We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hunter's Country House
Nearby Hotels
Tsala Treetop Lodge(Harkerville)
US$925
US$866
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Sky Villa Boutique Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
US$124
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Africa Rooms(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bayview Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Robberg Beach Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lodge On The Bay(Plettenberg Bay)
US$323
US$312
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plettenberg Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
US$357
US$335
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beacon Island Resort(Plettenberg Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falcon Hill(Knysna)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveller rating
269
32
4
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
32
4
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthatched cottagecountry housegarden routelog fireunderfloor heatingthe main houseprivate gardencanopied bedhonesty barbeautiful groundsbeautiful antique furniturefamily suitethoughtful touchesplettenberg baylovely swimming poolbath and showertour group
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 312 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Have just returned to UK having had 4 very memorable weeks in SA. Quality of most accommodation very goood but Hunters exceptional. Agree entirely with previous two reviews. We also stayed in the thatched cottage (12) Pennygum, for 2 nights. Log fire, hot water bottles etc. Brilliant. You can spend most of a day just wandering around the grounds and bird watching. Yes there really are lots of Knysna Loeries and many many more. Personalised menus, michelin food and genuine, friendly but highly professional staff that few hotels come close to matching. Yes I believe that ALL the staff really do care. Well done the Hunter team and management. And they even wash your car on departure.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROKNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We really cannot fault Hunters in any way. It is quite simply beautiful and a wonderful place to relax and be pampered. The room far exceeded our expectations (large, yet cosy at the same time) with a terrace and patio to ourselves. What stood out above all else however (and that is saying something as everything was excellent) was the service - all the staff went out of their way to help you without being obtrusive or false, and you got the impression that they were genuinely pleased and proud to make your stay a great one. The restaurant also deserves a mention - Michelin standard cooking in a beautiful environment.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slee84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Now this place is really special. We had excellent accommodation throughout our travels in South Africa but Hunter's stood out. We had a fantastic thatched cottage called “Pennygum”. Really comfy bed and a nice big bathroom. The meals at both the main restaurant and Zinzi were excellent and all the staff are genuinely attentive to all your needs. It was still off season when we stayed in early September so the hotel was rather quiet in the evening. Even with a drink or two in the lounge after your meal, 10.30pm is about as late as it gets here, so it’s back to your cottage where if it’s cold in the evening the staff will have lit the log fire in your room for your return and put hot water bottles in the bed at turn down service. Breakfast was a real treat each morning with plenty of cold food to start off with with before they cook your breakfast to order. This is a really lovely hotel set in amazing grounds and we would not hesitate to come back if we ever did the Garden Route again. Very highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davebrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Fantastic place, great food and wine and sensational service. The grounds and accomodation were superb!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigeSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

What a fabulous place this is. It isn't just a 'hotel', the main building is so comfortable but is also very elegant, the rooms are in thatched cottages, each with their own private outdoor area, the grounds are beautiful, the staff are all very welcoming and everything has been thought of.

From the moment you arrive you are treated incredibly well, there are welcome drinks, a full guided tour and your bags are delivered to your room.

We had a 'double cottage' - The adult side called The Oaktree and the children's side called Acorns. You entered a small foyer with umbrellas and then turned left into a twin bedded room with a TV and it's own bathroom and shower. If you turn right at the entrance you enter the parents' room with big sofa, fireplace (which was lit in the cool evening) desks, huge canopied bed and a bathroom with a bath and shower ( and very welcome electric fire on the wall).

The pool loooked very welcoming - but it was the middle of winter so we didn't use it. There was a table tennis table, there were board games in the Boma and the main house had a library that guests are welcome to use (and fall asleep in). We played scrabble in front of the fire in the main lounge after dinner.

The conservatory was beautiful and the wonderful breakfasts were served in there.

If you go then you must walk around the grounds / gardens. You could happily spend your whole holiday here, but there's also loads to do in the area. Infact I could happily return and spend 2 weeks here, the 2 nights we had were no where near enough!

As we were the only guests eating here on the first night we were given the 'private dining room', all silver, crystal, candles and a roaring fire - we were treated like royalty and didn't feel uncomfortable as the staff are so lovely.

We saw several of the knysna louries, which even sat in the tree outside the conservatory at breakfast.

We also ate at Zinzi and food at both restaurants was great value. Take a look at their website - it really is just like the photos!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilovemypets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews