We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hunters. Plettenburg Bay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hunter's Country House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Harkerville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed there two years ago. Booked in again December. Lovely hotel. We had one of the garden rooms which had an open fire. Bedroom and bathroom lovely. Within easy reach of Knysna and Plettenburg Bay. The small chapel would be an excellent wedding venue.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normahearsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed for two nights in the Delux Pool Suites. the Suites are spacious, beautifull furnished and the attention to detail is absolute fantastic. The property's gardens are a delight to walk in en to enjoy. The staff are friendly , professional and make you feel at home instantly. They serve a wonderful breakfast and a visit to Zinzi restuarant is a must when staying at Tsala or the Country House.

Room Tip: The Pool Suites have their own private plunge pool,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janloubser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This is the second time we have stayed in this magical hotel and it was even better than the first time! We stayed for 5 nights in one of the Garden Suites. The room was spacious and beautifully furnished with an oh so comfortable bed. Although it was summer each evening we enjoyed a romantic fire! Each day home baked biscuits and cake were left for us to enjoy. We had a private terrace and were surrounded by the stunning gardens. Best of all are the very attentive and caring staff who look after your every need. Nothing is too much trouble. We enjoyed sitting by the lovely pool and in the evening tasted the sumptuous meals in the restaurant. The location is ideal if you want to explore The Garden Route. This hotel achieves perfection and we certainly intend to stay here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouLouBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed for the 3rd time there & we must say that it is each time a greater experience ! We really enjoyed the cottage suite with private pool. Staff is very kind & professionnal. We can only regret it lasted only 1 day ...

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uncavalierquisurgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

As in all good hotels, the friendliness of the staff is usually the deciding factor as the facilities are generally equally good in 5 star hotels. I hope that the hotel management appreciate Sam as much as we did. She and the friendly waitress at breakfast made our stay a delight. We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary there and they made the whole experience even more special. My wife and I will never forget returning to our room after dinner and finding it decorated (See example in photo).

The hotel, or at least our room, was a haven of peace unless you don't like the dawn chorus! Let me end by recounting that Sam came to bid us farewell on our final morning despite the fact that it was her day off.An unforgettable 3 days in a very special holiday

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed at Hunters Lodge as part of the Garden Route tour. It was so wonderfully secluded that even our driver/guide hadn't heard of it before. But we were in for a real treat. After a tiring drive we were warmly welcomed by Allen and Sam for whom nothing was too much trouble. Our stay took in Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. My children received Christmas presents and there was a gift for me and my wife too. The accommodation is simply out of this world and caters for your every whim. We felt like royal guests. The grounds are superbly landscaped and looked after and there is even a small chapel in the forest that is great for quiet meditation. I cannot compliment the staff too highly and how can you be disappointed when you know that one of them is named "Happiness." It was such a magical place to relax and enjoy the beauty of the natural world. We were there for far too short a time. It would have been lovely to sit in our own private garden to the rear of our room but there was too much to do and explore. We'd be back tomorrow if it were possible!

Room Tip: If you really like your solitude and peace and quiet go for a room on the periphery of the site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zahavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

The cleanliness and the furniture of the guesthouse was under average (photos available), but the worst thing that needs to be mentioned is that the highway N2 is so close to the cottages, that you hear the noise all day and night (!) long! This isn't a wonderful experience.
Breakfast is average, juice not fresh, assortment average, waiter needed to ask, if pancakes can be made....

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ha_Bae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harkerville
5.8 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
574 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
867 reviews
5.5 mi away
Grand Africa Rooms
Grand Africa Rooms
#6 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
392 reviews
7.2 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter's Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter's Country House

Address: Off N2 | 10 Km's west of Plettenberg Bay, Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > Harkerville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Harkerville
Price Range: £92 - £501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hunter's Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fragrant and colorful, Hunter's luxuriant gardens create an idyllic setting for this opulent retreat in the heart of the Garden Route. Hunter's Country House combines gracious elegance with sheer comfort and impeccable service with warm hospitality. Far from the madding crowd, yet conveniently close to a wide variety of leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hunter's Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter`s Country House Hotel Harkerville
Hunters Country Hotel
Hunter's Country House South Africa/Harkerville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing