We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Stefania Residence
Ranked #7 of 15 Meta B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 February 2013

If you really like Italy, you will enjoy your stay at Stefanias Recidence. If you plan to do perfect a middleeuropean all inclusive vacation you probably have chosen the wrong place.
For me and my family (two kids six and nine years old) it was just a perfect vacation in a nice little Italian town - close to everything you would like to see, not to close to the tourist crowded Sorrento. Sorrento is only three stops with a suburban train but Meta di Sorrento is definitely not the Sorrento described in tourist guides.
Stefanias Recidence is a very clean place. Stefania is very helpful and is doing a perfect job just to make the best out of your vacation.
The place is easy to reach by public transport a car is not really necessary. Even for our kids it was only a 15 minutes walk to the station.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuergenSB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2012

First of all...Kevin,whoever you are..."scammed" that is a powerful word to use! Sorry,but we sure DID NOT have that experience. Stefania told about and got us our pre paid tickets for the Blue Line amalfi cruise...it was wonderful. Do your own research on "organic dinners' before you come to Meta! our stay was great. we were their for 2 weeks,4 adults. The rooms were clean and comfortable. She met us at the bus drop off in town and drove us to Casa. Her english is excellent and was very helpful in answering all our questions and needs. Yes,it is a good hike up from the main street in Meta,and yes do you have to walk on some parts that are narrow....guess what1 the locals do it too. Welcome to italy....it all seems to work on their terms,not on americans. A bonus is across the street .literally is a fabulous paticerria that has a great selection of pastries and great coffee. We highly reccomend Casa and Meta. The town is a real place to be...Sorrento is pretty..but too $$$$ and tricked up.

Room Tip: The down side is...there are a lot of dogs barking in the neighborhood,not Stefania's and you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kenn1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The property is beautiful and the town of Meta is adorable! However Stefania is not an ideal host. She lied and scammed us throughout our stay. She claimed to have many connections with friends who could give us boat tours of the amalfi coast and local organic dinner at farm houses. When we attempted to take her up on any of these offers she immediately dismissed them and said they were booked. One day we wanted to take the local bus to Positano which we knew was possible. Stefania insisted on telling us the bus schedule as the Wifi on the property DOESN'T WORK. The bus was scheduled to come at noon approximately. We arrived 20 minutes early and the bus never showed. We waited a solid 15 minutes to be sure. We asked around and we were shown the bus schedule and the bus was never scheduled to come around noon, rather around 2:30 pm. This was not a holiday so this was the normal bus schedule. Upon leaving the property Stefania claimed that we had stolen many of her towels. When accused of this we went with her to count the pile of towels. All were there and accounted for, once again we were being scammed. The property is great but do not put any trust in Stefania. Take everything she says with the world's largest grain of salt. PS the bakery/cafe across the street is amazing and the family that owns it is so cute and nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

This beautiful old palazzo in quiet but well connected town of Meta has been converted into small apartments that Stefania and her mother graciously care for. We were a family of 4 and booked 4 nights in the apartments; we stayed in the 2 upstairs apartments, the yellow and the blue. Both were very clean with all necessary amenities. Water pressure is good, but still remember to take quick showers as to not run out of hot water! All of the windows had views of lemon trees, the hills, cliffs and the bay. Great pastry shop/cafe across the street where we had breakfast every morning. Takes about 10 minutes to walk to town where you can find a little grocery store, pizzeria, butcher, fish market all around the main piazza. 5 more minutes walk from there to Meta train station where you can catch the Circumvesuviana to Sorrento, Pompei, Ercolano, etc. Great slice of Southern Italian living without all the tourists!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helenina616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Casa Stefania is situated in a very elevated outer area of Meta, and seven kilometres from Sorrento.
Arriving in Meta from Naples by train or Curreri bus ( from the airport), to reach Casa Stefania requires walking a long distance with your luggage, along a STEEP winding road with no pedestrian pathway, and avoiding a constant traffic flow. This is a similar experience when you want to take excursions.
There are no grocery outlets near to Casa Stefania, and this requires a long walk down and back up a steep incline to the main town of Meta. The nearest restaurant located was at Piano di Sorrento the next district area, ( Meta only has a Pizza cafe and one other cafe both another long steep walk).
The accommodation allocated was a small converted attic at the rear of the building, which was reached by four steep stone stairways. A separate small kitchen and toilet/shower room was a part of the small apartment, with no comfortable seating and no natural lighting other than from glass bricks in the wall to the outside corridor, and small port windows ( the frame work of one which was not secured to the wall) .
Reading the reviews on this page and and viewing the pictures of Casa Stefania, this was not the venue we stayed at, and cannot recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nurioopta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights in June and we were very impressed. Stefania was an amazing hostess, very friendly and helpful and she was able to give us several ideas of things to do in the area, including a fun local dinner/dance at a farm that was just down the street. The room as nice - it had a queen size bed as well as a twin bed w/ a trundle bed underneath, which would be great for kids. There was plenty of room for us, and we were happy to have our own bathroom and kitchen. It was clean, well kept and quiet. Our only complaints were minor - the air conditioner didn't work but it was cool enough at night with the window open, and we weren't in the room during the day. And I would've liked it if she had an opaque curtain on the bathroom window - the one she has is a very sheer blue and you can see right out to the back yard and the neighbors' yards. I never saw anybody out there, but it would've been nice to have a little more privacy there - we just hung a shirt over it to cover it up. Other than that, the place was great and we would definitely recommend it. As far as people complaining that there was no breakfast provided, we learned from a few other b&b's that we stayed in during our trip that b&b owners in Italy are not allowed to cook meals for guests, so your breakfast would have consisted of pre-packaged pastries and juice boxes. So you're not missing out on anything there, and with the kitchen you can easily cook something up or at least buy some good pastries to keep on hand for breakfast. This was a great place and we hope to come back someday!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelMore1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Dear Stefania and Carmelina, We had a wonderful stay and found your residence to be very clean and quaint. Wish we had more time to chat with Stefania but we very much enjoyed speaking with her Mother. Lovely women and the place is quiet and quaint. We would return and our son and his family will be visiting with you in June/July 2011. Thank you and it was a pleasure meeting you both.

Rose & Pat Cristo
East Greenbush, New York

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anagni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meta hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Giosue a Mare
0.5 mi away
Lo Stradone
Lo Stradone
#14 of 15 in Meta
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Nannina
Casa Nannina
#2 of 15 in Meta
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Pennichella Sorrentina
0.7 mi away
Villa Pollio
Villa Pollio
#1 of 15 in Meta
172 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Sorrento
Villa Sorrento
#3 of 15 in Meta
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Stefania Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Stefania Residence

Address: Via Tommaso Astarita 54, 80062 Meta, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Meta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Meta
Price Range: £48 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Casa Stefania Residence 1.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the wonderful Sorrentine Coast, on the same panoramic way to Positano and Amalfi, really characteristic rooms find place in a nice '800 palace. A mixture between charming antique building and modern style of all renewed rooms and apartments come out to offer our guest the best comfort: Air conditioned, Sat TV, fridge, hairdryer and all services you may request us. Let you be enchanted by landscape that smell of orange and lemon and that offer a natural show of thousand colours of the Sorrentine Peninsula: from the blue of the sea, witch can be seen from the rooms' windows of our residence, and above all from the beautiful lemon garden, to the light blu of the sky; from the yellow of the lemons, to the green of our garden that surround all the building that will give you the opportunity to relax and breath the characteristic scent of citrus plants. Thanks to its favourable position, quite and central al the sometime, you can easily reach the famous Positano in 15 Km or the wonderful Capri by hydrofall in 20 minutes, or mytic Pompei in half hour by car or by train. Allow you a holiday with us, cuddled by our hospitality, we will let you enter a world of colours, tastes and smells of our great tradition! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Stefania Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Stefania Residence Meta, Italy - Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing