the Gite after our long journey. The Gite itself was perfect , everything was to the highest standard of comfort and cleanliness, I love to cook and was really impressed by the kitchen equipment and utensils etc.
Most evenings whilst dining on the garden patio we were able to enjoy the most glorious sunsets from across the valley , " total peace and tranquility " ... The surrounding area is beautifully unspoilt with lots of interesting places to visit, numerous restaurants , cafes and bars are all within a short drive from the Gite as well as a large leisure lake with beach , pedalos , canoes etc, Sally and Peter were always happy and willing to advise on any of these places. The Gite contains many things to keep you occupied on site, petanque sets , badminton racquets etc .
All in all we had a memorable holiday in a luxurious house in a beautiful part of France we will certainly return next year for a longer stay........ A definite 5 star Gite !!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael h
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Still Fabulous”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was our second visit to La Goupillere and was just as enjoyable and relaxing as the first! We still love the space and freedom that the gîte offers especially the well equipped kitchen / dining room.
The rest of the downstairs is light, airy and a refreshingly cool place to relax after the day’s heat and exertions (lazing in the garden, sipping wine).
The bedrooms are spacious, comfortable and lent themselves to a good night’s sleep! Both the upstairs and downstairs bathrooms were modern, clean and well equipped, as was the rest of the property – we wanted for nothing!!
Peter and Sally were excellent hosts and ensured that the holiday went without any problems and were always available if anything did arise (although nothing did).
Nothing was too much trouble and their attention to detail was excellent – even down to checking which items we preferred in the substantial ‘Welcome Pack’ they provided!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect 'home from home' holiday house”
Reviewed 16 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a fantastic 2 weeks staying at La Goupillere - it really did have everything we could need for our party which included 3 young children and grandparents. The house was extremely well equipped (even English TV channels and a paddling pool!) and the Welcome food hamper from Peter and Sally was a real treat, ensuring we didn't have to go to the shops until the day after we'd arrived. The enclosed patio/garden area was good to allow our small children to play safely, and have many meals outside, whilst the large garden with sheep over the fence provided lots of space to run around and entertainment. There is a good amount to do and visit in the local area from lakes and forests, to historic Roman Villages and traditional French towns. We would thoroughly recommend a holiday here and had a wonderful time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the property and Welcome pack
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D
2 reviews
“Fantastic house”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a wonderful holiday here. The house was very well equipped and beautifully clean, unlike some places we've stayed. Our boys loved the outdoor space and spent hours riding around on their bikes. The owners were helpful without being intrusive and the welcome pack was fantastic. There was lots to do in the area but in the end we spent more time than planned at the house because it was just so tranquil and relaxing. We really hope to return at some point in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the tranquillity
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ficasmcw
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Simply wonderful!”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

La Goupillere is a quite brilliant place to stay in a fabulous location. Peter and Sally are perfect, fantastically hospitable hosts for whom nothing is too much trouble. The house and garden exceed even the highest expectations and every detail has been thought of - the extremely generous 'Welcome Pack' just one example. The house is perfectly located for day trips to Le Mans, Saumur on the Loire, Alencon or the many beautiful villages closer by. Peter and Sally's recommendations for markets and restaurants were spot on and we unearthed a few gems of our own. Whether travelling as a couple, a group of friends or a family with children of any age La Goupillere provides amazingly spacious, immaculate accommodation and grounds in a beautiful and peaceful part of rural France. You must go and stay - you won't be disappointed! We will certainly be heading back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth T
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“La Goupilliere, a superb holiday”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

La Goupilliere is a wonderful, homely place to stay. Peter and Sally offer a most generous welcome package and much more in this 5 star accommodation. There is so much to do here; plenty for families and all age-groups.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael h
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous !!”
Reviewed 4 December 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I'm writing this whilst sitting outside watching the sun go down on what has been yet another fabulous day. Peter and Sally, we can't thank you enough for the pleasure that we have had and the friendliness that we have received since we arrived here. The gîte is absolutely stunning and we couldn't have wished for a better "home" for our holiday place - peace, quiet and tranquillity in fabulous surroundings whilst having places to explore "just around the corner". We would certainly recommend this to our friends (but not until we have booked our dates first!).

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing