We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely welcome and superb food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant de l'Ecole
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pontlevoy
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely welcome and superb food”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We recently spent 4 nights in this delightful hotel. Agnes and David were extremely welcoming and made sure we were comfortable. Our room was spacious and overlooked the garden. Sadly, the weather didn't permit us to use the garden. The food was some of the best we have had in France. The hotel is well located for access to some of the best chateaux in the Loire. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dartmoorbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    34
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
68
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This is one of the best hotels that we have found in the Loire. We discovered it through Logis de France. The décor and room are exceptional. The meal was superb. The owners are fantastic, with every attention to detail.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We recently had the pleasure of spending a night and having dinner at the charming L'Ecole in Pontlevoy.
The hosts were very service minded, the wroom small, but charming. Because it was a very hot niught we really missed the air condition.
Dinner was superb and the service in the garden where we had our dinner was superb.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellor022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We arrived in Pontlevoy after a 15 mile walk from Chenenceau along the Cher river and through Montrichard. We were carrying rucksacks and it was a beautiful day and very hot for April.
We were welcomed by the helpful receptionist and shown to our lovely room where the first thing we did was had a shower.
The room was lovely, spacious, well furnished and clean.
We needed a beer but the €6.50 for half a Heineken was a bit off putting. Therefore we did the 2 minute walk into the lovely town and found a bar.
This is the place to stay to spoil yourself.
The breakfast was excellent and although it cost more than other places we stayed, it was better quality and worth the difference

Room Tip: We overlooked the road and this was fine. It is a quiet town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Redandy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crosswell
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

From the minute we entered the hotel we just knew this place was for us. The reception was warm and welcoming. The food was delicious and the service in the was excellent and having our meals out in the sunshine just added to the pleasure. The Hotel is closed on a Sunday but the owners were happy booked us a taxi and a table at a restaurant in Montrichard. We enjoyed it so much that we made a booking for 2013 there and then.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken-dl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Only 27k from Blois, this is everything that one hopes to find in a good, bourgeois French hotel - but often doesn't. An attractive old coaching inn, renovated without losing too much of its original character; comfortable, if smallish, bedrooms; excellent food; reasonable prices; and a slightly formidable but highly efficient and helpful Madame who keeps the whole show running smoothly.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruxton_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We didn't book this hotel until the last minute, through booking.com, and paid 80 euros a night, which is more than we would normally pay, but we felt it was well worth it. We did request a large room and ours was large and beautiful - it had two double beds and a decent sized bathroom with bath and shower. The beds were very comfortable and the duvets and linen top quality, plus there was a large wardrobe so we could unpack completely for once. We didn't eat at the restaurant at all - it was expensive but looked absolutely beautiful. It's a quiet little village, but close enough to all the main attractions and chateaux, so it's fine. We had lunch the first day at Le Commerce nearby and that was excellent. At the hotel there is a lovely courtyard and garden area at the back, where you can also dine, and there is free WiFi throughout the hotel. Car parking is free but limited, and there are plenty of spaces in neighbouring streets. Very nice hotel and we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We only saw the room we were in, which was Room 7 on the first floor facing the front - had 2 double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontlevoy
10.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Saint Aignan
Grand Hotel Saint Aignan
#3 of 3 in Saint-Aignan
202 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Bellevue
Hotel Restaurant Le Bellevue
#3 of 4 in Montrichard
167 reviews
11.1 mi away
Ibis Amboise
Ibis Amboise
#18 of 25 in Amboise
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Clair Cottage
Clair Cottage
#1 of 1 in Chisseaux
105 reviews
7.3 mi away
Auberge de la Caillere
Auberge de la Caillere
#1 of 1 in Cande-sur-Beuvron
264 reviews
21.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Relais Du Moulin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant de l'Ecole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant de l'Ecole

Property: Hotel Restaurant de l'Ecole
Address: 12 route de Montrichard, 41400 Pontlevoy, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loir-et-Cher > Pontlevoy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pontlevoy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Restaurant de l'Ecole 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Restaurant de l'Ecole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing