We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A highlight of our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lairds Lodge Country Estate
Ranked #1 of 3 Harkerville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A highlight of our trip”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This was a return trip to Laird's Lodge, we had stayed there a few years ago. We were delighted to hear that our room was to be upgraded in recognition of our loyalty, lovely touch! The welcome was wonderful, with glass of sparkling wine and lunch in the courtyard, and we enjoyed the chef's demo before dinner on our first evening. The rooms are beautiful, the pool area is lovely, and the other rooms are perfect for drinks and relaxation. Dining here is a great experience, in the evenings and at breakfast. The big shared dining table is a wonderful place for sharing travel experiences and meeting people, we had two lovely evenings. Noted in other reviews that requests to make decisions about dining, etc and accepting one choice of menu could be perceived as overbearing or pressured, and staff might take note of that, but really it's a minor niggle in the whole review. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, would wholeheartedly recommend, and we look forward to staying again on our next trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocketrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    74
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
79
402
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
quijano, spain
Level Contributor
115 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

It took us 1 hour to get to our room - another (large) party arrived at the same time. No problem, we sat on the terrace area for an hour, I then started to search for staff to take us to our room,,,,found one, we were not shown around the area or explained anything about room (more on that later.).

This first night, and all following, we were slightly pressured into deciding whether we wanted dinner at hotel.First night,we accepted. Food was very good. Other nights/evenings we had to leave via the back door!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quijano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Fantastic experience from start to finish. When arrived on first of four nights looked at menu and thought might have made a mistake as the menu was 'not us' but decided to try it and how wrong we were.
Every meal was a total joy and when on our last day we didn't 'fancy' the menu they gave us a range of alternatives and we were delighted with the alternative. Breakfast was also impressive and nothing was too much trouble.
Each day the desk team helped us chose how to spend our day and were spot on with their recommendations. They organised a fantastic days golf and we cannot fault any individual member of the team.
Another nice touch was different members of the owning family popping in and introducing themselves and checking guests were happy.
The rooms and particularly the beds were really comfortable and individual, no TV but that somehow just added to the experience.
This is a very individual experience and one we would definitely wish to repeat in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigAlRaider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

It is difficult to to underestimate the quality of the accommodation, the food, welcome and service from the staff at The Laird's Lodge; beautiful setting, extremely comfortable rooms and superb food. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff no matter what request was made. The set menu on offer each day by the executive chef added an element of surprise and expectation each evening at dinner. Unless one descends into petty critique highlighting trivia, it is hard to find fault with this establishment. We can recommend Laird's Lodge without reservation should you be travelling the Garden Route in South Africa.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nabeel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We had the pleasure of dining in their restaurant for the second year running. We arrived at 7 pm and was given a welcoming glass of sparkling wine. At 7.30 we had some wine tasting before sitting down for dinner at 8pm. We can only describe the dinning experience as amazing. The food is delicious and beautifully presented. You can order 2, 3 or 4 courses. We have been coming to South Africa for many years and have dined in some wonderful restaurants and we would not rank this amongst the best, we would rate it the best.
The only drawback is they do not normally allow non residents to dine at the hotel,
but we would say it is worth a stay just for the dining experience.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank raymond65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We arrived late afternoon for a two-night stay, to be greeted by two burly staff of a surly and even threatening air. They eventually opined without enthusiasm that we would like them to take our cases. They led us through the grounds to the end of three suites in a bungalow terrace and showed us into a spacious but dark, heavily furnished and curtained room. Had we stumbled on Miss Haversham's holiday home? A tip seemed to be expected - too bad. We went for a welcome drink (later added to our bill, unique on this holiday) and were dive-bombed by mosquitoes. We decided to risk dinner in the heavily furnished, cramped, gloomy hunting lodge style house. It looked like some of the cushions had not been moved for years. Dinner was a set menu, no choice except for two, three, or four courses. The wine list had no vintage info but the prices varied enormously, so impossible to judge (in fact we later had the same problem at Shamwari - maybe we were spoiled in Cape Town). However, the food was good and the waiters here were more relaxed, helpful and pleasant. However, they had obviously not been to waiters' finishing school - either served and deserted, or watched from afar until you put the fork down. Next morning, the day staff were very friendly and helpful, suggesting a seafront restaurant for dinner. After dinner, we went to the house for a glass of port, which went down well, and coffee. We were not offered more. On our second coffee, we became aware of doors being slammed around us - they were locking up at about 945. It seemed the other guests had been sent to bed. We went too. So what is a hunting lodge furnished and run like a 1950s English seaside boarding house doing here?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil_kirkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliMur, Owner at Lairds Lodge Country Estate, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Our co- ordinator, Pinky summed it up perfectly in a staff meeting " Guys don't get demotivated after a review like this ..it just makes us stronger..remember the hundreds of happy guests we have had through our doors..we can't win them all " We can't agree more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
397 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Lairds Lodge is an outstanding place to stay. The very well designed interior, with a variety of sitting areas to suit all occasions, the level of service, the comfort of the rooms and the surrounding grounds make for a lovely experience. The dining room is a delight and the food and wine choices, wonderful. Sharing a large dining table with other guests might not suit everyone, but for us it provided a very convivial atmosphere and enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harkerville
3.9 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
3.2 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aquavit Guest House
Aquavit Guest House
#1 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lairds Lodge Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lairds Lodge Country Estate

Property: Lairds Lodge Country Estate
Address: N2 National Road | 8kms from Plettenberg Bay, Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > Harkerville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Harkerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lairds Lodge Country Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The gracious Cape Dutch homestead offers distant mountain views, wide open spaces, a secluded pool and gentle walks on the 24-acre estate. The individually decorated rooms convey a feeling of tranquil elegance and include neutral colors, percale linen and specialized toiletries. Perfectly positioned to explore the Garden Route, from the Wilderness to the Tsitsikamma forests. Superb breakfasts and convivial gourmet dinners, specializing in seafood and game dishes, are served in the Colonial dining room or cozy wine room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lairds Lodge Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lairds Lodge Country Estate Hotel Harkerville
Lairds Lodge Country Estate South Africa/Harkerville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing