We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tarquinia”

Necropoli di Tarquinia
Book In Advance
US$679.94*
and up
Ranked #2 of 23 things to do in Tarquinia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
London, On
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tarquinia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

The museum located in the town and the quaintance of the town was a pleasant surprise. The museum and the tombs are a treasure to the history of the area that is not well known but definitely worth a trip to the Town of Tarquinia. With it's close proximity to the beach a stop over is worthy.

Note quite a bit of walking and stairs are involved.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Giannina29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    273
    63
    13
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pre-Roman Experience Not to be Missed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Instead of heading off to Rome with the masses off our cruise we chose to see the crypts of Tarquinia and I am so happy we did. Our guide Michel, was very, very knowledgeable and made the experience very enjoyable; until our visit I had a completely incorrect understanding of the concept of a necropolis (city of the dead).

The trip from Civitavecchia was short, 30 mins through gorgeous countryside and it was interesting to see all the agriculture and harvest of early summer crops. The Necropolis itself could easily be mistaken for a fallow farmer's field as you approach. There is a small museum and informational centre but the key attraction are the various underground crypts/tombs pre-dating Roman rule. The incredibly well preserved wall paintings were shockingly vivid and to see the evolution of the art from Etruscan to Roman was fascinating. The subterranean crypts are quite steep to navigate and as the site became more busy the one way entrance and exits meant longer waits to see each tomb.

I am disappointed that our group did not have more time to see the site, we only were able to see half of the tombs but we received not only an education but a glimpse and appreciation of a history not as well known as its Roman neighbours.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank cdngiantsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Must see attraction if you are a history buff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

This really did leave us speechless the history and the artefacts is just truly amazing the restoration from the archaeological digs is something to see with artefacts dating back 3000 years . 8 Euro for both the museum and the acropolis dig site well worth it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetravelperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pretty amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a stretch for people with mobility issues as the stairways to the tombs are steep and the tombs spread out -- but wow those frescoes are incredible!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank christina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanau
Level Contributor
120 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Super museum with Etruscan graves”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We visited this site in January, when it was quite quiet. The tombs and the murals are amazing. We visited every single grave and loved it. The paintings and clours are so interesting.

There is not a lot of space in each grave, only a few people fit in and one has to wait to get a good look. It must get quite crowded in summer. So it is a good advice to visit these tombs in the low season or early in the morning

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Fernweh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Necropoli di Tarquinia also viewed

Tarquinia, Province of Viterbo
Tarquinia, Province of Viterbo
 
Tarquinia, Province of Viterbo
Cerveteri, Province of Rome
 

Been to Necropoli di Tarquinia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing