We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Service...Great Hotel”
Review of Mar Hotel Alimuri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mar Hotel Alimuri
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Meta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Some hotels advertise as 4 star but are clearly not up to that star rating when you get there...Alimuri advertises as 4 star, but is not, its 5 STAR!!

From the moment you walk in, the team do their utmost to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. Most speak good English and everyone you meet in the hotel, be they cleaners, chamber maids, bar, restaurant, reception staff or even the painters, all give you a cheery “hello” and smile. Of special mention is Christian the attentive bar manger who makes sure your glass is never empty during the whole of your stay...he’s ably assisted by his 2 fellow helpers who provide great service. Antonio looks after you in the restaurant where the food is always plentiful and really fresh. Three hot meals a day is hard on the waist line, as is the extensive wine list.

The hotel is decorated beautifully and the room we had seemed to maintain a nice comfortable temperature, even when it heated up outside. We were on the 5th floor and the balcony view was magical. The view on the terrace, overlooking the Naples bay is stunning, especially at sunset. My only gripe is the hot water ran out before diner (as presumably most people were showering). The hotel is isolated, so the shuttle bus to Sorrento is great. I’m not normally a fan, but the Thompson Rep was good and available when required...she gave a useful walk round in Sorrento upon arrival with lots of good local, practical tips and restaurant recommendations.

This is a beautiful area...get out and explore it...I recommend you hire a private car for the day and get the driver to take you to all the places you want to visit at your own pace...ours had great local knowledge. The Amalfi coast road drive and intervening villages are fab, as is Sorrento, Capri, Vesuvius, and Herculaneum. We were there at Easter when the locals put on big religious parades. The weather was warm with intermittent sunshine... I expect it’s scorching in the summer months.

I travel widely and can honestly say this is one of the best hotels I’ve ever stopped in...visit Alimuri and enjoy their hospitality.

Room Tip: try and get Rm 532/4/6 as these afford the best sea views away from the noisy bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank machinmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,089)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

661 - 667 of 1,089 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have travelled to many places and stayed in many different hotels over the years, and this one definitely rates in the top 5. From the time we arrived to the time we left, we were made to feel welcome and always greeted by a smiling face. The hotel staff were all brilliant, they work very long hours but are never too tired to meet your requests, especially the fabulous bar staff...Cristian and Guilliano. The restaurant staff were just as welcoming as were the reception staff. A hotel with a very "Italian" feel to it and not the usual run of the mill same old, same old room style. Our room, 318, had an amazing sea view. It was all good, definitely the best all inclusive I have been on. Would definitely recommend this hotel and this location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mazzabest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed for the Easter Bank holiday weekend, was booked into their sister hotel - The Sea Cove but due to a delay in building work they moved us to this hotel instead and I was very pleased with the standard and location.
The highlight of the hotel is the staff, very friendly and welcoming and will always greet you with a smile and assist you with any matter to make sure you have a relaxing stay. Christian, his bar staff and all the waiting staff in the restaurant made our trip very enjoyable and I'd like to thank them all for their high level of customer service. We had a lovely room with a sea view (512) only negative is that it was a twin bed with a double sheet over it so this didn't make for the most comfortable nights sleep. The room and hotel is very clean, great power shower.
The Hotel is located about 1 hours walk from Sorrento, the shuttle service from the hotel is very good however they could do with having a 19:30pm slot rather than just 18:00pm then 20:30pm and maybe a 00:30am pick up from Sorrento as well. A taxi from Sorrento costs €35.00 so best to get the shuttle service in the evening for €1 per person.
Breakfast has a nice variety, cereals, breads, cold meats and cheeses, hot food; eggs, bacon, frankfurters and traditional Italian cakes. We ate in the restaurant one night, the buffet selection was nice, the main meal was average, think this was because we arrive 10 mins before closing so the food has been cooked 2 hours before for the "all inclusive" guests. The majority of guests are on an all inclusive deal, from what I could tell.
There is a great café / restaurant on the beach front of the hotel called Il Verricello - Slow Bar - great fresh seafood and vino, discovered this on our last day, wish we had seen it on the first day. Best restaurant in Sorrento is O' Parrucchiano, great food and service and big portions.
All in all I really enjoyed the hotel, would give it a solid 8 / 10 and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Agree with most of reviewers re: hotel staff,food,drinks etc.However!! Downside that no other reviewers have mentioned! (they were there when we were!). Redecoration (painting masonry nr. bar/terrace area ), electrical install. of lights in same area.These areas were cordoned off while the work was being done but one holidaymaker had paint splashes on her top ! On arrival pool was empty!! Indoor pool/spa treatment area under refurb. also!! Things only started gettin sorted when Sam (rep) was made aware! She said this was normal!! 'Cos we had gone in ""low season""!! Please!! Not the answer i wanted!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank meggiesabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at Hotel Alimuri from the 11th April 2014 for a week with our boys ages 18, and 11 it was in a beautiful location away from the hustle and bustle of Sorrento town,although we had a few visits to Sorrento on the shuttle bus which provided a very good service,We stayed in a lovely family room with a fantastic sea view,the staff were very good and helpfull,.Christian the bar manager was very good at his job and made us feel very relaxed,We had some lovely cocktails and the service provided by Valentino,Giulliano,and the restaurant staff was excellent.There, was plenty of choice for lunch and evening meal,and the quality of the,food was good. ,We will be visiting again as want to do the Amalfi Coast and Capri, trips,The Pompei and Herculaneum trips were very good..We would highly recommend this hotel...

Room Tip: Always choose a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed here, late September with our Friends. everything about this hotel was good, although the beach area was not anything special, but this didn't spoil our holiday(I love a good beach). We used the free shuttle bus everyday did some amazing trips, ate great food everyday served by wonderful staff ,had lovely weather and was sad to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redtoenail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here last year 1st week in July,we had a fantastic week!
-we arrived late of an evening and a delicious salad buffet was in our bedroom upon arrival,as we'd missed dinner.food at meal times was of excellent quality,we couldn't fault it.
The cocktails were amazing ! (Very strong)The alcohol was all branded,no cheap local stuff like you get in Spain.
The staff was brilliant always smiling,and making jokes with the guests,and they always remembered what drink you liked.
You couldn't fault the staff one bit,Francessco,Valentino and Giuseppe,were fantastic to us and worked hard long hrs but always had a smile on their face.
We nicknamed them Bungal,Zippy and George ;)
We had a sea view room and the view wS amazing! It's a must when you stay at this hotel as you could be facing a brick wall the opposite side of the hotel if you have no sea view room and your room will be smaller to,as we took a look.
The only fault we had was the service of an evening for drinks was very slow only one waiter for everyone! And it's waiter service only,so you can't go up and get your drinks,and your only allowed one drink per order,we waited 20-30 minutes for a drink of an evening, because of this I've given the hotel a 4/5
Extra staff are needed of an evening for the bar and waiter service.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Ella12131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meta
2.3 mi away
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro ...
#1 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
1,857 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace
4.1 mi away
Sea Club Conca Azzurra Resort
Sea Club Conca Azzurra Resort
#10 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Giosue a Mare
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel la Pace
Grand Hotel la Pace
#7 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Hotel Alimuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Hotel Alimuri

Address: Via Angelo Cosenza 155, 80062 Meta, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Meta
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Meta
Price Range: £258 - £597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mar Hotel Alimuri 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mar Hotel Alimuri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Hotel Meta
Mar Hotel Alimuri Meta, Italy - Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing