We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for budget long stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motta Residence Hotel
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good for budget long stay”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Finding the Hotel is quiet simple once you have found the way to Motta S.Anastasia. The entrance is a bit not clear, as you arrive to a block of apartments on a road with closed gates. Once you ring the bell and you meet the staff all changes: they are very welcome and helpful. The residence has a small garage that if gets full, you have to park your car outside. The apartments are very large and spacious, we were two adults and 2 children and we were fine. The furnitures are minimal and budget, not of a high quality, but good enough. The residence offers the breakfast, simple but with coffee. cappuccino, brioches, cereals, juices, pastries and other few things. The location is a bit out of Catania main shopping centers, if this is your goal there are better locations. But if you have to visit Sigonella and other places around, it is central and easy to reach all directions. Last, there is nothing near the residence at walking distance, you need a car.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    28
    16
    2
    8
See reviews for
33
6
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
113 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I found the staff to be very nice and helpful...everything from showing me where to park my car to helping me order a pizza. The rooms were very clean and I slept soundly during my 3 nights here. My only complaint was the WIFI...it kept going in and out...spotty service at best which is typical in most of Italy.

You are a short 20 minute drive to the airport and about 15 minutes from the Naval Base on a very direct route. There are a number of nice little restaurants within both driving and/or walking distance. I liked the fact this hotel was not in the city and it was very quiet and peaceful...which allowed for nice quiet time to either sleep or work.

There was a nice breakfast in the morning, but you need to get down early or it is picked over very fast. GREAT to have the washer/dryer (free.) One really strange thing was there was no soap in the shower...just shampoo...so don't forget to bring your own bar.

I'd recommend the Motta and I will be back on my next trip to the area.

Room Tip: If you have a problem with walking stairs, do not go to to the top floor as the elevator only will g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Backstreets1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

Motta Residence is a fairly typical small Italian hotel. Rooms are quite spacious- apartments actually; bathrooms, small but functional. The neighborhood is residential, so it is a quiet area. Beds are typical European- hard. We just got back from a week of work at Sigonella and found this a great alternative to the Sig Inn.

Amenities were fine. Breakfast was the typical Italian breakfast consisting of lots of sugar! But, ok to start the day. The wi-fi capabilities were found to be quite satisfactory, both in-room and in the lobby. There was no charge for the wi-fi. One minor thing- bring your own bar of soap. Laundry facilities are free to use- a plus if you are staying for more than a few days. Although it was too cold to use during our stay, they have a grill for guest use out on the patio.

The absolute best facet of the Motta Residence Hotel is the front desk staff! They could not have been more helpful. Whether it was making a dinner reservation, ordering a pizza for delivery, or providing directions to local destinations, they were always willing to take time to assist us. Their English was quite good and we even learned a little Italian!

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank gtmom_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mykolayiv, Ukraine
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I am ukrainian tourist and have travelled to Sicily with my family. I chose this hotel because of its strategical place. Motta s. Anastasia is close to Catania, to the airport Fontanarossa, mount Etna.
The hotel had apartements( so convenient for a tourist), the rooms were big. There were tv lcd, air condition , bathroom in the room/. The staff was so friendly and speaking good english and russian!!!
Я советую ЭТУ гостиницу всем туристам!!!Вы оцените по достоинству готсеприимность на Сицилии!!!

Room Tip: Family room is big
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andriy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motta Sant'Anastasia, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The Motta Residence Hotel is a wonderful hotel. It is probably one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at, for several reasons. First of which is that the hotel staff is amazingly friendly. They have gone so far as to help me learn Italian. The staff is always there when you need advice on places to eat or sites to see around Sicily. They have recommended several places in town and all of the places they recommended were great. Many of the staff members speak english which is a major plus, since not a lot of people in this small town speak english. The cleaning staff was great too, they came everyday to replace my towels and make the bed.

There has been a few minor problems throughout my stay, but they were brought up to the staff and the owner. The problems were fixed either that day or the next day. The owner of the hotel is a great man and is there everyday in the morning reading the paper and drinking a caffe. So if there are any issues you can bring them up to him personally. Other than the minor issues with the the internet and a couple burnt out lights, my room was great. The bed was great, I was always able to wake up well rested. The kitchenette was decently stocked, I had a juicer, a couple pots and pans and enough plates to serve a small family. The hotel also provides SKY which is similar to DirecTV in America. This was also a very nice amenity, since most of the programs on regular TV are in Italian. SKY offers an option where you can change the programs language to English. The took also had a balcony which overlooked the town of Motta Sant'Anastasia and Mt. Etna give you a beautiful view. The hotel's location was great because you are close to Catania and the airport but you're away from the traffic and loudness of the city.

My business trip to Sicily lasted just about 3 months and I stayed at this hotel for the entire duration of the trip. I know that one of the reasons my trip to Sicily was so wonderful, is because the staff made the hotel feel like home.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McKinleyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

I chose this hotel because it was close to Catania and the airport yet out of town. It really is since it's located in a nondescript neighbourhood. This is in fact a residence hotel so the room was actually an apartment. But the bed was awful, the shower stall door fell on me on the second day (and some parts of it could have used a good cleaning), the breakfast was subpar. For dinner I was directed to restaurants where I was supposed to get rebates -which never materialized since the waiters claimed they had never even heard about the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jifisama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motta Sant'Anastasia
Valle Degli Ulivi
#3 of 3 in Motta Sant'Anastasia
54 reviews
Hotel Il Conte dell'Etna
#2 of 2 in Belpasso
45 reviews
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 50 in Catania
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 50 in Catania
1,605 reviews
Hotel Paradise
#1 of 1 in Santa Maria di Licodia
108 reviews
Grand Hotel Villa Itria
#1 of 1 in Viagrande
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motta Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motta Residence Hotel

Property: Motta Residence Hotel
Address: Via Ruggero II 14, 95040, Motta Sant'Anastasia, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Motta Sant'Anastasia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Motta Sant'Anastasia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Motta Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motta Residence Hotel,strategically situated at a short distance from the Airport Fontanarossa, Sigonella Base and shopping centers, offers guests an excellent multilingual staff and hotel service, for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Motta Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motta Residence Hotel Sicily, Italy - Province Of Catania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing