We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of Tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hunter's Country House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Harkerville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Although situated just off the main N2 road between Plettenberg and Knysna, the location is beautifully quiet. We stayed three nights in one of the cottages on the estate. One of the factors that influenced our decision to stay here was the fact that there were three restaurants on site according to our information; one at Hunter’s, one at Tsala (the other accommodation on the same estate, and Zinzi’s – a restaurant situated between Hunter’s and Tsala. However, it became clear that our information was out of date, for there is now only one restaurant – Zinzi’s – but I have to say it was absolutely superb. We really enjoyed dining there – and we thought the prices were very reasonable. Breakfasts, which were also very good, were served in the conservatory in Hunter’s.

The cottage itself was quite a pleasant place to stay in the midst of very well maintained grounds. It was marred only by a strange smell – a cross between incense and mothballs. The lighting could have been a bit better, but this didn’t detract from our enjoyment. Although we were warned to keep the windows closed when we went out because of a potential threat of monkeys entering, it was in fact a baboon that wandered in when we were actually in the place. He helped himself to the fruit bowl, and wandered back out again! One slightly surprising aspect was the provision of an old fashioned CRT TV – but we don’t normally sit and watch TV in hotels unless to catch up on news. The bathroom was nicely fitted out with quality fittings and very spacious.

The terrace outside the patio doors was a very pleasant environment to enjoy a drink. We seldom used the bar in the main building – it was eerily quiet – it felt as if we were the only people staying; we never saw any other guests in the place except at breakfast.

We found the staff to be attentive and helpful, although there were some minor failings in restocking consumables in our cottage (eg tea bags). The swimming pool area was really nice.

The rooms themselves do not have wifi – you have to go to the main building to receive it – and even then it had only a very limited range and strength, something I found a bit frustrating. No separate terminal is available to guests, an omission I found surprising in a hotel at this level.

Overall we enjoyed our stay very much, but next time we would look at Tsala’s; we had a quick look at it and it too seemed a very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Honest-Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2012

we stayed here for a couple of nights.
the place is very well run, very friendly staff. And represents excellent value.
rooms are private, spacious well decorated and furnished beautifully, with comfort and taste. Its a very comfortable, homely, cosy atmosphere perfect for relaxing all day. The pool is a good size, and the grounds are well kept and private.
The food is excellent, and again - the staff could not have been more welcoming and efficient.
I would certainly recommend Hunters, and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: we had a suite, which had a private garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bentimbobdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Hotel is in a very beatiful surrounding with nice gardens and very spacious and well appointed rooms with comfortable beds.

The place is understaffed and although staff was friendly, helpful and comptent when available one had to wait longer than necessary for a hotel at this level.

Internet is only available in the main lounge and for the duration of our stay it was not functioning.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fantokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

There's not a lot to compare Hunter's with - it's fantastic staying in your own thatched cottage and wandering through beautiful gardens to luxuriate in a relaxing swim or to enjoy an exquisite meal in the restaurant.

Everyone was really friendly and helpful. A great stay!

PS My only niggle was that on 2 consecutive days I had to seek out someone to replenish the pool towels.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mr_Haddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

This was a place of absolute luxury - it is just so relaxing - beautiful gardens and the most luxurious rooms! The food was good - especially the breakfasts. This hotel happened to be the half way point on our holiday and it turned out to be a wonderful place to re charge before going to the cape winelands!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ivorcrpr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

As we drove up to Hunters we realised that this was going to be a memorable stay in a beautiful hideaway location. Our thatched cottage suite was tastefully but very adequately furnished and the private sunny patio was a bonus. All the other facilties - pool, restaurants, internet etc. - were all excellent and the grounds are ideal for short walks. The menu in the Zinzi restaurant is particularly good value and the fish I ate there was out of this world!
For the more active there's lots to do in the neighbourhood and shopping in the local towns.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank famwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Taking the Garden Route we stayed for 3 nights at Hunters and were delighted with everything about the Hotel. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and the pool area is very peaceful with several shaded structures around the pool to take shelter from the Sun.. The accommodation was a beautiful thatched lodge which was luxuriously furnished and had everything you could wish for within it. The lodges all have their own privae patios and beautifully maintained gardens at the rear. The food in the restaurant was amongst the best we have ever had in any country and the service was first class. They also provide Internet use free of charge/

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthwestCestrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harkerville
5.8 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
554 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
376 reviews
10.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
830 reviews
7.2 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter's Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter's Country House

Address: Off N2 | 10 Km's west of Plettenberg Bay, Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > Harkerville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Harkerville
Price Range: £75 - £436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hunter's Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fragrant and colorful, Hunter's luxuriant gardens create an idyllic setting for this opulent retreat in the heart of the Garden Route. Hunter's Country House combines gracious elegance with sheer comfort and impeccable service with warm hospitality. Far from the madding crowd, yet conveniently close to a wide variety of leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hunter's Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter`s Country House Hotel Harkerville
Hunters Country Hotel
Hunter's Country House South Africa/Harkerville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing