We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT stay here....it is run down and isolated....and there are no Orchids!”
Review of Orchid Corner B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orchid Corner B&B
Ranked #4 of 15 Meta B&B and Inns
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do NOT stay here....it is run down and isolated....and there are no Orchids!”
Reviewed 23 September 2008

My husband and I booked our trip to Amalfi, and were pleased to find a sweet looking and reasonably priced B&b....Then we got there.....we almost didn,t go in it as it was in a run down area and house in an isolated area 1.5 kms from the train station. For those looking for a wonderful Amalfi experience - the kind you've heard about with beautiful views, scenery and any type of activity - this is NOT the place. If you'd like a place where you can take long uphill walks or read a book...this might work for you. My husband and I ended up paying the woman (now angry and yelling at us) two nights cash just so we could find somewhere else and enjoy our hard earned vacation time. We are now in a bb in Sorrento and loving it.
I hope this helps even one person avoid Orchid Corner.

  • Liked — Leaving....
  • Disliked — Location and owners...
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FreeweelinFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidCornerAdm, Proprietario at Orchid Corner B&B, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear FreewellinFi, although with long delay, we thank you so much for your comment, because also throught your complaints we can provide to our readers more informations. First of all, the most important thing to know is that Meta is the most quiet location of the Sorrento Coast, away from the chaos and traffic of the center of Sorrento. Our house, however, surrounded by citrus groves, is the ideal place for who prefer a relaxing holiday or simply for who prefer to go back in the quiet after a long day of excursions. Our house is geographically located 5 minutes from the beach of Alimuri, so we are near the sea and obviously located in the lower part of the town. For who don't like to walk, we recommend taking the bus, the nearest stop is 3 minutes from our house, which stops at Meta station, from which is possibile easily reach Pompeii, Herculaneum and Naples. The same bus arrives in the center of Sorrento where is possible to take bus to Positano and Amalfi. For who don't like public transport we recommend, however, to rent a car or even better to rent a scooter, with which to visit the coast from Meta to Ravello is even more fun. If one day you'll decide to give us another chance, we will be happy to welcome you, meanwhile we send you our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    17
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2008

Carmalla and her husband were very gracious hosts. They even picked us up at the train station upon our arrival. The room was brand new and was cleaned every day. Our room had a kitchenette and second bed in the loft (great for small families). The common area garden was amazing. They made us a homemade meal upan our arrival and treated us like family. Breakfast was very good and they are a short walk to a nice beach.
The location is very safe and quiet.
It is a 20 min walk to the train station to access the train which takes you to Pompeii (20 min), Naples (60 min) and Sorrento (5 min).

Also!!
We must recommend a nearby restaurant called La Tavernetta. The owners name is Diego and he is not only a top notch chef (made one of the best meals we've ever eaten) he is also a gracious host. EVERYTHING he makes is from scratch. He gave us a tour of his wine/cheese/salami cellar. He ages his own cheese and serves absolutely everything fresh. Highly recommend!

  • Liked — Proximity to Sorrento and beach and beautiful garden
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbellny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidCornerAdm, Proprietario at Orchid Corner B&B, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear mbellny, although long delay we decided to answer to thank you for the beautiful words. We are always happy to know that in our house is possible to feel like in family because this is our greatest desire, to be sure that our guests can feel like at home. A hug.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2008

This made our second stay at Orchid Cornor with Carmela & Antonino, what a lovely couple. From the time we walked thru the door to the court yard we were in love with Orchid Cornor. We love everything about Orchid Cornor. It is in a very good location, close to the beach, bus, and train. After a warm welcome and a bottle of chilled wine we were shown our room which was spacious, clean and nicely decorated. We walked to the beach every day for a swim
and then we would take the bus into Sorrento for a day of shopping and sightseeing. If you ever have the opportunity to stay at Orchid
Cornor you too will also fall in love.

  • Liked — everything, from the location, people, price,
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandgirl042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidCornerAdm, Proprietario at Orchid Corner B&B, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear islandgirl042, we apologize for the delay and thank you so much for the beautiful words. It 's always a pleasure for us to know that our house gives memorable moments to our guests and we hope to be always able to meet every needs of all people that choose our B & B for their holidays. A hug.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2008

This was our second stay at Orchid Corner. My husband and I went on our own last year and fell in love with Orchid Corner, the town of Meta, and very importantly, with the owners, Carmela and Antonino. So, we came back this year, and brought our daughters. The bed and breakfast is in a beautiful building, it is romantic and comfortable. The rooms are beautifully furnished and decorated, with individual air conditioning units which work wonderfully. The bathrooms are more spacious than most European bathrooms (the shower a good size for my over 6 ft. husband). The rooms are impeccably clean. Breakfast is provided in the kitchen, and is lovely and quite ample. There is an incredibly lovely courtyard that all the rooms look out on, with seating areas and surrounded by the lemon and orange trees that populate the region and filled with Carmela's artistic arrangement of plants. It is a great place to lunch or dine, there are several pizza places and salumerias for take out meals. Carmela and Antonino are enthusiastic and helpful hosts who will help in any way to make your stay a great one. The train station is a quick walk, and it is easy to get to Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast or Pompeii, Herculaneum, or Capri from Meta. The beach is a 5 minute walk, and there is a public beach as well as a beach with an entrance fee--either one great for bathing. We recommend this B&B very highly.

  • Liked — They are beautiful rooms and beautiful courtyard.
  • Disliked — We loved everything.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank maracaibo_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidCornerAdm, Proprietario at Orchid Corner B&B, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear maracaibo_traveler, we know we are off late, but we decided to write you to thank you so much for your romantic words. It 's always beautiful for us to know that in our house guests can feel like at home. A hug.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2007

If you're looking for a quiet and relaxing few days in a less touristy spot then Meta and this B&B could be for you.

We were only there for one night and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The glass of wine on arrival is a lovely touch, the room was spacious, clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast is simple but tasty.

With regard to location, it's only a short stroll to the bus stop or to the stairs to the beach. There are a few shops and restaurants, so it's not a place to party but to relax.

If you get dropped off by the bus on the main road above the village a taxi will cost you about 10euros to the B&B. Expensive but necessary, as it would be quite a walk with cases and not that easy to find.

Having read the other reviews from last year, the towel comments are still true but it's not really a big deal, as everything else was lovely.

Would happily go back again.

  • Liked — The room decor, wine on arrival, quiet location and rustic charm of the whole place
  • Disliked — Paying 10euros from the bus stop to get there!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewarty16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidCornerAdm, Proprietario at Orchid Corner B&B, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Stewarty16, although late we decided to answer you to thank you so much for your comment. It 's always a pleasure for us to know that our house is an ideal place to relax and that you enjoyed our rooms, the cleanliness and the breakfast served. We agree with you about Meta, it'is a very quiet place, away from the chaos of the center of Sorrento. We hope, therefore, to have left a good memory in your mind and that one day you will decide to visit us again. A hug.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
489 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2006

After a warm welcome and a bottle of chilled wine, our expectations were high.
Orchid Corner is in Meta Sorrento, 2 train stops from Sorrento. It has several acceptable restaurants and one excellent restaurant.
The owner suggested we take the bus to Sorrento for the day and have dinner. We were not told that the last bus leaves Sorrento at 9 pm. Given the late eating time, we had to wait until 111:32 for the train back to Meta. That is one of the problems with this establishment - there is little help after the warm welcome.
In fact, our 4 days there saw the owner only twice - upon arrival and after we asked her to come down regarding the train schedule.
The towels are scant. In fact, until we asked, we had only hand towels. The bedding is well used, though clean. The shower also had a mold problem.
For breakfast, there are packaged baked goods. On one morning there were sandwiches. Although the owner knew we were leaving on the 9 am train, breakfast is served at 9 am and there was no adjustment made.
Transport to and from the train station is promised however upon departure we were told to walk, even after requesting a taxi for the 1 km jaunt.
With some attention to guests and the b & b it could be much better. Certainly, after 6 places on this trip, this one ranks the lowest.
The other guests made our stay very memorable.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SeeingTHEworld2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidCornerAdm, Proprietario at Orchid Corner B&B, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear SeeingTHEworld2012, we apologize for the long delay, and we want to thank you so much for your comment, we think it is always useful to know the grievances of our guests. Also with your help, we have at guests disposal a map of the area with all the timetables of trains, buses and hydrofoils. The warm welcome, accompanied by a good glass of wine or limoncello, it is always a good habit for us and above all a moment to provide suggestions to help guests to prepare their holiday. From long time, we like to prepare always different breakfasts enriched with typical products of our land and we prepare breakfasts lunches with sandwiches and fruit for those who need to leave early. Unfortunately we can not always guarantee our guests to accompany them to the station, but if we are free, it is always a pleasure for us to help them in their travels. If one day you want to give us a second chance we will be happy to welcome you. A hug.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2006

This quaint little B & B is situated in the town of Meta, a couple of train stops on the Circumvesuviana from Sorrento.

We were warmly welcomed by Carmela from the moment we arrived as she sat us down with us on the terrace and presented us with a welcome bottle of wine. The ambiance is wonderful, the terrace relaxing and filled with plants and flowers. Our room was very nicely decorated and clean and was situated right off the patio/terrace. The view fom the terrace to the towering cliffs is most impressive

The beach is only a 2 or 3 minute walk away and there are a variety of reasonably priced restaurants nearby.

If you are looking for nightlife then I suggest Sorrento but if, like us, you are looking to relax and re-charge your batteries after a few busy days in Rome, I doubt you can beat this place for value.

The only minor complaint would be the small towels.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Macnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidCornerAdm, Proprietario at Orchid Corner B&B, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Mr Macnab, we apologize for the long delay, and thank you for your kind words. We are always happy to know that our home gives moments of relax to our guests and that, during your stay, you appreciated our small country, her beach and the good food that you can eat to the nearby restaurants. A hug.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meta
0.3 mi away
Mar Hotel Alimuri
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,305 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Pennichella Sorrentina
0.2 mi away
Bleu Village
Bleu Village
#7 of 7 in Meta
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Sorrento
Villa Sorrento
#3 of 15 in Meta
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Corner B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Corner B&B

Property: Orchid Corner B&B
Address: Via Eduardo de Martino 35, 80062 Meta, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Meta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Meta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Orchid Corner B&B 1.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Corner B & B, which occupies a building of 700, is located in the historical center of Meta, not so far from the center of Sorrento, and a short walk from the beautiful beach of Alimuri, the only beach of volcanic origin in Sorrento Peninsula. Location is convenient because is well connected to major tourist destinations of Campania: Capri, Ischia, Pompeii, Herculaneum, Positano, Ravello, Amalfi and Naples. The main door opens on a flowery patio where overlook the rooms of the Bed and Breakfast. All rooms have private entrance that ensures an hospitality intimate and also familiar. The rooms are about 20 square meters and with private bathroom. Here you will find the perfect combination of good quality accomodation and the typical Neapolitan hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and TripOnline SA so you can book your Orchid Corner B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Corner B&B Meta, Italy - Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing