We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“breakfast with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Ruby

Cafe Ruby
Ranked #20 of 88 Restaurants in Durbanville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“breakfast with a view”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Lovely setting, friendly service and a delicious breakfast with very very yummy homemade bread. Given my experience and the other options on the menu, and that is excluding the blackboard, I will definitely be back. Besides, there is also the wine tasting at Kleinroosboom wines which definitely looks like an option to try! I highly recommend making the effort to get out there and enjoy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oogly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    34
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
126 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We had a wonderful breakfast experience. Lovely poached eggs on mushrooms with a wonderful, perfectly cooked hollandaise sauce. Homemade bread was served with it. Very tasty and filling breakfast. There so many other interesting choices on the menu that we will have to retunr for lunch as well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elise01_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
164 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Saturday Lunch”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Since my previous review a year ago, we have frequented Cafe Ruby many times. There has been, however, a change in management, and I thought a "fresh" review would be appropriate. Ambience has not really changed, and the basic setup remains the same. The lunch menu is now on a blackboard, and is more extensive and a nice variety. They also have "nibbles", an assortment of small dishes to share or eat alone. We opted for the Cafe Burger again, which is really tasty and a very good portion. The patty is homemade. It is a bit messy to eat though. The restaurant was packed, and they did not really have a queing system in place. I have noticed a few irritated customers who were turned away. A nice touch would have been to send them to the wine tasting area to wait for tables to become free. The wines are all Klein Roosboom and they are excellent. Cannot wait for their 2013 Sauvignon Blance - they are still on the 2012 version, which is still very enjoyable. The Darling Brew beer is still there, but I miss the Darling Bone Crusher (Weiss Beer). It is available in Darling at their premises. Food was fairly quick to be served, but the drinks order took very long. All in all the very good experience and we will surely be back. We can really recommend this eatery.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeinOos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous location, wonderful menu- everything is yummy and fantastic ambience. Perfect for breakfast, lunch or tea. Complimented by Kleinroosboom wines and microbrewery beer.
A must try!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Underestimated winery”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We enjoyed a relaxed lunch the Chicken was succulent, the Cheese Platter was good value for money and most enjoyable. The highlight was the Klein Roosboom wines, totally underestimated winery. Loved the decor and antique shop that forms part of Cafe Ruby and the retro touches. Wine tasting and sales at Cafe Ruby.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Ruby also viewed

Durbanville, Cape Town
Durbanville, Cape Town
 
Durbanville, Cape Town
Durbanville, Cape Town
 
Durbanville, Cape Town
 

Been to Cafe Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing