We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It takes about 25 minutes on foot to get to the local train station Circumvesuviana”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Stefania Residence
Ranked #7 of 15 Meta B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The Residence is located outside the main area of Meta.The only business near the Residence is a Bar.It takes about 25 minutes on foot to get to the local train station Circumvesuviana. No AC in my room because I had to pay a $50.00 fee to have it. Stefania, the owner, told us how to get to Sorrento and she also suggested to us to take a trip to Capri by boat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Venere0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

We had tried to change our reservation online from the date selected to the day after. There was a problem with the online cancellation and it never went through. On the day of our original reservation we get a confirmation so I quickly send out an email explaining we would only be there the day after. She confirmed that it was no problem and we would not be charged for this day. Upon arrival we canceled our last day (which was 5 days away and still well within the 24 hour cancellation policy) as soon as we told her we would not be staying for the last day she immediately said we'd have to pay for our first day because she only books this place for minimum 7 days. However no where is it written on hostelworld or her description that this is a minimum 7 day stay and we had confirmed in an email that we would not be charged! It was awful, we fought with her for so log, she kept taking calls in the middle and disappearing for over 20 minutes at a time! Se kept our passports for 2 days! We ended up paying half price on that first night but she still got 120 euros extra out of us and it made the room go from 22 euros a night to over 30 euros a night! The whole thing felt like a crazy money scam! There is even a sign in the room saying if you dont take your garabage out you will be charged 15 euros! We felt unwelcome and that she did not care about her guests but only a quick buck! She is hard to get in touch with, she kept saying how busy they were which made us even more mad since if she is so busy why did she insist on taking our money for no reason?? It was the worst customer service I experienced in my entire two month trip where I stayed at over 10 hostels! She left one roll of toilet paper for 4 people for a week and when we ran out after 9pm we couldnt get in touch with her and had to take some from a restaurant bathroom! It is not worth going here! She took our money so please don't let her take yours! There are so many beautiful places to stay in sorrento don't go to this one!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefania D, Proprietario at Casa Stefania Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

A reservation is a contract, if you do not respect the rules you can not blame others.
You say you have deleted prior to arrival, I told you there is no problem if you prove it, but you have not been able to certify, you have repeated the same thing, ie to inform you're not coming the day of arrival, twice - the cancellation policy clearly says that the day of arrival must honor the price of the night -
However I tried to understand your reasons, , I paid the fees for 7 days, (just because no cancellation was not made, not certified) while cashing only 4, but you have not even appreciated!
We had also discuss on the tourist tax due, you did not want to pay, because wasted your money in amusement and then save on the amount due.
this is not a proper way to behave. it is right for young guys to have fun, but respecting others
The worst thing is to be taken for a ride, every day I'm available for my guests, when I was wondering what I could do for you, you told me everything is fine, because you had premeditated "make me pay" (your fault) then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My friend and I just spent the weekend at Casa Stefania, and it was lovely! We got lost on the way and called Stefania, and she graciously picked us up and brought us to the residence. She is SO NICE, and is a lovely hostess.

The location is a bit tricky to find, especially on foot and with directions from Google Maps, but I recommend picking up a map of Meta in town if possible and then walking to where Town Hall / Municipal Hall is labelled. True, there is no sidewalk on the road to Casa Stefania, but just stay close to the side, and avoid bringing a lot of bags.

We had the yellow apartment upstairs (no elevator - be aware!). It was LOVELY. Keep in mind that often in Europe you have to pay extra / specify early if you want to use kitchen facilities (our apartment had a living space with kitchenette, bedroom, and bathroom). If you plan on using the kitchen, you have to pay extra - that's just how it goes to offset electricity bills (utilities are extremely high in Italy). The room was beautiful, spacious, and clean.

BE AWARE: the bathroom is somewhat strange, and we basically had no hot water, but it was actually quite refreshing after a long day sweating in the Campanian sun. Also be aware - the WiFi doesn't really work at all (at least it didn't on any of our Apple devices), but we also found that to be a nice break. Finally, the trash schedule is a little confusing, but just ask Stefania for help with the trash, and it should be less confusing.

We tried to take the Blue Cruise, but it was all booked! It sounded great though. Instead, we followed Stefania's suggestion to take the bus to Positano. AGAIN BE AWARE that Italian bus schedules can often be different than when the bus actually comes. This is not Stefania's fault! An elderly local recommended that my friend and I go to Sorrento (the Circumvesuviana station) and stand in the bus line for Positano. We were able to get on the first bus that came, but it was very crowded and we had to stand the whole time. 1.60 Euro for the trip, but it's FREE (or rather, included) if you purchase a Campania ArteCard (2 museums free, 1/2 price on all others, plus FREE transportation for 3 days - bus, Circumvesuviana, etc - invaluable).

Ended our trip with dinner at Casa Stefania - what a treat in a beautiful garden! Daniela is a talented cook and a very kind woman. We also highly recommend the bar across the street and the Neopolitan kitchen restaurant in the small town square - VERY well priced and delicious food.

BOTTOM LINE: This place is lovely for a quaint weekend getaway in a quiet town. Meta doesn't have a lot going on, but it's so close to everywhere you want to be on the Circumvesuviana line that you will not regret staying here! We loved it.

Room Tip: Be aware that higher floors are hotter - heat rises in a building with no air conditioning. But kee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crjedj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Casa Stefania is located a bit off the beaten path and out of the main tourist area of Sorrento but don't let that fool you into thinking that you shouldn't stay here! We arrived to find an amazing room, certainly more than we were expecting for the price we were paying. The location is very safe, we felt 100% secure walking around at night, and close to both the trains and buses.

Would we go back? In a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bil_the_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Our stay at Casa Stefania was better than we could ever imagined. Stefania is an extremely gracious host and her home is beautiful and quaint. Her recommendations were just what we needed for the short time that we had in Meta: the beach was relaxing, a perfect activity upon arriving. Dinner on the harbor was lovely. The food and service were excellent and we laughed the whole night. The BLUE cruise was breathtaking! We got to see Capri, Positano amd Amalfi, and they were all gorgeous. Dinner in the garden, courtesy of Daniela, was the best way to end our stay. The food was amazing!!! We will DEFINITELY be back some day. Stefania, her home, and her family are absolutely wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank emherskowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefania D, Proprietario at Casa Stefania Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thanks Emily,
is not so easy to find around guys so well mannered, respectful and as you.
Let's see once again, would be a great plaesure!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

If you really like Italy, you will enjoy your stay at Stefanias Recidence. If you plan to do perfect a middleeuropean all inclusive vacation you probably have chosen the wrong place.
For me and my family (two kids six and nine years old) it was just a perfect vacation in a nice little Italian town - close to everything you would like to see, not to close to the tourist crowded Sorrento. Sorrento is only three stops with a suburban train but Meta di Sorrento is definitely not the Sorrento described in tourist guides.
Stefanias Recidence is a very clean place. Stefania is very helpful and is doing a perfect job just to make the best out of your vacation.
The place is easy to reach by public transport a car is not really necessary. Even for our kids it was only a 15 minutes walk to the station.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuergenSB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

First of all...Kevin,whoever you are..."scammed" that is a powerful word to use! Sorry,but we sure DID NOT have that experience. Stefania told about and got us our pre paid tickets for the Blue Line amalfi cruise...it was wonderful. Do your own research on "organic dinners' before you come to Meta! our stay was great. we were their for 2 weeks,4 adults. The rooms were clean and comfortable. She met us at the bus drop off in town and drove us to Casa. Her english is excellent and was very helpful in answering all our questions and needs. Yes,it is a good hike up from the main street in Meta,and yes do you have to walk on some parts that are narrow....guess what1 the locals do it too. Welcome to italy....it all seems to work on their terms,not on americans. A bonus is across the street .literally is a fabulous paticerria that has a great selection of pastries and great coffee. We highly reccomend Casa and Meta. The town is a real place to be...Sorrento is pretty..but too $$$$ and tricked up.

Room Tip: The down side is...there are a lot of dogs barking in the neighborhood,not Stefania's and you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kenn1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meta hotels
0.1 mi away
Lo Stradone
Lo Stradone
#14 of 15 in Meta
4 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Pollio
Villa Pollio
#2 of 15 in Meta
172 reviews
1.2 mi away
Laqua Charme & Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mar Hotel Alimuri
1.2 mi away
Bleu Village
Bleu Village
#7 of 7 in Meta
248 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Pennichella Sorrentina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Stefania Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Stefania Residence

Address: Via Tommaso Astarita 54, 80062 Meta, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Meta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Meta
Price Range: £46 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Casa Stefania Residence 1.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the wonderful Sorrentine Coast, on the same panoramic way to Positano and Amalfi, really characteristic rooms find place in a nice '800 palace. A mixture between charming antique building and modern style of all renewed rooms and apartments come out to offer our guest the best comfort: Air conditioned, Sat TV, fridge, hairdryer and all services you may request us. Let you be enchanted by landscape that smell of orange and lemon and that offer a natural show of thousand colours of the Sorrentine Peninsula: from the blue of the sea, witch can be seen from the rooms' windows of our residence, and above all from the beautiful lemon garden, to the light blu of the sky; from the yellow of the lemons, to the green of our garden that surround all the building that will give you the opportunity to relax and breath the characteristic scent of citrus plants. Thanks to its favourable position, quite and central al the sometime, you can easily reach the famous Positano in 15 Km or the wonderful Capri by hydrofall in 20 minutes, or mytic Pompei in half hour by car or by train. Allow you a holiday with us, cuddled by our hospitality, we will let you enter a world of colours, tastes and smells of our great tradition! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Stefania Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Stefania Residence Meta, Italy - Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing