We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Family Getaway”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Paciano, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rachel D
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Perfect Family Getaway”
Reviewed 15 September 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I traveled with a large group of my family (10) at the end of May 2016. We cannot say enough good things about staying at Fonte Cicerum. Alina and Lucia were amazing, kind, warm hosts and were always happy to give us suggestions or answer any questions. The house was lovely, with old world character and tasteful/user-friendly renovations. We loved waking up in the morning and having our coffee under the pergola, and swimming in the afternoon in the infinity pool. We also took a cooking class at the big house with Walter, who owns a restaurant in Chiusi. Take advantage of that opportunity! We made so many great memories and learned how to make homemade pasta in the process. There was absolutely nothing I could complain about - everything was better than we expected. We will be back.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2018
Thank you for your very kind review! We are happy that you have enjoyed our Umbria cooking school and chef Walter is always the best!

We hope t host you also next year!

ciao

il fontanaro family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah s
1 review
“Beautiful property with amazing pool and stunning views”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a wonderful week staying at Fonte Cicerum. Our group consisted of 2 families with 3 young children and we thought the property was a perfect size. The house is beautifully decorated with the benefit of air con in all rooms and rainfall showers in the bathrooms. The pool is amazing with a stunning view and good choice of sunbeds. There was a well shaded outdoor eating area covered with grapevines (shame the grapes needed another month to ripen!).

The property is well located within a few minutes drive/ 15 mins walk of Paciano. Lake Trasimeno has beaches and is pleasant to swim in so is worth visiting for a day or two. We found this area of Umbria to be beautiful and relaxing with delicious local food. We would love to come back one day.

Alina is a fantastic host. She is attentive and responsive without being overbearing and imposing. She organised a babysitter for one night, a wine tasting tour and provided information on local events.

We would highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing pool area
Liked least: The mosquitoes (although the property did have mosquito coils and plug repellents)
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2016
ciao Sarah!
Thank you for visiting us and to enjoy our country slow living life! We really hope to host you again!
all our best
alina and the fontanaro team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollieshe...
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wow! Stunning! ”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I cannot speak highly enough about this amazing accommodation. It has absolutely everything you need - a beautiful house with antique decor. The swimming pool is just dreamy!

We came with a big group (10) and had the BEST time. Lots of chilling by the pool and adventures around the area.

Alina is the best host I have ever encountered. She's always got an answer and is quick to respond! We were on whatsapp with her throughout our stay and she had amazing recommendations for wineries, lunch, dinner, partying.

We never wanted to leave this place and we'll definitely go back.

If I could give this more than 5 stars I would. Exceptional! Thanks Alina for your hospitality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
Thank you! Is it lovely to share the love for the italian country slow living
hope to see you soon here in Paciano at Fonte Cicerum and at our farm of il Fontanaro!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CML548
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Warm and Wonderful Place to Be”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We travelled to Italy with another family to see the sights of Rome and then settle in for a bit and experience the Italian countryside. Fonte Cicerum and the nearby towns of Paciano and Panicale turned out to be the perfect spot to do just that. Lucia and Alina, our hosts at Fonte Cicerum, made us feel like part of an extended Italian family.

First, the location. The location on the Tuscany/Umbria border made it easy to explore both. Although they have many similarities, they do feel different and it was great to be able to access both so easily. Paciano (a short stroll away) and Panicale (a quick drive and a challenging walk if you are up for some exercise) are both quite small and lovely. They have restaurants, a good butcher, a grocery, yummy fresh bread and pastries on Wednesday's and Sunday's and no modern outskirts to speak of. They are a quiet and uncrowded respite that we didn't fully appreciate until we had been visiting other spots for a few days.

Next, the house. The house itself is nestled into the olive trees with a great sunset view. It fit our two families quite comfortably. Only one of the rooms has twin beds. This worked fine for us, but just a note in case you have siblings who need their space. We cooked 4 of the nights we were there. The kitchen accommodated a crowd surprisingly well. You are on a working olive grove, so there was mowing while we were there. It got us up and going in the morning. Again, that worked for us. We really liked being in the middle of a working agricultural area and particularly enjoyed the fruits of that labor. The olive oil is delicious. We very much had the house to ourselves, but if we needed anything at all Lucia and Alina were a text away and were incredibly responsive.

Next, the real reason this gets five stars, the people (and dogs). To get the full experience take a cooking class early on in your stay. Not only will you have a great time, even if you are not a cook, but you will also get to truly appreciate the warmth and generosity of your hosts. I know that it is a total cliche, but the food and wine all tasted better because of the love you could feel in everything. Also, book this place early on in your planning process and then work with Lucia and Alina to get you wine tours, restaurant reservations, a chef, a bike, a guide, whatever. They seem to know everyone and can get just about anything done. We booked many things on our own from the US, but still would be in a town an hour away and the folks at the restaurant or winery or what have you would know Lucia or Alina. It is a special type of person who can make everyone they meet feel like family. It was wonderful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts, view and location.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
thank you! it has been very nice to host you here in Paciano, hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronique...
1 review
“A Magical Enclave Where Family, Friends, Food and Nature Come Together”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I was fortunate enough to participate in an eco slow living retreat at the Fontanaro. Heart filled activities were led by Alina and her mother Lucia, and it was easy to feel as if I'd all of a sudden been adopted into this warm Italian family. We filled our days with conversation, making pasta, even harvesting some olives and of course eating the tasty homemade food and drinking the local wine. Having spent only a couple days there, I left with the feeling of having had an experience that lasted much longer -- being in the company of wonderful and creative people, the natural beauty of the estate, and taking the time to appreciate and enjoy every meal...it was in fact slow living at its best and I left with the nostalgia of wanting more.

Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2015
Ciao Veronique,

thank you! What a nice review! It inspire us to do always better!
We are already planning the olive oil retreat for a week here at fontanaro next October 24th 2016.
Please come back to visit us!
And enjoy with us the italian country slow living !
All our best from all the Fontanaro team
Lucia, Alina, Giovanni, Ettore , Bacco and Annibale!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saghars
Roma, Italia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A retreat in Heaven!”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I stayed at Fontanaro during a the Olive Harvest Retreat and it was perfect beyond my expectations. Apart from the stunningly beautiful Umbiran nature in Fall, this place is exceptional of how much love its owners have poured into it through almost 40 years. Everything is organic and ecologic, from the olive trees, to the small vegetable garden, fruit trees, the country homes and everything you see/eat there.

There should be more people like Alina and Lucia doing this hard, but beautiful work.
It's also quite easy to get there. From the Chiusi train station (which you can reach from main Italian metas by train), there's a 20 min ride. You can get a taxi for €30.
I would most definitely go back!

Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian T
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing retreat that does what it says - encourages slow and enjoyable living.”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We visited as part of a large work group and were made to feel very welcome from the beginning. Alani and her colleagues and family were very attentive hosts with a schedule of activities, delicious food and great wines. Very enjoyable.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2015
Ciao Ian,

thank you! We hope to see you again to enjoy our olive and grape harvests, food festival, wine tours and more!

And thank you for sharing our love for the italian country slow living,

all our best

il fontanaro, fonte cicerum team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing