We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Year 2 and can't wait for more, Affordable,Precious,Location!”
Review of Villa Pollio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Pollio
Ranked #1 of 13 Meta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Year 2 and can't wait for more, Affordable,Precious,Location!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here last year with my daughter and a friend and loved it so much I came back again with my mother. Perfect Italian setting. As everyone has said, Alberto is the sweetest host alive. From little gifts of his family's homemade Limonelle to picking us up from our restaurant down on the water so we didn't have to walk "home," Alberto makes you feel like you are an honored family member. This BnB is clean, within an America Block or 2 of the train ( look or ask for the Tunnel to the train) and is quiet and quaint with the exception of weekend mornings when the trains empty and a throng of fun loving teens walks to the beach- but it's all just joy noise.

There are some amazing restaurants down on the water and a free beach. I continue to be amazed at the affordability of both Villa Pollio and the area restaurants so close to Sorrento and the Amafi coast.

Some have thought this was IN SORRENTO proper- it is not. The name of the village is "Meta di Sorrento" which is like being a bedroom community of Sorrento. But Sorrento is 2 train stops and 1.30 euro each way. Pompeii is also a hand full of stops away and Naples is on the other end- about an hour away.

If you are coming from the Naples Airport there is a bus that goes right through Meta- {5 or 7 euro) the Stop is in front of the church and a short walk down the hill to Villa Sorrento.

Next year is already in the works for us.

Room Tip: Take 2 or 3 people with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebeccaroberts61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villapollio, Proprietario at Villa Pollio, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Rebecca,
your words make me joyful,thank you for your appreciation of everything at Villa Pollio b&b.Reach excellent results,for us isn't only a job but a real pleasure take care of you.I would like to thak you for choosing us for your second consecutive year.This means that we were able to make you feel at home,your home for the holidays.See you next year,you are always welcome here.Thank you for all,again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    25
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
85
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

After reading various reviews about Villa Pollio, my grandmother and I decided to stay here for three nights in June 2014. Although it was not located in downtown Sorrento, as indicated in the description of the property, it was a great central location for the Amalfi Coast area. It was a quick 10 minute bus ride or a quick train ride to start any adventure. The accommodations were great and our room had a private bath and kitchen. As a previous reviewer stated, our room had a balcony that overlooked the family's garden and you could even see the ocean (between other buildings). Meta was a great little town away from the tourists where you could relax. Every morning Alberto or another family member would ask if we needed anything or needed some directions. Overall a great place to stay with a true Italian feel. Can't wait to return and I would highly suggest this B&B to anyone visiting the Amalfi Coast area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden. There is a room that is over the street, which is busy most o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Russell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villapollio, Proprietario at Villa Pollio, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi,
thank you for your careful review and thank you for choosing to advertise Villa Pollio b&b.I am excited to read that you are satisfied and the room was suitable for your needs.It's pleasure to read our guests,when they share their experiences with all.They are helpful to us and other customers.I hope see you soon in Villa Pollio b&b.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Excellent location for traveling to Sorrento, Pompeii, and Naples on the local train. Alberto, the owner, was very helpful. The apartment we had was 2 connecting rooms, which were very clean and included a small kitchen. The bedroom had a balcony, which was a great place to relax after a long day of walking! We would definitely return to Villa Pollio.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Claudio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villapollio, Proprietario at Villa Pollio, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello Claudio,
It's real pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay here,in Villa Pollio.Thank you for your rewiev,your words encourage us to do our best for our guests.For me it has been a pleasure to host you and help you in everything.You'll always be welcome for your stay.Thank you and greetings from Sorrento.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Villo Pollio is the perfect place to stay on your trip to this beautiful part of Italy. We travelled from Naples on the local train, and were running later than hope due to delays. This was no worry to our host, Albert, who welcomed us to our room, showed us all the facilities and recommended a place for late night pizza!

This was a great start to an amazing stay at the B&B! Our quad room was spacious and very clean. We had breakfast provided and our beds were made up each day. We have facilities to enjoy wine and snacks on our balcony. It is a very comfortable place indeed.

Only a minutes walk from the train line, we moved between Sorrento, Meta and up to Pompeii and Naples with no hassles at all. The B&B has lots of resources on hand to help plan trips and travel for the whole area.

Meta town is peaceful and is a place people must enjoy living. It has wonderful views, a great beach area and excellent places to have dinner. The best in all of Sorrento I would have to say! Tico Tico was a recommendation from Albert and it was a fabulous one at that.

I have already recommend my friends come to stay here and I wish to do the same to anyone reading this.

Room Tip: The quad room was two very large and comfortable doubles. It was fine for four singles to share beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank missjaijai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villapollio, Proprietario at Villa Pollio, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
I'm very happy that you've appreciated everything here,I am proud that you recommend Villa Pollio as a memorable vacations in Sorrento.We would like to thank you all for sharing your vacation experiences with us through our TripAdvisor page.In fact thank you to all our guests we have won for the second consecutive year, the TripAdvisor® Excellence Certificate 2014.
We will be happy to welcome you again on future occasions.

Villapollio.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

After reading and trusting other reviews for Villa Pollio, we decided to try this B&B for ourselves and we are so glad we did. We were a Family of 3 Adults wanting accommodation from 30 April until 10th May. 2014. Albert the Host suggested we have their apartment to hire, which consisted of 2 connecting rooms. If you look on their website, you will see Room 2 (the picture shows a double bed with a green bedspread on it), and Room 3 was reached via a connecting door which also had a lovely little kitchenette. Both rooms were of a very good size. From Room 3 you were able to get to the bathroom which had a 4-piece sanitary ware ingeniously fitted into the space.

The double bed green room was large, and it had a dining room table, so that once meals were prepared from the other double bed room, you could sit and enjoy a family meal. There is a good sized balcony with a couple of chairs and a table accessed from the “green” room, where you can sit and watch the world go by. Both these rooms of the apartment are at the front of the villa, near the road. However, the double-glazed windows blocked out any noise from the road, so we had no problems there whatsoever. Room 3 also has air conditioning which was very welcoming when the temperature rose to 29 degrees outside and kept the two rooms really cool! Room 1 on our Floor being used by other Customers which we had a quick look at (being nosy) was equally as spacious, and has a view of the lovely garden at the back of the property.

Villa Pollio is a fantastic place to stay. We did not have the Breakfast from the Hosts, wanting to do our own thing and prepare our own meals etc, but I saw their basket of goodies delivered to other holiday makers, and it was full to brimming with goodies.

The villa itself was in a really good location. Meta is a very quiet place, but absolutely delightful. The Beach is far better than Sorrento's – but make sure you go to the other side of the beach, near the Restaurant Conca, as it is less touristy and noisy. The Circumvensuviana Train Station is just up the hill from the Villa, about a 3 minute walk literally, and was extremely handy. To get into Sorrento was a doddle. The tickets for a round trip was E2.40 – always make sure you put the relevant ticket through the ticket machine to “mark” it as this is a requirement of Italy! You get TWO tickets, one for each way. If the ticket office is shut, just go to the shop inside the Meta Station, as they also sell the train tickets.

We used the Train to get to everything. We went to Naples one day, went to Herculaneum, Pompeii, Vesuvius etc.. Most of the prices were about E7.00 to get to these places (tourist companies charge a fortune for it), but these places are SO easy from the Villa.....and you can take your time rather than only being given 2-3 hours' from the Tourist Company.

I am writing this next bit because some of the reviews for the Villa still left me wondering if Meta was a good place to do our tourist bit – and I can honestly say, it was so easy. As a fantastic tip that was given to us by our Host Albert, he suggested to get to his Villa we use the Carreri Viaggi Coach (website http://www.curreriviaggi.it/inglese/E_index.html). The cost from the airport to either Meta OR Sorrento is 10 euros per person one way (May 2014 prices). When you go outside of the Airport, turn left and make your way to the Departures Area, and you will see an “island” just in front of the departure doors of the airport where all the buses are. Sometimes, the Bus will be coloured and says the name “curreri viaggi” on it, but sometimes, it is simply a white bus, and the only way of knowing where it is going is to look at the front of the bus and it will say it is a shuttle bus to Sorrento. Just say “Meta” when you board the bus. You get the ticket on the bus itself, and your luggage is stored in the coach's belly. Really easy. The trip takes approx 50 minutes to 1 hour drive via spectacular scenery as the Coach drives along the coastline. If you are not faint-hearted, when you step into the bus, sit on your left-hand side – some of the route takes you right along the cliff edge with a sheer drop down the side – amazing! The bus drops you off opposite the large Church of Meta, and all you do is either go down the steps behind the little Shop, or follow the road down to the Villa (about 200 metres, downhill). You can get the bus back to the airport from the church side – so travel to get to and from the Villa is so easy.

Another tourist tip - if you are wondering about the 3T tourist ticket (3 day ticket which originally covered ANY transportation in Campania/Sorrento), it now does not exist! You can only get a 3-day ticket for 16 euro which you can use on the train OR any of the local buses, but does not now include the SITA Bus. My advice, just buy your train tickets daily. Get these tickets from the ticket office in Sorrento Train Station.

We hated the SITA bus which you get on at Sorrento Bus Station (just outside the Sorrento Train Station), as it was old, dirty, and very busy which we used to get to Positano (wonderful place), the Amalfi Coast and Ravello. I would strongly suggest you go via boat to reach some of these places rather than use the SITA bus.

Hope these tips help you all to decide whether Villa Pollio is a good place to come to.

All in all, Villa Pollio is a marvelous place to stay, and we are happy to recommend this to anyone.
Perfect place, perfect hosts, perfect location.
Lorrie Smith, UK

Room Tip: Room 1 looks out on to their garden and has a balcony Rooms 2 and 3 can be used as an apartment and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorrikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villapollio, Proprietario at Villa Pollio, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for the precise description.I am immensely happy, not only for your wonderful review, but also because in my small way I have contribuited to making enjoyable your stay in Sorrento.With your words I realize that our guests appreciate even the little things we do, to make unforgettable their holiday, and I am very pleased with this. Mostly thanks for giving us the possibility to know so nice people like you.We try to offer always the best to the guest that sleep here in Sorrento, hoping to leave a good memory, not only of the place, but also of the hospitality received.

I hope to host you even in future occasions here at Villa Pollio, where you can always find comfort, relax and warm hospitality.

Alberto
Villa Pollio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

So much to say about our visit to Meta di Sorrento and our stay at Villa Pollio! Most importantly is we enjoyed it so much we added an additional night to our stay. The service and quality we received at Villa Pollio should be the standard for the hospitality industry. Alberto, the owner is so helpful and very kind. The accommodations were prefect, spotless and charming. Located a few minutes from the train station in Meta and just a short walk to the beach in Meta. This location is a far better option for those who want to avoid all the tourist congestion in Sorrento and other locations in the Almafi. That being said, Meta is only a few stops from Sorrento on the train which allows you to make the most of a day trip to Sorrento, Positano or Amalfi. Alberto has a lot of knowledge of the surrounding area and provided us with phenomenal recommendations for eating (Tico Tico) and for our day trip to Vesuvius. We were so sad to leave Meta and Villa Pollio because it felt like home. We will definitely return to Meta and be sure to spend our time at Villa Pollio!Thanks so much for the wonderful service and experience Alberto! Hopefully we will see you again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happynomad1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villapollio, Proprietario at Villa Pollio, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
I am really happy that you enjoyed your stay in Sorrento at Villa Pollio.It’s always pleasure to know that our guests are satisfied.This is foundamental!For us it is always a pleasure to help our guests and be available for any request or information.It was a pleasure to take care of you.Thank you for this nice review, you give us the opportunity to make better known the B & B Villa Pollio in the TripAdvisor community. We hope to welcome you in future occasions.


Alberto Russo
Villa Pollio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed at Villa Pollio for 3 nights, taking advantage of the very reasonable 3 night rate. The 2 rooms the four of us stayed in had kitchens. Alberto was very helpful in giving us wise advice to use the train (whose station is 2 short blocks away) to go to Sorrento and Pompeii. He has free parking in his backyard, but it is a very tight entrance to the parking, especially if you have something the size of our VW Touran. We decided not to attempt to get the car out of his parking until we were ready to leave the area. He supplies prepackaged breakfast items and coffee if you want to make it yourself. The place was very clean and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Janis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villapollio, Proprietario at Villa Pollio, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
I would like to extend our warmest thanks to nice words.I’m very happy that you liked your stay with us in Villa Pollio b&b.We are always a point of reference and you'll always be welcome for your stay,we are at your complete service,I hope to see you soon.

Have a nice day!
Alberto Russo
Villa Pollio B&B Sorrento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meta
0.7 mi away
Mar Hotel Alimuri
0.5 mi away
Hotel Giosue a Mare
0.6 mi away
Panorama Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Sorrento
Villa Sorrento
#3 of 13 in Meta
101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Nannina
Casa Nannina
#2 of 13 in Meta
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Pollio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Pollio

Property: Villa Pollio
Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 6 | Sorrento, 80062 Meta, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Meta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Meta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the comforts of a hotel with the convenience of a Bed and Breakfast. We are proud to welcome you to our residence in Meta di Sorrento, a beautiful structure close to Sorrento which is just a short distance from the more affirmed international and cultural tourist destinations. The most fabulous excursions are simple to organise to visit Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, Pompeii, Herculaeum, Ischia, Procida, Naples and Vesuvius. We will host you in a beautiful and relaxed atmosphere so you may enjoy every opportunity to spend a beautiful holiday in one of the most beautiful places in the world, situated between the sea, hills and mountains. We will personally furnish you with all information to allow you to fully appreciate your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Pollio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Pollio Meta, Italy - Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing