We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Mar Hotel Alimuri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mar Hotel Alimuri
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Meta
Certificate of Excellence
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Just stayed at Mar Hotel Alimuri for the first time and loved it. Service was great - all the staff were friendly and very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel was very clean, food was good (even for a fussy vegetarian!) Would love to stay there again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    249
    89
    27
    36
See reviews for
224
519
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northamptonshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We have just returned from a 7 night all inclusive stay at the hotel Alimuri.Arrived there on 26 th April, to sunshine, and not a cloud in the sky.IThe hotel really does deserve its 4 star rating. From the fantastic staff - who incidentally could never do enough for us.. the delicious food, the beautiful hotel itself, the views, the location, I could go on. We will definately be returning to the Alimuri, it was one of the best holidays we had ever had. Beautiful luxurious surroundings. We made full use of the courtesy shuttle bus most days into Sorrento. We met some lovely people who we socialised with most evenings. Special mention for the hardworking waiters and bar staff, Roberto, one of the waiters, with his sense of humour, and Pascale, who made the most fab cocktails, and also Valentino - always so attentive, and running around making sure that glasses were always full. There was entertainment every evening, which included being serenaded at dinner, and a full terrace of everyone singing, dancing, and having a great time. An unforgettable holiday
Sharon and Jon Northamptonshire

Room Tip: we stayed in roon 332, which was quiet, and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 197sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We booked last minute and were unsure after reading some comments on Tripadvisor. We were more than impressed with the hotel with its own beach overlooking the bay to Sorrento and Capri. Our room was at the front (Junior Suite) with an extremely large Jacuzzi! The décor throughout suggested Old World charm - you could imagine holidaying on the Riviera with Hepburn etc! The hotel was spotlessly clean, and we had maid service twice a day (turn down service in the evening!), with clean towels and water and fruit bowl replaced. We could not find fault with the facilities (some did mention that the Spa should be free? but we did not use it) and the set-up for the all-inclusive meals was good, with snacks available in the bar all day. Our only comment would be that sometimes the food seemed to cater more for the Germans (of which there were a lot!) than the English, but the staff were willing to order food that was not on the menu to please our fussy teenager! The staff overall were amazing. Roberto made dining a pleasure - he even escorted the ladies into the restaurant! The maids seemed to second-guess your needs before we even asked for extra pillows etc. And we thought that the bar staff made our holiday complete - Pasquale, Valentino and Guiseppe. They could not have been more friendly or accommodating to our every wish - I can only assume that the bad report previously listed about Pasquale was done by someone with problems! He did us favours that were above and beyond his duty. Having been in the hotel trade myself, I can perhaps appreciate how hard the staff worked to ensure our holiday was a joy from start to finish. Nearly everyone(English) we spoke to could not wait to get back home and book a return visit. I think that says it all?
If there was one drawback it was the location. Although stunning, there was not much to do nearby, and the shuttle bus could be limiting when organizing our days. The only other issue was the lack of air-conditioning: this was due to start on 1st may, but we had very hot weather from 28th April and the room was quite uncomfortable to sleep. It would have been nice to have had the air con turned on early.

Room Tip: Junior suites are large with Jacuzzi. The higher the floor, the larger the balcony, but smaller the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We spent our honeymoon at the Alimuri, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left we both really enjoyed ourselves. The staff there were very helpful, from those on Reception to the waiters at the Bar and in the Restaurant, all were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble, we made use of the free shuttle bus into Sorrento on a daily basis.

The food in the restaurant was beautiful, the menu varied from day to day, there was a wide range of drinks available from the bar, with waiter service provided to bring to the pool which was taken advantage of, once or twice, my wife had several "fruit cocktails" brought over while catching the sun, the weather was beautiful during our stay.

As we were on our honeymoon we stayed in a room with a jacuzzi and had a bottle of chilled champagne in the room when we arrived, which was a nice touch, then there was the view from the room (see below), it was stunning, especially at sunset.

Whilst the indoor pool was out of action due to maintenance this wasn't important to us, as this wasn't included in the All Inclusive bundle and the outdoor pool was available, although a little cold.

There was work going on at the venue during our stay, but we were aware our stay was out of peak season, there wasn't much disruption at all, so it was acceptable.

If you stay here, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

The hotel is located on the beach with stunning views. The hotel itself is well maintained and has a distinct style that will suit couples seeking a quiet and relaxed holiday in comfortable surroundings with excellent service. In the bar after the excellent evening meals the entertainment is suitably Neapolitan and you almost expect to see Audrey Hepburn and Carry Grant turn up for a cocktail.
The best feature of this hotel is the service, the staff are worthy of five stars in every respect. We stayed on an all inclusive deal and we found the quality of the food than any other all inclusive deal we have tried, with some excellent choices served to your table.
The location is quite secluded and there is little of interest within walking and the beach offers only limited opportunities for a quiet after dinner stroll. The excellent free shuttle service runs hourly during the day dropping guests in, or collecting them from, the centre of Sorrento. The service is extremely limited in the evening and most guests eat in the hotel restaurant, most appear to be on all inclusive deals.
When we arrived there was free wifi available in the reception area, but during the stay this was also became available in the bar area. Along with new televisions appearing in the rooms it appears the hotel has not rested on its laurels and is reacting to some of the comments made on trip advisor.
The bedrooms vary in size but all are well maintained and appear to be recently and carefully decorated. The room was also immaculately cleaned every day with the free water being replaced every day in the fridge. It is worth noting, to save on space in the luggage, that this hotel provides free beach towels for use during your stay, a very useful service.
I am torn between 4 and 5 stars for this review because of the location tending to tie you into the hotel for the evening unless you are adventurous and can master the local bus service that will drop you just a little way from the hotel, before the tunnel through the rocks. BTW this tunnel is not an issue, it is well lit, has recently been painted white and has a small pavement for pedestrians. The train services from Sorrento (the station is next to the drop off point for the shuttle bus) are reliable and provide a service to Naples or to Pompeii, which is just a short walk from the station, Pompeii-Scarvi.
There are a good range of ferry services from Sorrento, Capri is well worth a visit and there is a frequent service throughout the day.
Expect a quiet hotel with few families and younger travellers, expect excellent service and good food and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Best rooms are at the front of the hotel with a balcony for the sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We spent 2 weeks at the Alimuri. It was the best holiday we have had.The weather for Easter and the following week was great for the time of year and the sunsets superb. Alimuri is ideally placed for Sorrento as there is a regular shuttle bus and is also perfect for travel to the main sites of Pompeii and Herculanium. There are plenty of opportunities to see the local sites using cheap transport links to Amalfi and Possitano. Just get on a bus and go. Capri is a lovely place and not as expensive as you may be lead to believe. The hotel is well situated on a lovely if stony beach but look for the many coloured small stones, volcanic clusters and small pieces of sea washed coloured tiles. The rooms were immaculate like the rest of the hotel. The Food was just right different every night and plenty to choose from and Roberto made you feel welcome at every meal. Fianall I save the best for last. The barstaff and especially Pasqualle and Valentino made the holiday special. They were attentive, funny and very friendly in the bast possible way. They were constantly there to provide drinks and clear tables whether at the bar round the pool or in the restaurant so a special thank you to those guys and I totally disagree with Enrik W. We met some lovely people some of whom have also reviewed here, you know who you are :-)) and the ambiance of the hotel made everyone friendly to each other it is definitely a couples hotel though as there isn't anything for kids really but that is why we went and it should stay that way. My only criticism was towards the Spa and Spa pool. We didn't use it, we wanted to and it looked lovely but it had limited opening times and was a pay extra and should have been free to all inclusive guests. Over all a great holiday, Thanks Alimuri and Firstchoice we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MicknMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

great location great service. roberto in the dining room brings a touch of class back to semi formal dining. ..fantastic

rooms are spacious. we had a view over the water.
reception staff was helpful and spoke good English.

complimentary shuttle bus to sorento

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozburner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meta
2.4 mi away
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro ...
#1 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
1,747 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sea Club Conca Azzurra Resort
Sea Club Conca Azzurra Resort
#10 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
553 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel la Pace
Grand Hotel la Pace
#7 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mega Mare
Hotel Mega Mare
#2 of 20 in Vico Equense
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Hotel Alimuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Hotel Alimuri

Property: Mar Hotel Alimuri
Address: Via Angelo Cosenza 155, 80062 Meta, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Meta
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Meta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mar Hotel Alimuri 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mar Hotel Alimuri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Hotel Meta
Mar Hotel Alimuri Meta, Italy - Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing