We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Panorama Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$862
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Albatros(Piano di Sorrento)
US$341
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Hotel Soleluna(Piano di Sorrento)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Fiori d'Arancio(Piano di Sorrento)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
48
52
50
44
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
52
50
44
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnaples gulfhotel staff isbreakfast and dinnerformulapasqualepompeii
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2009

I have read some dreadful reviews about the Panorama Palace and I am always baffled by them. I found this hotel purely by chance when I was part of a tour group 5 years ago I loved it from day 1 and returned the same year for a short stay. I have returned every year since then with friends and never consider going anywhere else. The view is the first thing that grabs you, it is stunning to say the least. In fairness, the hotel is not the usual run of tourist hotels which we Brits, and Americans have come to expect, it is far and beyond the usual run of the mill. The staff are courteous and helpful, nothing is too much touble for them. The rooms are large and airy and always spotlessly clean. The food is outstanding, fresh authentic Italian cooking at its best, served at table. No dreadful running buffets serving food which has been left standing for goodness only knows how long. This is Italy at its best.
The Hotel is situated in a quiet residential area, where you are really taken to heart by the local residents.
Entertainment is provided on some evenings at the Panorama Bar. Not the usual loud disco stuff, but a duo providing a variety of music. It is total relaxatiion overlooking the beautiful Bay of Naples.
Sorrento is a short bus ride away. The bus stops a short walk from the hotel and runs every 20 minutes.
From the port, trips to Amalfi, Positano and Ravello and of course Capri are easily accessible and recommended.
I am always sad when my stay ends. I come away feeling totally chilled and relaxed and eager to book for the next year.
This really is my idea of a little piece of heaven on earth.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SbrLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

We visited this hotel one evening with a large group on an EF Tour. The hotel itself, lobby and restaraunt are very nice but the rooms are very basic if you are used to American hotels such as Marriott and Hilton. Having stayed in other hotels in Italy, and France I have come to expect smaller rooms without very good air-conditioning but if this is not what you expect you will not like this hotel. The hotel sits right on the bay with awesome views of the water. There is a beach below but since the hotel in on a cliff you have to climb down many steps to get to it. We traveled with a group of 37 and no one could figure out how to get the air conditioning to work. You must be sure that your windows are all the way closed and shut properly or the air will not come on!! This is the case in most hotels in Italy. This hotel does have a pool though whoch we didnt find at any other hotels. To go into Sorrento from this hotel is very easy on the public transportation. The bus stop is at the bottom of the hill in front of the hotel and it costs 2 Euro. It rund until about 11:30 so if you plan to stay in town late be reday to catch a cab. Our room was clean though. We just had a few ants. I would recommend this hotel to an open minded traveler.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodneytbond007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

- not a four star hotel
- great location with a really nice view
- in meta di sorrento (15 min. walk to the train for getting to sorrento)
- really poor breakfast
- needs a lot of remodeling
- tiny TV
- quite location close to good restuaurants (I recomment the "Tico Tico" restaurant)
- huge rooms (at least the ones facing the sea)
- dirty "towels" (asked to relace them but got other dirty ones)
- tried to charge us 20 euros more at the check out
- bus stop walking distance (1 min)
- average age was 60+

we ended up at the panorama palace hotel because we were moved by our original hotel due to the air conditioning being broken in the room we booked, the other hotel payed the difference and we only paid €60 a night. I would never pay the full price for our room because they seemed overpriced.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giofab6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2008

The worst hotel i have ever been to! Our room was dirty and there were bugs crawling around. It was very ugly and ever room in our group of 21 ppl had problems. Our room didnt get cold water just boiling hot water and the toliets didn't work and the windows were old and didn't open right... when i walked in it looked nice but once you get to the rooms you relize what a dump it really is. It needs serious updating and better serivce because the hotel people did not speak english and the tv's were so small and high up there was no way to see anything. The only upside to this hotel is food and location.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank newtraveler1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2007

Just got back from this hotel. We were very concerned after reading the very negative reviews before going. But soon realised that some people just like to find the negatives in every holiday. Agreed the hotel is a bit dated and needed a lick of paint outside and we were lucky to have a sea view and it took a couple braver ladies than us to swim in the pool. The towels are thin but worked we did not end up using the additional towel we bought and the towels are sold to tourists in Sorrento, only one plug but how many do you need! The age group on our Travelscope holiday was 20 to 84 (average age 60+). We had a great group of people to share our experiences with and we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday (honeymoon). The food was basic and sometimes similar to the night before but very well cooked and filling. All the staff were very friendly especially the terrace bar staff who made our evenings welcoming. The slopes from the coach or bus to the hotel is not over whelming and there is a minibus if you do have mobility problems and in Italy everywhere seems to be on a slope so it is to be expected otherwise how would you get the Amalfi coast which is spectacular. The town was a bit quiet but an excellent bar near the bus stop made the return journey a very pleasant stop.

Stayed: October 2007
Thank JaneDagenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews