We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location for a relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Agriturismo Le case del merlo
Ranked #5 of 8 Milo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The agriturismo is located in Milo, on the side of the Etna volcano. Getting there is quite easy, no difficult roads, food is good and most of all, the location provides a relaxing atmosphere. The agriturismo has all the commodities one looks for, from swimming pool, to wi-fi. It's location is quite close to Sicily's main attractions.

A perfect family venue. Mrs Panto is a dedicated host who goes out of her way to make sure that everyone is having a nice stay.

Will probably visit again in the future.

Room Tip: the rooms on the higher side are the closest to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GordonPace24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of our trip to Sicily for the express purpose of visiting Etna (it had been recommended to us by some Sicilian friends) and as experienced travellers we both liked it. It's well-priced for what you get and we both agreed that we would happily stay there again. The location is high up on the edge of the lava fields and it's very much a tranquil rural setting. The buildings are attractively laid-out in an attractive hillside setting and the guest rooms are in a separate building overlooking a pool area with a splendid view out over the Strait of Messina towards mainland Italy. Behind you, the summit of Etna looms directly, wisping smoke. Bar a lot of black volcanic sand (more like tiny friable stones) that had recently fallen and had been swept away to the extent feasible, everything outside was clean and neatly kept. Contrary to one very negative review I can see to my right as I type this (which documents an experience I don't remotely recognise), the pool was completely clean and inviting, with a continuously running pump/filter system so we had no qualms about leaping in (and trust me, we're picky). Our room (No.3) was spacious, clean and comfortable without being necessarily luxurious - this is a small agriturismo after all, not Claridges. The bathroom was also spacious by the standards of other hotels and agriturismos I have visited. No untoward bugs and we slept well. The service was low-key and unfussy but the owners and staff were very friendly, accommodating and chatty (being/speaking Italian always helps of course) and we ate well: breakfast on both mornings was tasty, home-made and plentiful, and we had an three course evening meal the night we arrived that frankly cost buttons. No choice - either you fancy what is being cooked or you go out for dinner but we had no problem with that. The gnocchi and the rabbit were both delicious. In summary, we felt it was ideal for visiting Etna and the surrounding charming towns such as Zafferano Etnea without spending a fortune. Getting to the coast at Fiumefreddo/Acireale takes about 30-35 mins by car and it's about an hour from Catania airport. I'd recommend ensuring you have a sat nav, as the whole area is a nest of tiny roads that you could get very lost on.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wolands-Advocate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We were there for a couple of days. The room is big (with a mezzanine to put the cod bed), well equiped, very nice. The view from the terrace is amazing overlooking the slopes of thr Etna and the sea.
Staff is very nice, swimming pool is big and pleasant.
Breakfast is good and included in the room. And if you stay there for dinner the food is actually very good.
I clearly recommend this place.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank leunamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Essentially- DO NOT EVER STAY HERE! Oh where to start! There are so many things badly wrong with this place! I’ll do dot points to try to summarise easier:
• Room is completely dirty- the loft area above us looked like it had not been cleaned for a year
• Infested with bugs- I understand we were on a farm but the place was crawling with cockroaches. They would fall off the roof and onto the bed and we even found worms in the rugs
• Bathroom was horrendous- would fully flood after one minute in the shower and we were lucky to get a bar of soap- no products at all
• Breakfast was terrible- a bit of bread and cereal and by the time we got there everyday at 9/9:30 it was deserted and no one would be seen to restock the bread or coffee to the point where the last two days we didn’t even bother with it and just went into town to have breakfast at the bar
• Pool is just for looks on the website- it is absolutely filthy. Water has probably been siting there unfiltered for years. You would get sick swimming in it
• Location is awful- it is still 10 minutes from Milo in the middle of nowhere and Milo is miles from everywhere, The website makes it out to sound like you are 20 minutes from everything- Catania/Taormina etc, so this is what we were expecting- instead you are ½ an hour from the Giarre entrance to the autostrada not to mention then another ½ and hour to either Catania or Taormina.
• Shocking uncomfortable bed
• No heating and it gets cold in those mountains even in summer
• Expensive for what the place is and basic facilities were not there i.e. phone, or didn’t work properly i.e. TV
• Service is shocking! The few things I asked for i.e. an iron were made impossible
• The dinner is awful- bad food, bad service, expensive and had the daughter and boyfriend carrying on walking around us all and playing the Simpson’s on the big TV behind us- talk about a way to ruin the serenity
There is so much more that I cant even remember but I just remember it being horrible and I was so upset the last few nights- checked out earlier by one night, would have lost money to check out any earlier than that but now I'm thinking I should have done it anyway and just lost the money cause I was so upset. Anyway I will finish with the last point- the worst of them all
• The reason why they abandon breakfast is because they start to clean the rooms at 930. We are late risers when on holidays and they woke us up every morning screaming out the front of our room assigning jobs to each other like uncouth animals. One morning they actually stormed into our room while we were sleeping and told us they were going to come and clean it in 5 minutes and we said no we still needed to have showers etc, come later. But they never came at all. We got home late to a dirty room and no towels as we had used them all to mop up the flood on the floor that morning. We asked them to clean it and why it was not cleaned and we said cause we wouldn’t let them. I tried to make them understand that it was 930am- why wouldn’t you just come later at 11 or something but they just wouldn’t get it and still didn’t come and clean it instead just handed us fresh towels. It was the same story every day. They always came when we were getting ready and they continually knocked demanding to clean our room and pretty much kicked us out every morning.
Essentially these people have set up an agriturismo and they have no idea what they are doing. I stayed 5 horrendous nights, the worst of any trip I have had and I have travelled to almost 40 countries in Europe, Asia, South America and the Middle East. They completely ruined that last week of my trip. NEVER STAY HERE

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelmate03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Federica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaPantò P, Proprietario at Agriturismo Le case del merlo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Valentina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaPantò P, Proprietario at Agriturismo Le case del merlo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Dans la maison du bas dans les vignes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benat74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaPantò P, Proprietario at Agriturismo Le case del merlo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milo
3.5 mi away
Etna Hotel
Etna Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giarre
354 reviews
1.1 mi away
B&B Dimora dell’Etna
2.9 mi away
Agriturismo Tenuta San Michele
Agriturismo Tenuta San Michele
#1 of 3 in Santa Venerina
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
B&B Villa Loriana
B&B Villa Loriana
#2 of 8 in Milo
73 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wine Resort Villagrande
0.7 mi away
B&B a Rinazzu
B&B a Rinazzu
#3 of 8 in Milo
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Le case del merlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Le case del merlo

Address: Via Sciara Praino 11/13, 95010 Milo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Milo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Milo
Price Range: £66 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agriturismo Le case del merlo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An environment of well being and relaxation, ideal for those who want to immerse themselves in the typicality of these enchanting places and unspoiled.The property consists of 9 rooms and 4 apartments spacious and comfortable, refined in every detail and equipped with TV, mini-bar, safe and air conditioning.Outside you can enjoy open spaces where guests can relax, soak in a wonderful swimming pool with hydro-massage, which overlooks the panorama of the Sicilian coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Agriturismo Le case del merlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Le Case Del Merlo Milo, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing