We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveller rating
301
32
5
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
301
32
5
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews country house the cottages log fire garden route honesty bar canopied bed the main house underfloor heating beautiful grounds plettenberg bay homemade cookies family suite thoughtful touches attention to detail complimentary sherry lovely swimming pool sister hotel
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 345 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2017

It is not often that I am completely enthralled by a place that I am privileged to visit in the course of my work as a tour guide. Hunter's has managed to do that to me.
From the moment our tour party was welcomed with drinks to the last goodbyes, it was difficult to find fault. Our group felt welcome, cosseted, at home, spoilt and just so comfortable that it was difficult to leave, Classy and well-equipped rooms, lovely breakfasts in a perfect setting, delectable dinners and staff that really went the extra mile made our stay perfect.

Room tip: Perhaps away from the rear of the kitchen where the staff tend to congregate and can be noisy when they knock off duty.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Garth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

We ended our family road trip with a 3-night Easter stay at Hunters Country House and loved it. The perfect relaxing end to a very busy holiday. Truth be told, we did not leave the property, bar a quick attempt at the beach (which was too full and busy). We headed straight back to the quiet and calm of this beautiful hotel. There was simply no need to leave. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the grounds and gardens exquisitely green, calming and fragrant, the service good and the food delicious. We spent a full afternoon 'crafting' in the Cubs Corner with the youngests, spent more than one morning next to the pool and lots of time reading, relaxing, playing backgammon, swimming and eating. The homemade cookies and pastries are particularly scrumptious. Thank you so much to the Hunters Hotel Family for taking such good care of us and for ending our holiday on such a high note.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison_J_Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

I’ve stayed in a fair few different “starred” hotels in various locations around the world, and the majority of those hotels (depending on the star) offer – for the most part - the bare minimum to maintain that particular star rating. The onus is on profit, on maximising what they are taking vs the amount of expense and time they in turn are spending on their guest. Every now and again, though, you stay in a place that goes above and beyond the norm. And Hunters Country House is certainly one such place. Okay, so it’s a smaller hotel so it can afford to do what some of the larger hotel chains can’t, but that’s why we loved Hunters so much. From the warm and personal welcome from one of the managers Jaques when we arrived, to the walk around the grounds. The spacious rooms, kitted out with drinks, (free) cookies for the kids and the adults, and the high standard of how the rooms were decorated. It’s also the level of detail. Everyone here was friendly and wanted to go out of their way to help. There was never a moment when we had to go and look for a member of staff – they were always on hand. The restaurants in the grounds are fantastic, from the night we had a Zinzi, to the private room we enjoyed at Hunters itself, one of the most lovely and intimate family meals I think we’ve had, helped by the immensely friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble. And it’s also the little touches here and there that make Hunters really special – the fact that you can ask for a fire in your room whilst at dinner and have it roaring away by the time you get back. Little bed time treats left out at night for ourselves and our kids, with a poem or short story left on the beds for both the young’uns and the adults (part of the turn down service). And finally! Having left and realised that we’d left some small souvenirs in the hotel, they offered to drive it to the offices of our tour drivers in Port Elizabeth (2 hour’s drive) so we could pick it up on our way back from Addo to the airport. It was an amazing stay and thankyou to Hunters for making it so….we wish we could have stayed longer and we’ll definitely be back in the future!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eztigrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie H, General Manager at Hunter's Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

It is always so special for us when we recieve reviews likes yours! It makes our hearts happy when our guests are happy! So thank you for the genrous words and we hope to see you again at Hunter's, until then happy travelling!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

Me and my 8year old son just returned from a wonderful stay at Hunter's Country House. The place is sophisticated but also very family friendly.

Having stayed at their sister property, Tsala Treetop Lodge before.. I wasnt sure what to expect, as Tsala is outstanding, but at the same time, Hunter's Country Lodge way more affordable..

I was blown away.

From booking procedures, to check in,
To the beauty of the property, room decor and not the least- the service - was outstanding.

It was my son's birthday, and The kitchen made him a special cake. The little notes and poems at turn-down were such a nice touch , and what a pleasure to find fresh milk in the fridge for
Coffee (pure ground plunger coffee!) and tea.
We stayed in a Cellar room which is not massive, but more than adequate for 2 people and include a pretty patio with chairs.
The Charlotte Rhys toiletries in the bathroom are splendid. The mirror in the bathroom is very special!

The restaurant staff were so friendly and efficient at dinner and breakfast service and - also - the kind gentleman that was at pool service on Wednesday. A special
Thanks to Cindy and Bianca.

Us as locals also like to visit the gems of South Africa, and as Tsala, this is surely a very very special place along the Garden Route.

Thanks for making our stay a memorable one. We will be back!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank KVH2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie H, General Manager at Hunter's Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear Karen
Thank you so much for the fantatsic review. It always makes us so happy when our guests are happy! We look forward to spoiling you when you are next this way! The Hunter's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Beautiful country house hotel. Attention to the details - not only would we have no hesitation recommending, we would love to return. Even had a visit from a raft of monkeys, having left out one of the delightful homemade cookies. Breakfast, great choice and service, excellent cooked items. Lovely grounds and had a cooling dip in the lovely ( but chilly pool). Did not dine at the hotel itself- but did at both of the other restaurants in the grounds (Zinzi - excellent - dont miss!) and the dinning room of Tsala (beautiful room and service,- but fine dinning/over designed? small portions and expensive) - just not our sort of place.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrightcutOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie H, General Manager at Hunter's Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thank you for the wonderful feedback, we are always so happy when we get reviews like this from our guests! We hope to see you again at Hunter's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews