We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a skip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harkerville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Id heard lovely things about the famous treetop hotel near Plett, and for the price I rightfully expected top-end. Instead what I found was a throwback to the early 90s with dated accommodation, poor attention to detail, (indoor fireplace had ash and half burnt wood from prev guests, pool deck needs varnishing), boring breakfast and a shift manager who could desperately use training on 5 star etiquette. He meant well I guess but it was painful. The bathroom was lovely, for the rest is suggest a review of 5-star-status and price reduction.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ianbredenkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HunterHotels1989, General Manager at Tsala Treetop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Ian

Thank you for your valued feedback. We are disappointed to hear that you had a less than perfect stay with us. We sincerely apologise for this, especially since we pride ourselves in our service and attention to detail.

Thank you once again for your comments.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

What can I say.. 5 star experience definitely. When we first arrived, greeted warmly by security. Got to reception and found staff William already waiting to receive us. Got offered tea and cookies and recommendations on where to go, what to do. Brought to our rooms and William gave thorough details on the facilities, very helpful! At night, we had dinner at their restaurant, Zinzi. It was THE BEST MEAL I HAD IN SA. And for 4 ppl, it was just over 400rand!!!!! Definitely value for money and very very very delicious. Was surprised the green curry I ordered turned out so so authentic!!!!! Returned to our hotel room after and found the room superbly warm! Fireplace was set up, we had nougats in our room and HOT WATER BOTTLES HIDDEN IN OUR BLANKET!it was such blessing to hug that to sleep in the cold! Awesome view, awesome service, awesome staff, awesome food. Nothing is bad abt this place and definitely worth to go back again!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We spent 2 weeks touring Cape Town and the Garden Route for our honeymoon and Tsala Treetop Lodge was simply the best place we stayed in. It is probably three times the price you would pay for a decent B&B on the Garden Route but it was worth every penny. Any trip wouldn’t be complete without a stay here!

It was also one of the few hotels that made really special arrangements for us because we are on honeymoon.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank baothefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Tsala is one of the most beautiful, exotic and romantic places we've ever stayed. We particularly enjoyed having an outside shower (as well as one inside), the cold plunge, a fireplace and the downturn service that includes hot water bottles. The hotel restaurant, Zinzi, is excellent, and the hotel breakfast great.

Room Tip: Each villa is separated from each other and faces into the forest. They all seem wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happy_midwesterners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

My friends and I hadn't intended to stay at Tsala but by a strange twist of fate our original accommodation booking fell through and we were literally stranded when we arrived at Plettenberg Bay in the evening with no place to stay. Imagine our serendipitous fortune to have dined at the wonderful restaurant The Fat Fish where the manager referred us to the owner of Tsala whom subsequently hearing our plight gave us a great deal for the night. The stay at Tsala blew our minds with the unobstructed views of the tree tops, it's architecture and the breakfast spread. The rooms were luxuriously decked out with massive bathrooms. Truly grateful for the hospitality and kindness shown by the owner and the wonderful establishment he has created!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ronald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed in one of the villas for 4 nights in May 2014. The Tsala treetop location is an incredible property set on a cliff edge overlooking dense forest. The rooms have large windows overlooking the entire forest as well as outdoor showers. We did not see any monkeys during our stay but the forest is alive with the sound of birds. The staff was extremely caring and friendly. The rooms are spacious and well planned, with large wardrobes, changing areas and double sinks. Definitely a must do if you are visiting the Knysna/Pletternberg area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samir C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Tsala was recommended to us by our travel agent because due to some confusion with dates our first choice wasn't available. But we were very pleased with Tsala.

We were coming in from Mala Mala and therefore arrived pretty late (9:30pm) the day we checked in. But the manager on duty (Danielwas very welcoming and helpful. He said he had already made a reservation for us for dinner the next night at the restaurant on their property, Zinzi, since it was a weekend and tables there are hard to come by. When we told him we hadn't had dinner yet, he took our order (he was also aware of our dietary restrictions) and had it delivered to our room. Even the next morning the manager on duty (Craig) was very helpful with helping us plan our day around Plett and the Crags.

The food was simply amazing (dinner in the room, breakfast and the food at Zinzi)!

The rooms were spacious and very luxurious. They come with plunge pool (it was too cold to use), a fireplace, heated floors by the bed, a really spacious bathroom with an outdoor shower and beautiful forest views. You truly feel you are in the middle of nowhere.

The location is far away from most things and having a car is a must to get anywhere. We had rented a car, so this was not an issue for us. But it is definitely not the kind of place where you can just step out and find tons of things. So I wouldn't recommend Tsala to anyone who doesn't have a car.

We are sad that we didn't get to spend as much time as we would have liked in the hotel cause we were there only for two nights and Knysna and the Plettenberg Bay area also have a lot to do and see!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Umehani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harkerville
6.1 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
267 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
842 reviews
6.2 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
963 reviews
14.7 mi away
Kurland Hotel
Kurland Hotel
#7 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsala Treetop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsala Treetop Lodge

Address: PO Box 454, Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > Harkerville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harkerville
Price Range: £414 - £701 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tsala Treetop Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst the treetops of an age-old indigenous forest, Tsala is a lavish celebration of the spirit of Africa. Irresistible to those who appreciate exclusivity, fine fare, romance and adventure. With beautiful private suites and villas, breathtaking views and forest seclusion, unique architectural design and excellent personal service, it is a fantastic get-away destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Tsala Treetop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsala Treetop Hotel Harkerville
Tsala Treetop Plettenberg Bay
Tsala Treetop Lodge South Africa/Harkerville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing