We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great beer, great hosts!”
Review of Cowpers Oak

Cowpers Oak
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Olney, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great beer, great hosts!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Having undertaken intensive "market research" of the public houses of Olney and the surrounding villages, The Cowpers Oak comes out with top marks. The beer is well kept with a constantly changing guest beer alongside some of the usual suspects (Hopping Mad, Pedigree, Doom Bar, Wherry etc.). The food is excellent (the Scotch Egg is legendary) with an ever-changing menu and daily specials. Tim, Holly and their staff have done wonders with The Cowpers Oak and they should be congratulated for running a proper British pub which draws complements from all who visit. Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    61
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Finally a good local pub for North Bucks”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We went here on a Monday night to celebrate a family event and were pleasantly surprised to see the place lively, eat good food and receive a warm welcome. Little did we know that Monday nights are quiz nights and so next time we are coming with a team. All the age groups enjoyed the evening. Very little to criticise except sad peas (rather dry and badly cooked) with fish and chips and pre dressed salad when I think most people like to do their own. Little things over a good experience. Refreshingly different from many pubs in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely little village and pub”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

On visiting the area, we strayed into Weston Underwood and discovered Cowpers Oak public house. What a find. Real pub atmosphere, no sport tv, no fruit machines. Just a few benches, tables and open fires - there is a main restaurant eating area that looked lovely, but we stayed in the bar area. They served Real Ale and a nice snack menu. A bit expensive we thought, but when ordering side orders of chiips, we were told that the portions are large, so one would do the two of us. What honesty. When our food arrived, beautifully presented, they weren't wrong about the portion size. We had a ciabbatta each, served with a chopped crunchy salad and home made chutney. With the chips as a side, there was more than enough for the two of us.

Run by a young couple who worked really well together doing everything, tending bar, taking food orders, tending the fires etc. Hope to visit again before too long.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank biggurl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, fine selection of beers and always a warm welcome. An English country pub at its finest.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We live in Olney and often walk over for lunch/drinks. Cosy inside on a cold/ rainy day and plenty of outside space for when it's sunny. We look forward to returning for quiz night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great beer, food, company, location and host = Great Pub”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I've visited here many times and feel I ought to sum up why I keep returning. The pub is situated in a quiet village with easy parking either on the road or in its own car park. A very pretty pub (almost) opposite the village green with a rambling wisteria and outside seating to the front and rear.
Tim & Holly have developed the pub to be a hub of this and other local villages. Inside the pub is tastefully decorated, with a choice of pub tables, a sofa, dining tables and bar to sit at.

A good selection of beers, wines and spirits to choose from and an interesting menu with traditional pub food and the occasional odd surprise. The service is very personal and avoids the I've-got-to-ask-if-everything-is-alright-with-your-food-even-though-I-dont-care that is prevalent in many places. My personal favourite is the burger served on a ciabatta with bacon and cheddar topping a side of chips and salad. Tim even supplies burger relish - see the photo!

I've been here on evenings, lunchtimes, weekends and the welcome is always warm and friendly from staff and other customers alike.

During winter months the pub has two log fires to settle by as well as a selection of board games and a library!

Top marks!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ive_been_places2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cowpers Oak also viewed

Olney, Buckinghamshire
Olney, Buckinghamshire
 
Chicheley, Newport Pagnell
 

Been to Cowpers Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing