We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Julia & Alain inconditionnellement superior"”
Review of Lyzen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lyzen
Ranked #1 of 6 Pontlevoy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“"Julia & Alain inconditionnellement superior"”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Great stay at Lyzen from the 7 may to 16 may. The location is perfect to visit the loire valley. As they say in real estate location location, it's in the triangle d'or. Orleans, Tours, Bourges, castles and more castles. Authentic beautiful house built with local tuffeau stones, the rooms are decorated with great test, spacious, romantic and spotless. After a long day sites seeing you can rest in the garden under the shad of the trees in the confortable long chairs. What's made our stay special was the hospitality that we received from Lydie, warm, gracious, she is infectious with her positive nature. Lyzen B&B is real value for money. If we have the opportunity to go back to the loire valley we will definitely stay there again. Alain & Julia

Room Tip: Lyzen room was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydie C, Propriétaire at Lyzen, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Google Translation
Coucou vous deux. J'espère que votre retour en Australie c'est bien passé. Votre rosier Allia croit et embellit à l'image du plaisir que nous avons eu à vous recevoir.
A tout bientôt. Lydie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    21
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
40
228
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed for only one night this last august but Lidie was so nice and we were so confortable that I wish I come back soon. The house is very beautiful, the room cosy and the towels smelt very clean. Lidie helped us to find and see channonceaux chateau and we went to dinner to "la villa" as she recommended us (a very good restaurant).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVID S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2013

It was delightful meeting Lydie, owner and hostess, she was friendly, informative and provided all the amenities for making our stay comfortable. Her place is small, quaint and very clean, just what we were looking for in this beautiful area of France. Lydie recommended a restaurant just within walking distance from her B&B, and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening and meal. A real first class experience all around. Thank you Lydie!

Room Tip: I preferred the cottage to the suite on the upper floor of the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bribie Island, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Lydie and her son were perfect hosts. She made sure we had an incredible stay. The room was beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and she has thought of everything. The cottage is separate from the house in a delightful garden. Breakfast was in the main house and we ate the most delicious food. We recommend staying more than one night and exploring the many castles that are very close by. There is so much to see in this location and staying in a small village with a fantastic restaurant in the same street was fabulous so you could just walk out for dinner. We highly recommend staying here and Lydie was so helpful with trying to change our rental car details and making a restaurant reservation for us as we arrived quite late. We went to a small castle 8kms away and had the entire place to ourselves. Amboise and Chateau Chenonceau are just down the road.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bronvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Lydie and her boys, Florian and Tristan, were great hosts and their home was beautiful! We spent 2 nights there and had a fantastic time! Lydie recommended the restaurant at the end of the street for dinner the first night and it was so good my wife and I ate there again the second night. We would strongly recommend this property to our friends and we'll definitely stay there again if we're ever back in the Loire Valley.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We were there for two nights and stayed in the house behind the Lydie's main house. It is adorable. We had two friends stay with us in the loft for the first night and stayed alone the second night. We loved Lydie, her hospitality, and her breakfast. She even went so far as to introduce us to some expats in the community who were from the area close to us. We would stay there again and again and again if we ever get back to the area.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jhk1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Lyzen is a charming B@ B. It is centrally situated for visiting the Loire chateaux so makes a good base however Pontlevoy is tiny and there isn't really anything to do there.
We stayed in the little house and the décor was beautiful. Unfortunately it was smaller than we expected and it was a bit crowded for 4 people however for two people it would be absolutely perfect.It was spotlessly clean and Lydie is a friendly hostess who goes out of her way to please.
The breakfast was wonderful with homemade cake, jam and croissants etc. We dined at the local restaurant which was very good too and because we were guests of Lyzen we were given free aperitifs.
Lyzen is perfect for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontlevoy
9.6 mi away
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
#1 of 5 in Chenonceaux
849 reviews
9.7 mi away
Domaine des Hauts de Loire
12.5 mi away
Relais des Trois Chateaux Hotel
Relais des Trois Chateaux Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cour-Cheverny
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
606 reviews
11.4 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant de l'Ecole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyzen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyzen

Property: Lyzen
Address: 7 Rue du Billeux, 41400 Pontlevoy, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loir-et-Cher > Pontlevoy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Pontlevoy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast with private Jacuzzi in the heart of the chateaux of the Loire Valley including the most prestigious Chambord, Chenonceau, Amboise and Blois and close to the Zoopark de Beauval. 3 charming rooms: -The Zen Suite with a living room with fireplace, a spa with 2/3 seater Jacuzzi and mezzanine, a large round bed head in the stars -The romantic Volti suite with private and private bathroom featuring a 2-seater extended jacuzzi. -The Well-being room for couples and its large jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lyzen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing