We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best thing about it-leaving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Giosue a Mare
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Meta
Reviewed 9 May 2011

On our honeymoon and given two single beds, I went down to ask for a double with a written email confirming a double bed, was told I never asked for a double (??) Finally they said they'd fix it, we left and had some dinner and came back to find a sheet thrown over the beds pushed together, with a 2 inch gap between. the floor was filthy, the shower I was scared to use because of the mold. We were given no towels or soap and limited toilet paper. The sky TV they advertised to us didnt work and we were told wont be fixed. They refused to call us a taxi to get to the train station with our luggage (just walk up hill for 3 kms with 50kgs of luggage?) They printed a map with someones passport infomation on the back (we destroyed it instantly) and breakfast was a choice of a croissant or yoghurt, thats it. It is in a lovely location but impossable to get to transport (the buses are close but you have to pre-buy tickets at the train station, 3kms away) I do reccommend the little cafe around the corner, absolutly devine service and food there!

Room Tip: Stay in here if you like to be yelled at by staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank becky_boo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2011

This hotel is a small, family-run, hotel with outstanding food and service, along with a fabulous view of the Mediterranean. The value can't be beat. A quick bus ride to all of Southern Italy's tourist spots. Very close to ferry to Capri.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeannaT4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Great little hotel, family run very friendly and the food was sublime.Its situated at the bottom of the cliffs right on the sea, and they also supply the sunbeds and unbrellas at no charge. If you've been to Sorrento before you'll know how expensive it can be when you go to the beach. If you have difficulty walking it can be difficult,but there is a bus at the beach which will take you up into Sorrento itself at a very low cost. Been to a lot of hotels in the area and this one is by far the best as regards cost and food. The rooms are spacious and very clean

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluecandy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We stayed here with a tour group, bad service started at check-in - the desk turned off the elevator while we were in line to us it., light bulbs were burnt out in room (not replaced either), you have to ask for the remote to control a/c, shower drain overflowed in several rooms. rude staff from start to finish, Food, awlful, pasta with ok red sauce, canned peas, thin sliced (pork?)meat with only one bowl of parmasean cheese for entire group of 48. Breakfast equally scant, desert was an apple..... nice bar down the sidewalk and cafe up on top of the stairs saved the visit. beach closes at 7PM. sunset was about 9 pm. long walk down tunnel to hotel if you are on a bus. thin walls, no lights in hall till dark outside. hotel bar had chains on door to outside. save your self, stay somewhere else. two student groups there that night so place was full of folks, but other group ate elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank armdillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

This is a wonderful hotel directly on the beach. Spectacular sunsets, great food on site & comfortable modern rooms. Well worth the visit.

Stayed: March 2010
Thank KelvinW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

When we first arrived, I was sure I would like to come back with family sometime. The location and the appearance of the hotel are really lovely. By the end of the night, however, I was equally convinced that I would not. There were creepy guys (apparently friends of the kitchen staff) eying my female students at supper. The desk staff were rudely sure that my students would damage the newly decorated rooms. The halls, rooms and public rooms echoed like caverns and when the students next to us talked or opened their balcony door, the noise felt like they were in the same room as us. Twin beds instead of double for a married couple, and finally, the mattresses were hard as rock.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teacherontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

This 'resort hotel' is NOTHING like they claim. The staff is hostile. They openly made fun of the "Americanos", and started a fight with an Italian guest. The beach was littered with trash, and they refused to put out any beach chairs. Overall, they were extremely rude and unpleasant. The food was ridiculously expensive and of poor quality, and the hotel was in an awkward location. My children and I would never return.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeDVM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meta
0.3 mi away
Mar Hotel Alimuri
0.2 mi away
Panorama Palace Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mega Mare
Hotel Mega Mare
#1 of 20 in Vico Equense
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Astoria Vico Hotel
Astoria Vico Hotel
#3 of 20 in Vico Equense
145 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,352 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Oriente
Hotel Oriente
#6 of 20 in Vico Equense
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giosue a Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giosue a Mare

Address: Via Antonio Caruso 2 | Marina di Meta, 80062 Meta, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Meta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Meta
Price Range: £80 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giosue a Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Giosue a Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Giosue a Mare Meta, Italy - Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing