We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic villa with magnificent views”
other travellers have booked this property
Casa Laura, private swimming pool and terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Laura, private swimming pool and terrace
Swimming pool and garden the semi covered patio area offers some welcome shade for al fresco dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Casa Laura, private swimming pool and terrace
Swimming pool and garden
the semi covered patio area offers some welcome shade for al fresco dining
Start your day with a coffee or discuss the days events over an aperitif
lounge with plenty of comfortable seating
lounge leading into study
Study with WIFI internet
kitchen
kitchen dining area
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Second upstairs double bedroom
downstairs bathroom
upstairs bathroom
view from Sillico church
Casa Laura with the  panoramic views from the house and garden
Create you own pizzas in our outside wood oven
Your hosts, Yvonne and Delfo Melli
Horseriding is just one of the many outdoor pursuits available in the area
Sillico's July wheat festival
Sillico village
Il Belvedere Restaurant, Sillico
Sillico in the spring
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Pieve Fosciana, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
C66
central scotland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic villa with magnificent views”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 2 weeks at Casa Laura and had an amazing holiday. Villa is well appointed and photos really don't do it justice , much more spacious than we'd expected. The views are incredible and the village probably hasn't changed much in 100's of years. We were fortunate to be there for a local festival and enjoyed a 4 course dinner at different points throughout the village. Worked out about 20 euros a head including aperitif and was well worth it.

Villa was a good base for exploring the area and we visited Florence and Lucca. The drive up the mountain takes about 20 mins but the views are spectacular. There are 2 supermarkets in Pieve Fosciana which sell everything that you need and prices are reasonable , only open til 1230pm on a Sunday though.

We spent many relaxing days at the pool, it's not heated and can take a little while to acclimatise but once you are in it's fine!

Villa owners were very helpful and responded very quickly to any requests.

Would not hesitate to recommend this accomodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny A
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peace in the mountains”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Casa Laura is definitely for people who want to get away from it all and enjoy spectacular views and walks. The village of Sillico is very pretty and boasts a restaurant which is OK. Getting there does involve a drive up a very steep, winding ascent.

It is a comfortable, well equipped house the only draw back being the trek from the kitchen to the patio which makes dining al fresco a bit of a mission. The owners are a very friendly and helpful couple who are on hand if you need any information. We had a very relaxed an enjoyable week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Lack of storage space in second bedroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacony79
Swindon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic villa, amazing views”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have just returned from a lovely week long stay at Casa Laura. The photos do not do the villa justice. The villa is big and accommodated 6 adults perfectly. Yes the road up to it is windy but once you get there, wow.. the view is amazing! The villa was clean and very well equipped. Perfect outdoor space for sunbathing and bbqing. Beautiful gardens with a big pool (a little cold for May but didn't stop the guys having a dip) The pizza oven is an added bonus and we had lots of fun making our own pizzas, the supermarket in Pieve sells ready made dough)
There are lots of various levels of walks to go on from the villa which we enjoyed.
Yvonne and Delfo met us at the property on arrival and departure and Yvonne was always on the end of a text answering my various questions which was great. We visited Lucca, Viareggio, Pisa and Florence from here.
I would definitely recommend this villa for a quiet, peaceful week in Tuscany. Thank you Yvonne and Delfo.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The views and peacefulness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesleyNut
Ticehurst, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location for a Relaxing Family Holiday”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Well, what can I say, Casa Laura is ideal for a get away from it all holiday, you will not be disappointed by this well equipped spacious house. The photos do not do it justice, the house is bigger than we had anticipated and lacks practically nothing! The kitchen has everything you need and more, we actually baked cakes during our stay! The two shower rooms are more than adequate, clean, well furnished with modern facilities. There are comfortable sitting rooms, with UK satellite TV, wi-fi, lots of books, videos, cd's. The two double rooms have amazing views, the master bedroom is very spacious. The owners are incredibly helpful, caring and friendly, no issues with language, as Yvonne is British ad Delfo also speaks excellent english. We had such fun using the pizza oven and were given excellent tips on how to get the best results; we also used the barbecue several times. There is a covered dining area in the garden, which we used for every meal at the house, apart from one, when the temperature was a little cool. The sunsets were to die for, I lost count of the number of photographs I took!! The pool, although not massive, was fine for our family of five, the only very slight negative being that because it was not heated getting into the water on very hot days took some time, but once you are in, brilliant. We also used to the pool a few times in the evening, which our children loved, specially when the lighting created a wonderful fluorescent glow and of course with it being cooler in the evenings the water temperature was fine.The village restaurant is almost on the doorstep and offers excellent food, plus a terrace to have a drink. The village museum and art gallery were well worth a visit, the exhibits are a credit. The house is within easy reach of many beautiful villages and towns; there are a number of attractions that are well worth a visit, including the caves 'Grotta del Vento', and the Fortress of Verrucole. We chose not to travel to any of the bigger towns and cities within the region, having flown into Pisa and stayed two nights before travelling to the house, but I know many other renters have done so. I had been weary of the house being in the mountains, but have to say that although the roads are winding and were much easier to drive than we had anticipated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawnlocky
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning place!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Thank you Yvonne and Delfo for letting us stay in your beautiful home.
Casa Laura is a beautiful villa with everything you could need to enjoy your holiday.
The pool and terrace were in consent use.
The views are stunning.
Cleanliness was A1 all through the house.
The drive up to Casa Laura was a challenge but once done it was a breeze!
The village is stunning with locals who are very friendly and helpful.
Locanda Belvedere the village restaurant serve some lovely food.
We will be back!! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Views.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feebie142...
stalybridge
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wow...absolutely stunning !”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Arrived at Casa Laura on a beautiful sunny afternoon, after calling in Pieve Fosciana for a quick look around. The winding road was interesting and we saw donkeys, goats and deer on the numerous trips up and down. Yvonne and Delfo greeted us warmly upon arrival and showed us around what would be our amazing home for two weeks. We could write so much about Casa Laura which would echo previous occupants views as the photos don't do it justice. The property is immaculate and very well equipped for a relaxing, comfortable, and peaceful stay in the Tuscan countryside. The views never failed to amaze every day and we enjoyed watching the bats and swallows at sunset. The village of Sillico is surreal and we were fortunate to experience the annual festival which we felt privileged to be part of. We took a trip to florence mid stay via a very organised train network. The trip was quite long aprox 2 and half hours but it was worth all of us enjoying and not worrying about parking etc.. The train was very good value and well worth it.
The restaurant which also acted as a local shop was very convenient, the drive to Pieve Fosciana (nearest supermarket) is a little challenging as its very windy and narrow in parts, however we took the journey nearly every day so we got used to it and it is was fun when we saw the wildlife!
The kitchen is extremely well equipped and we cooked most evenings and enjoyed the lovely terrace to dine on and sit whist we enjoyed the evening view. The lounge is very comfortable and we enjoyed the music and entertainment facilities including the record player which took us back! The pool is perfect and very welcoming to cool down in and gaze at the surroundings.
Overall an amazing place to visit, comfortable, extremely clean and well equipped
Would love to return in the not to distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, seclusion, kitchen facilities, wifi, music system
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryJ1609
1 review
“An absolutely wonderful home in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

After a 90 minute drive from pisa airport we arrived at Silico around 10pm.. When we woke in the morning and looked out of the bedroom window, the view took our breath away !!! The house was immaculately presented and equipped. The owners certainly made it welcoming. I can honestly say that there was nothing that we could fault about the house. It was so nice to visit the local restaurant in the village, but most of our evenings were spent sitting on the terrace watching the stunning sunsets over the Tuscan mountains.. Will definately be going back !!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing