We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Silvester & Wellness
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cerklje
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

If anyone wants to visit Slovenia or needs a place to spend the night after traveling like I did I highly recommend this place to spend the night at. The location just 3 km from the airport is so convenient an the picturesque view of the mountains are beautiful. The room I stayed in may have been small but it was good enough for me. The breakfast is also one of the best I had on my trip to the former Yugoslavia. Spend the night here!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mantle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013

Quiet hotel in view of the superb mountains. Great food and really nice owners who catered special vegetarian meals for me. The hotel is located only 5 minutes drive from Ljubljana airport in a quiet village. Go before the tourists know about it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zaom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

It is in a great location to go on Krvavec. But half of the hotel has old noisy rooms. When they will be renovated, it will be a great place to relax!
In the village you have no place to go, even in the city nearby - Kranj.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naavah9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

The hotel website claims they provide transportation to and from the airport anytime of the day. It is not a free service and they also do it very well. I called for a pick up from the airport and was told the car would be there in 5 minutes and it came in 5 minutes. I asked for a ride to the airport at 5 am the next morning and the lady was at the lobby waiting for me when I went down to the lobby at 4:55am.

As many reviewers pointed out, the hotel is located in a small village. When I was there, the place was practically empty. The dinner was provided in the hotel next door for a charge. There was no other place to eat in the village within walking distance.

My room was comfortable and amenities were adequate although the bathroom was a little small, the room itself was spacious.. There was air conditioning, phone, satellite TV and hair dryer. The hotel does have an elevator but it is only every other floor.

As there are no hotels near the Ljubljana airport, the Hotel Silvester is as close as it gets.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We had a last minute change in plans and had to drop are car off that night instead of the morning so I went online and found the Silvester. Called up, held the room and it was perfect for what we needed. The couple that own the property are lovely. When driving to the hotel it's past the airport about 5 minutes, may need to call for directions. They will do a pickup/drop at the LJU airport for 10euros - great
Did not have breakfast, very early departure, but good inexpensive wine...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We stayed here for one night only because of a very early flight the next morning. Vopovlje is actually a small village, not a street, so we got lost on our way there looking for Cerklje na Gorenjskem which is a small town. Just be aware of this. All the hotels/pensions in the whole village of Vopovlje cater mainly for short stays because of its proximity to the airport. After seeing the options, I would rather look into staying at Apartments Jana, which is not directly on the noisy main road, like the other hotels in this village.

Silvester is a basic hotel, good for only a one night stay. Our room was very basic, but clean. The bathroom was extremely small.

Pros:
VERY close to the airport, took us about ten minutes to get there.
Value for money, we got discount for paying in cash too.

Cons:
Noisy hotel,we had fo take a sleeping tablet to sleep!

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ters317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

I stayed in this hotel for one night.
Entering the hotel trough the restaurant/bar is the way to get in to this 'hotel' which in my opinion looks more like a big 'pension'. The reception can be found behind the bar. You get the point, this is not a business hotel, but more a very big family house with 20+ rooms full of wooden handycrafts.

The staff is friendly, speaks English well and is able to serve you to your convenience.
Your room can be found on the 1st or 2nd floor. The only way up is by taking the stairs (there is no lift/elevator).
The door opens with a normal key and behind this door you will find a room that has an 80's design. The beds are well used and should be replaced. The mattresses hardly gave me any suspension. The linen on the bed was worn and had some holes in it. The bathroom was tiny and old but everything worked out well and was clean. The room was clean and a fridge was present (no minibar).
There was hardly any isolation in the room. A dog from a farm nearby barked the whole night but closing the window did not silence the noise.
All the rooms do not have airconditioning nor do they have (WiFi) internet.
A small TV gives access to 8 channels, mostly local broadcast.

Normally breakfast starts at 7 am but becouse of my early flight the staff made an early breakfast possible (that was great). Breakfast it self was simple but more than enough for a quick sandwich.
The location of the hotel is probably the best part of this reference. It's only a minute drive from Ljubljana airport. The staff use their van as a shuttle bus on your request and it's free!!! It's also near a little ski-area.
The hotel is located in a very small village. So it should be safe for children to play outside.

All together:
The hotel is really nothing special. I would say a 2 star hotel. But this family-hotel has it's charme. And with all the wood in and outside this hotel it feels like an Austrian kind of style. Too bad the rooms and the beds are old. They really need to update this a.s.a.p.
I would recommend this hotel for young couples who don't ask that much or business people who are looking for a hotel nearby LJU airport.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Basawake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cerklje
0.7 mi away
Dvor Jezersek Brnik Hotel
13.6 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
400 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 31 in Ljubljana
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Terme Snovik
Terme Snovik
#28 of 31 in Ljubljana
177 reviews
12.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,757 reviews
10.0 mi away
Turizem Loka
Turizem Loka
#3 of 4 in Skofja Loka
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silvester & Wellness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silvester & Wellness

Address: Vopovlje 19, Cerklje 4207, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Cerklje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cerklje
Price Range: £43 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silvester & Wellness 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Silvester is centrally located in Slovenia, 3 kilometers from Ljubljana Brnik airport, and 20 minutes by car from both Ljubljana city centre and the ski resort of Krvavec. The bus stops for both the Ljubljana city centre and the airport are only three minutes away by car.The rooms are brightly decorated with modern furnishings. Rooms have an suite toilet/shower room, hair drier, air-conditioning, safety deposit box, tv-sat, internet wireless, balcony or terrace, and telephone.The hotel is wonderfully situated for hikers, walkers, and cyclists. The immediate surroundings are relatively flat with many picturesque villages, woodlands, and farms, ideal countryside for walkers and cyclists. A few minutes by car gets you into the mountains which are dotted with waterfalls, caves, forests, wonderful panoramas, and in winter, ski resorts. The hotel itself has a restaurant, bar, American pool/billiard, bicycle rental, Wellness (Finnish sauna, Steam sauna, Kneipping, Jacuzzi). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Silvester & Wellness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silvester & Wellness Slovenia/Cerklje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing