We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty hotel, good location, but dishonest staff and management”
Review of Estalagem Do Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Estalagem Do Porto
Ranked #22 of 60 Arraial do Cabo B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty hotel, good location, but dishonest staff and management”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I had booked to stay at this hotel for my birthday weekend, and unfortunately was unable to make the first night of my reservation due to bad weather conditions. However I did ring the hotel the night before and they said it was not a problem to arrive the next day.

On arriving the next day, after travelling 4 hours to get there, the hotel told me they had no trace of my booking, despite having spoken to me the night before to confirm the booking. I was given no explanations, or not assistance, and was treated very badly. The hotel did later admit that they cancelled my booking by mistake, and that the person that had spoken to me the night before had not actually checked the reservation system. Even after admitting this error, the hotel staff were unapologetic, and unhelpul.

I did not get a chance to stay at this place, but based on the lack of professionalism of the staff, I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nerm72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luiz N, Gerente de relações com clientes at Estalagem Do Porto, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hi. Thanks for sharing your experience at the inn Estalagem do Porto. We are sorry for what happened with your reservation. We have made improvements in our team, so that such errors aren’t repeated. We invite you to come again for a new visit for a new experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    73
    46
    18
    7
See reviews for
35
106
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

The “Pousada” is well located at the harbor entrance and has no parking (or you pay 5 reais a day to the guy of Municipalty). Despite being on the ocean front, the harbor is in front and to reach the beach you must walk about 20 minutes. The Pousada is beautiful decorated with tasteful and interesting environments. However, the service is terrible. Despite booking a month in advance a room with two beds because I traveled with my son, I got a room with double bed. It was not too difficult to separate the beds, but it was a bad impression upon arrival. The rooms are very tight and without any comfort. The single bed is like a child's bed and I spent the evening balancing, afraid to fall out of bed! The bathroom is terrible. Tiny. The shower is electric. The included breakfast is weak. It is served from 8:00 to 10:00 am. But it was not ready at 8:00 o' clock! We had to take a boat to dive early, we had to run and we had unnecessary stress. For the next day, I asked if he could have coffee 15 minutes earlier. It was not possible. As we were spendin the day on diving I asked if we could checkout at 3 pm. To do so, we should pay a half day. Briefly, the inn has no flexibility, despite having a few guests. I do not recommend it. Unsympathetic treatment. In front there are two other good choices.

Room Tip: If you need a room ask for something as bigger as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank curiuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luiz N, Gerente de relações com clientes at Estalagem Do Porto, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hi. Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We have made improvements in our team and in our rooms, so we invite you for a new visit for a new experience. We’re sorry for the problems you had in your stay, but we guarantee you will not find them here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arraial do Cabo hotels

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Stayed three night in this pousada while exploring the diving in the area. The room was bit old but was perfectly fine for what I needed and quite clean enough. The staff was friendly and helpful. In the centre of the pousada is indoor garden, with the lounge and dining room around it. When it rained it was really nice to sit there, The wifi did not work well in the room but in the lounge area. Breakfast is very good with lots of fresh fruits.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msjvanrooy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luiz N, Gerente de relações com clientes at Estalagem Do Porto, responded to this review, 4 November 2015
Google Translation
Difícil responder a uma avaliação de 2011, visto que já passamos reformas e somente agora fomos notificados da avaliação.
Uma coisa é certa: Nossa estrutura está bem melhor que em 2011.
Até breve!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland/Rio
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Stayed Aug Sat' night. Cost R$110. (Low season rates) Hotel is located in the 'old centre' of Arraial, close to the main town beach and a 15 minute walk from the beautiful Praia do Forno. The hotel lacks guest parking (2/4spaces for staff) but we managed to get parked on the street close-by. Rooms are arranged arround a small, central courtyard with a large tree and other plants. On arrival we were shown to a room on the first floor which measured approx 2x3m with a 3/4 bed (not a double). Refusing this room we were told the only other room avaliable suffered from noise from barking dogs. I found this a bit strange as the rooms were adjacent to each other! The rooms on the first floor (apart from the two facing the front of the hotel) have only one small window opening to the courtyard and were very gloomy. Lights were needed at all times. The windows are a half glass/shutter arrangement. They cannot be totally closed to stop noise or moquitoes. Despite repellant, i was bitten badly during the night. Bathroom was small, functional but had seen better days. The tiled walls had several sets of unfilled holes where rails etc. had been removed.
Public space is cluttered and dark. Didn't try to access the free WiFi. Arrived for breakfast about 8:30, was ok - decent selection of fruit, juices, cereal etc. The hot turine of scrambled eggs was almost empty and was not refilled. Breakfast staff surly. Waitress bumped into my back, causing me to spill OJ - no apology or even acknowledgement that i existed. Breakfast area doubles as restaurant in evening but no-one ate there on the night we stayed.
Air-con OK - but no way it will cool the room in the summer, see comment re: windows, above. Bed sheets etc. clean but clothes had a mouldy smell after hanging in the cupboard.
There are bars/restaurants close by and enjoyed the food far more from the tiny Portuguese restaurant, 'Bachalau do Tuga', than from the over- rated 'San Tropez' (Lonley Plannet Brazil) .

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chumbeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luiz N, Gerente at Estalagem Do Porto, responded to this review, 4 March 2017
Hello ! Thank you for your comment . It is very important for us to improve our services.

We apologize for the inconvenience while you were staying with us.

Our services are always being updated , so we invite you to a new stay in our Inn to note the improvements made in our facilities .

We would like to have the opportunity to host you again for a fresh start .

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arraial do Cabo hotels
0.7 mi away
Pousada Porto Praia
Pousada Porto Praia
#7 of 60 in Arraial do Cabo
197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel da Canoa
Hotel da Canoa
#17 of 60 in Arraial do Cabo
307 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pousada Tanto Mar
Pousada Tanto Mar
#18 of 60 in Arraial do Cabo
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pousada Rayer Land
Pousada Rayer Land
#19 of 60 in Arraial do Cabo
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capitao n'Areia Pousada
Capitao n'Areia Pousada
#42 of 60 in Arraial do Cabo
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Costa Dourada Pousada
Costa Dourada Pousada
#3 of 60 in Arraial do Cabo
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estalagem Do Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estalagem Do Porto

Property: Estalagem Do Porto
Address: Rua Santa Cruz 12 | Subida da Praia do Forno, Arraial do Cabo, State of Rio de Janeiro 28930-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Arraial do Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Arraial do Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Estalagem Do Porto 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Estalagem Do Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Do Porto Arraial Do Cabo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing