We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brillant stay !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hunter's Country House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Harkerville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brillant stay !”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed for the 3rd time there & we must say that it is each time a greater experience ! We really enjoyed the cottage suite with private pool. Staff is very kind & professionnal. We can only regret it lasted only 1 day ...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uncavalierquisurgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    28
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
41
160
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

As in all good hotels, the friendliness of the staff is usually the deciding factor as the facilities are generally equally good in 5 star hotels. I hope that the hotel management appreciate Sam as much as we did. She and the friendly waitress at breakfast made our stay a delight. We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary there and they made the whole experience even more special. My wife and I will never forget returning to our room after dinner and finding it decorated (See example in photo).

The hotel, or at least our room, was a haven of peace unless you don't like the dawn chorus! Let me end by recounting that Sam came to bid us farewell on our final morning despite the fact that it was her day off.An unforgettable 3 days in a very special holiday

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed at Hunters Lodge as part of the Garden Route tour. It was so wonderfully secluded that even our driver/guide hadn't heard of it before. But we were in for a real treat. After a tiring drive we were warmly welcomed by Allen and Sam for whom nothing was too much trouble. Our stay took in Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. My children received Christmas presents and there was a gift for me and my wife too. The accommodation is simply out of this world and caters for your every whim. We felt like royal guests. The grounds are superbly landscaped and looked after and there is even a small chapel in the forest that is great for quiet meditation. I cannot compliment the staff too highly and how can you be disappointed when you know that one of them is named "Happiness." It was such a magical place to relax and enjoy the beauty of the natural world. We were there for far too short a time. It would have been lovely to sit in our own private garden to the rear of our room but there was too much to do and explore. We'd be back tomorrow if it were possible!

Room Tip: If you really like your solitude and peace and quiet go for a room on the periphery of the site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zahavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

The cleanliness and the furniture of the guesthouse was under average (photos available), but the worst thing that needs to be mentioned is that the highway N2 is so close to the cottages, that you hear the noise all day and night (!) long! This isn't a wonderful experience.
Breakfast is average, juice not fresh, assortment average, waiter needed to ask, if pancakes can be made....

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ha_Bae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Having booked we read some of the reviews and continued with some trepidation. We need not have worried. It was all we wanted and more. Nothing was to much trouble for the staff with attentive but never overbearing sevice. We even woke up one morning to find our car being washed after an off road drive got it some what dusty.
Yes the new arrangement for evening dining requires a SHORT walk (you could drive the few hundred metres off public roads) to Zinzis but the dining experience there was very good and the food excellent, if a little limited. It was also the cheapest of the many good restaurants we used on our trip. Great value.
It has been mentioned that as Zinzi's is open to the public dificulty could be found in booking a table. Again we had no problem and the hotel staff asked us to book through them making bookings after breakfast. It worked for us. An onsite lunch menu is also available which extends until 7pm so if wished a light evening meal is available served where you wish, even in your room if required.
The thatched accomodation did have a distintive but not unpleasant smell. Maybe the odour noticed by some was the insect spray used at turndown each night. Which was either unnecessary or very effective.
Would we return again? A big YES.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Luxurious and cozy accommodation with private pool. Beautiful antique furniture, comfortable bed, large bathroom, outside shower, all set in a beautiful garden. The property is enormous and so much to do. Lovely outdoor pool and lounging area. Play garden and splash pool for the kids.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaraLeighLegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

What a wonderful little gem - hidden away with the most welcoming staff.
Everything was perfect from the sunny gardens to the spacious cottage, the fire lighting every evening to the presents for my 2 children on their arrival, the lovely food to the nanny service.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Must stop on the garden route if you need a break from your kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lee_Harrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harkerville
5.8 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
529 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
369 reviews
4.8 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
138 reviews
7.2 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter's Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter's Country House

Property: Hunter's Country House
Address: Off N2 | 10 Km's west of Plettenberg Bay, Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > Harkerville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Harkerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hunter's Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fragrant and colorful, Hunter's luxuriant gardens create an idyllic setting for this opulent retreat in the heart of the Garden Route. Hunter's Country House combines gracious elegance with sheer comfort and impeccable service with warm hospitality. Far from the madding crowd, yet conveniently close to a wide variety of leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hunter's Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter`s Country House Hotel Harkerville
Hunters Country Hotel
Hunter's Country House South Africa/Harkerville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing