We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old English Elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hunter's Country House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Harkerville
Certificate of Excellence
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old English Elegance”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stunning private thatched villas in an equally stunning setting just off the main N2 Garden Route. Fun to see the monkeys running around the lawn by the pool and it's peaceful here so a great place to relax and get away from it all. The main part of the hotel is like an old English manor house with an interesting array of antiques mixed in with a contemporary feel. Several comfy lounge areas to relax in and we felt very pampered and special here. The staff were so helpful and friendly and they added some extra touches that made it memorable. Once you check in at the main security gate, by the time you've driven down the driveway someone is there to meet you at the door with a cold drink and all your paperwork ready. Don't miss this hidden gem of a hotel - you'll love the private cottages and the stunning surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    27
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
41
159
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drumheller, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here March 31-April 2. Beautiful gardens, very quite and peaceful! Service and attention was exquisite...they really pamper you here! Dining at the Zinzi restaurant was excellent...great variety and reasonable prices too. A real gem of a place!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiser13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

That was our favourite place during our trip in SA - what a gem!!
Beautiful garden that gives you an idea of how much love and attention to detail was put into it. The chalets are just top notch with a free standing bath tub in the bath room and a living area that you hardly want to leave! The staff is more than friendly and has lots of recommendation for restaurants, activities etc. Nothing seems too much for them. The atmosphere is warm and friendly. The design and attention to detail is reflected not only in the chalets or the garden but also in all other areas. We wish we had stayed longer - could even imagine to spend 2 full weeks at this place. We will surely come back again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

service was great! hepled us with everything and very frienldy. invited us to all the dinner partys etc
especially the room service was cute! at night we had little notes etc on our bed! very clean and nice with little huts!
no television but thats a reasion to enjoy the room even more
very expensive though you need to use all of the offers
breakfast was very good!
zinzi restaurant for dinner was defintily the best!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotti h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We have just returned from a 17 day holiday in South Africa and stayed at Hunters for 3 nights as we headed back down the Garden Route towards Cape Town. We received a warm welcome from Sam and just loved the Colonial-style old world charm of the main house which is beautifully furnished. We stayed in suite No.1 which again was very tastefully furnished and welcoming.
Breakfasts were excellent and we had booked in advance to have dinner at Zinzi's restaurant for the 3 nights of our stay. This proved to be the only slight hiccup as we were only booked in for the first night but this was speedily rectified and we had fantastic meals at very reasonable prices. A beautiful restaurant.
The grounds of Hunters are a treat in themselves and we thoroughly recommend a stay here to other travellers.
Should mention that if the wind is in the wrong direction there is some slight road noise from the nearby N2 highway but this did not detract from our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philby101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here in Feb2014 for 2 nights as part of a Garden Route Tour.
Our room was a detached thatched cottage with its own garden whilst set in gorgeous grounds. The cottage had a sitting room area, bedroom and large bathroom, all very stylishly decorated – the whole place had an “English country cottage” feel. The main house was made up of lots of different rooms where you could sit peacefully, read books, or use the free wifi access….or drink the complimentary sherry!
The grounds of the hotel are vast and beautifully maintained so we would recommend walking around. Dinner was served in the restaurant which was in a separate location within the grounds, it was a bit dark walking back but very safe & there are torches provided if you want one. The food served at both breakfast and dinner was very good quality but sometimes the service was a bit slow.
There is a nice size pool with plenty of sun loungers and pool towels as well as other seating areas around the property, our only complaint was that we didn’t have enough time to enjoy it all! We would highly recommend this.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mm29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left (3 days later) the staff and manager, Alan, went out of their way to ensure our honeymoon stay was enjoyable, relaxing and romantic. We had dinner at the Zinzi restaurant (on property) and at the Country House. The meals at both were delicious - from appetizers to main courses to desserts. The grounds and gardens are meticulously kept and provide a calm and beautiful surrounding for anyone to escape to.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Larson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harkerville
0.3 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
5.5 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
7.2 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter's Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter's Country House

Property: Hunter's Country House
Address: Off N2 | 10 Km's west of Plettenberg Bay, Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > Harkerville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Harkerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hunter's Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fragrant and colorful, Hunter's luxuriant gardens create an idyllic setting for this opulent retreat in the heart of the Garden Route. Hunter's Country House combines gracious elegance with sheer comfort and impeccable service with warm hospitality. Far from the madding crowd, yet conveniently close to a wide variety of leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hunter's Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter`s Country House Hotel Harkerville
Hunters Country Hotel
Hunter's Country House South Africa/Harkerville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing