We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever and a wonderful honeymoon.”
Review of Mar Hotel Alimuri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mar Hotel Alimuri
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Meta
Certificate of Excellence
Barking, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best holiday ever and a wonderful honeymoon.”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We've just got back from our 2 week honeymoon at the Alimuri and it was the best holiday of our lives.
We were welcomed with a tour of the hotel and a bottle of champagne and fruit
Left in our room.
All staff were polite and friendly and everyone said hello, good morning etc to you.
The room was spotless and sometimes appeared to have been cleaned twice in 1 day.
Wi-fi was only available in the bar and reception but as this is meant to be a holiday you shouldn't need wifi everywhere.
The hotel provides an excellent free shuttle bus service to sorrento which we used on those rainy days which was a couple of days the first week but mostly the weather was lovely and sunny which we spent near and in the outdoor pool.
We also tried the spa which was nice and relaxing.
I can't recommend this hotel enough and we're already hoping to come back in 5 year time.
Thank you for making our honeymoon a rememberable experience.
We look forward to returning

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobbyjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    263
    91
    27
    37
See reviews for
236
547
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ross on Wye, null, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Please do not listen to the previous review from the OZ coulpe as I'm sure that they did not stay in the same hotel as us. We stayed here w/c 20th September and we did have a minor blip with our room but the lovely Giovanna hotel reception manger sorted our problem and took time to show us other rooms for future reference.
We found the the decor very quirky but it just made the hotel more authentic and interesting.
The food was excellent with plenty of choice and flavour.
The staff worked really hard to please guests from the cleaner to the bar and restaurant staff not forgetting Franco who was always there with his drinks and sense of humour.
It was good to see the hotel manager regualry checking the food and presentation during meal times.
One or two guests grumbled because they had a non sea view room but if you want a sea view room I suggest you buy the premier sea view room and pay a extra charge which is well worth it.
We could not fault the shuttle bus service after all it is free and drops you of in the centre of Sorrento so please be aware that the hotel is out of Sorrento.
The hotel itself is slightly of the beaten track but is located in a beautiful spot Meta away from the hustle and bustle.
Well done all staff at the Alimuri for a very nice holiday.
Look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Please do not change what you have it's unique and makes this different from other holidays (no bingo,karaoke etc just nice and relaxing)!!!!!!!

Emma & Stevie Ralph

Emma ¥

Room Tip: We found floor 4 quite noisy due to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just got back from a week's stay for my inlaws Golden Anniversary, was a very relaxing and pleasant week.
The hotel is spotless the staff are all very polite and helpful cannot fault anyone. We had a standard room which loked out onto the road was not a problem as the windows were soundproof. Was not a problem not having a balcony as we only slept in the room anyway. The outside area is lovely plenty of seats and sofas with cushions was a gorgous setting with a sea view. The bar staff were great very prompt with your drinks and good measures. You could have champagne cocktails which were delicious all the named brands for liqiours and Peroni beer. Was a buffet breakfast was a huge selection from cooked to european and fruit and cereal. the luch was buffet this was a very large selection there is something for everybody I was most impressed with this the food was delicious, you could see the chef making fresh pizzas. The evening meal was waiter service, you pick your starter and main course while waiting for your starter you can go to the buffet table and help your selfs to hor dourvs.The dessert it help youself so many to choose. We had a fantastic holiday thanyou Alimri:)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is a fabulous hotel,end of story.Now a few tips on how to save a Bob or two.The local train station is 15 minutes up the hill from the hotel.Buy a 3 day train and bus pass for 20 euros.Day 1 jump on the train get off at Pompeii Scavi ( Italian for excavation) walk 100 metres to the right and bingo there you are, 11 euros entry 4 hours to see the lot, very tiring but worthwhile.Jump back on the train get off at Meta station keep right as you walk down the hill to the hotel,collapse on the beach great day out.
Day 2 get on the courtesy bus to Sorrento ,walk 200m back up the hill from the drop off, arrive at Sorrento train and bus station,get on the Amalfi bus travel along the Amalfi cliff road( better than any ride at Alton Towers) get off at Positano,have a look around,get back on another Amalfi bus enjoy the next bit of coastline, its better than the first bit.Get off in Amalfi have a coffee wander the streets have an ice cream wander back to the sea front which is really just a big bus station, check to see which bus goes back via Meta ,jump off at Meta station ,same place as the train ,wander back to the Hotel.
Don't make the same mistake as us and get on the bus just after 1.30pm, that is school run time, a the bus was packed with year 8,9 and 10 pupils.We are retired teachers and it was interesting to note that exactly the same as at home all boys in that age bracket are knobs, if you have son and he is in that age bracket and is OK then apologies, treasure him,he is one in a million.My wife made a good point when she noticed that most of the school buses were parked up on the highest view points on the cliffs, "it's so they can throw the idiots off".Good day out .
Day 3 ,get the courtesy bus to drop you off at Meta station (ask at reception)Get on the train ,get off at Ercolano scavi ( Ercolano is Herculaneum) get off the train ,wander down the avenue for about 800m to the large archway this is the entrance to the ruins.Pay 11 euros, wander around ,takes about 2 hours .
Get back on the train ,get off at Meta etc. etc. Herculaneum is in my opinion way better than Pompeii the buildings are more complete and it's less busy.Great day out.
You can opt to go on the excursions offered by the travel company, beware! they set off early charge you an arm and a leg and you have to pay the entrance fees when you get there.The train is quicker and you can opt to stay as long or as short as you want.Don't get confused by the maps,there is only one road from Sorrento to Naples,there is only one train line, the train stops at every station, Italian people are very helpful and friendly.Be brave.
As for the hotel ,food was excellent , buffet for breakfast,buffet for lunch and dinner was really clever. You sit at the table , a waiter comes ,gives you the menu ,you choose the second and third courses from about six choices in each, order your drinks and then get up and serve youself starter from a buffet style arrangement,multiple choices,cosmopolitan or Italian it's up to you.Eat your starter ,dishes taken away, next course arrives from your menu choice,eat that ,dishes cleared, next course arrives ,eat that, then get up to select your dessert from the buffet,The chef is one of the best pattisiers I have come across and the choice of sweets was exceptional ,service was first class at every meal.
The room was comfortable ,clean ,well decorated with a view to die for,the beach was tiny ,the sea was warm,all in all a wonderful holiday.We will definitely be going back.Mind you having read the review by our young Australians we might be going to Australia ,if they thought the Alimuri was poor then it must be great in Oz.:-) :-) :-) :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank johnbegood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Where to start?! Booked this hotel on the basis of the great reviews on here, and were so disappointed. After travelling around Europe for 2 months, we thought we would splash out and spend a LOT more than we usually would, biggest mistake. This was hands down the worst place we have stayed in.

Firstly, there was only Wifi in The reception and the bar. Second, the decor of the rooms were horrible. I understand that the look is meant to be Italian Art Deco, but the paint was faded and looked like it had been done by a 5 year old. This wasn't limited to our room. 'Satellite Cable TV' that was advertised included one English speaking channel. Our beach towels that were provided were taken away on the second day and not replaced. We ran out of toilet paper at one stage, and cleaners failed to replace bathroom towels twice. The balcony was also very rusted and not in keeping with a so-called 4 star hotel. Also heard whenever next door decided to go to the toilet or shower, despite 'soundproofed walls.' Just to top this all off, we were also called at 6am three times one morning, the staff had mixed up our room with another's wake up call. Throughout our 5 night stay, the floor did not seem to have been vacuumed at all.

Beware, if the weather is bad, there is really nothing to do at this hotel. There is a lovely indoor pool, however it costs €15 for 2 hours. If you don't want to sit in the bar all day, aside from the pool there are no facilities, especially for younger people.

Reception staff whilst slightly helpful, were mostly cold and uninviting. At one stage we asked we asked for some towels to have a shower and were informed that they would be brought to us the next day. What kind of service is this?! Certainly not what I would expect in a 4 star hotel.

I believe we were the only non all inclusive guests in this hotel. This meant that we had to pay €29 if we wanted dinner, which was a Buffett, every night - no other choice. Also, when we checked in, the man at reception advised us that the Buffett was only on a few nights a week, which it was not, it was every night. This was frustrating when we arrived at the hotel late at night and had to go and find a local restaurant as we did not want to fork out €29 each!

If you are under 60, please don't even consider this hotel. As a couple in our twenties, we were extremely out of place. Also, I was felt up by one of the older members of the breakfast staff one morning (big man, moustache).

The only positive of our experience was the breakfast. It was good and there was plenty of choice.

Also beware that the hotel is a good 20 minutes away from Sorrento. A free shuttle is provided but there is no service between 18.30-22.30.

I would 100% recommend anyone staying in the sorrento area to look elsewhere. This hotel is not worth the money. One member of staff also told me that the pay is terrible, so unfortunately someone dodgy is making the money as the prices are exorbitant for the value. This hotel is an absolute shambles, please don't let the good reviews fool you like they fooled us!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilariag86, Direttore at Mar Hotel Alimuri, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Mrs. Gemma,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Mar Hotel Alimuri in Meta of Sorrento.
Please accept my apologies for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced during your stay and I regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations.

Let me point out just a few things untrue:
- Concerning the dinner at the restaurant there is a buffet every evening but is in addition to the menu à la carte whit a choice of 6 first dishes and 6 main dishes, the buffet is composed of a plenty of choice of vegetables, hot starters and a corner with typical Neapolitan dishes; more there is a buffet with fresh fruit and many types of cakes. I think that the price of € 29.00 per person is truly competitive for the quality and quantity of food that we provide. Last but not the quality of the service in our restaurant recognized by the majority of our valuable guests. Only on Thursday evenings we have the Gala Buffet on the terrace.
- Our shuttle bus has also two runs to Sorrento at 8.30pm and at 9.15pm and come back to the Hotel at 10.30pm and 11.30pm with a charge of €1.00 per person, each way.
I understand that you did not like the style of the hotel and the location but I can ensure you that we don’t fool anyone and our efforts are always focused on customer satisfaction and this is confirmed by the many good reviews we have received.
Trough our work we do not need to write ourselves the reviews and I wish to invite you to come back and give us the opportunity to show you our hospitality and competence.
Kind regards

Giovanni Spina
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

returned today after a week at this hotel. was a lovely relaxed holiday. it was our 30th wedding anniversary and the hotel presented us with a anniversary cake and champagne after we finished our meal perfect lovely surprise. the hotel is beautiful inside and the rooms are spotless. the only downfall is if you go outside in the evening and it rains there is nothing that protects you from the rain if you are a smoker. apart from that the meals were beautiful cant fault the meals at all, and the rum babas are to die for. the staff are very friendly and helpful very hard working and cant do enough for you.antonio in the resturant is lovely. franko and valentino lovely guy very funny and friendly. would like to thank all staff at mar hotel alimuri for a perfect holiday.

Room Tip: email hotel direct ask for sea views level 3@4 perfect location overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janet m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We visited this hotel in August this year and would highly recommend it. The staff were very helpful especially Frank ( on the beach) who kept us constantly hydrated with a wide range of drinks, as soon as he saw us coming down to the beach a drink would arrive along with a cheery smile. The restaurant staff were fantastic and made us feel very welcome as nothing was too much trouble. Please do not be put off by the first appearance of the hotel once you step inside you realise you have made a great choice, fantastic views and a private beach which is small but even in the height of summer we always found a couple of sunbeds together and Frank was always there to help. The all inclusive menu was amazing, there was a huge variety of dishes available something to suit everyone. The free shuttle bus was a great way to get in and out of Sorrento. Our room was great, clean and very comfortable. On the whole a fantastic holiday and we hope to return in the next couple of years.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meta
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel la Pace
Grand Hotel la Pace
#7 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,107 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro ...
#1 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
1,809 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sea Club Conca Azzurra Resort
Sea Club Conca Azzurra Resort
#10 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Panorama Palace Hotel
3.2 mi away
Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Hotel Alimuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Hotel Alimuri

Property: Mar Hotel Alimuri
Address: Via Angelo Cosenza 155, 80062 Meta, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Meta
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Meta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mar Hotel Alimuri 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mar Hotel Alimuri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Hotel Meta
Mar Hotel Alimuri Meta, Italy - Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing