We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”
Review of Himalayan Asian - CLOSED

Himalayan Asian
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
1 review
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Food was 10 out of 10, waiters highly trained. service was excellent. Will definitely visit again!! Well worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josias86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    16
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Indian Cuisine”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went to this restaurant recently and had a great experience even though it was very quite for a Wednesday evening,only 2 tables. We both had Indian Cuisine and the quality of the food was of a very high level.We enjoyed the food so much that we now often order take away curries + naan for weekend meals. I can highly recommend this restaurant.My wife is a chef and we both have eaten Indian food in various places around the globe and this was up there with the best.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Walla13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent - best in the Northern Suburbs”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

As another reviewer already said - Indian food has not traditionally done well in the area (the locals don't seem to be very adventurous, food-wise). This restaurant deserves to be the exception. Once inside, the venue is great, the service good and the food is sublime. Do yourself a favour and order a range of curries and breads and share amongst your table. Order it mild, if you are scared of the burn, but do try - the flavours are amazing. The restaurant should perhaps put a bit more detail in the menu - perhaps even a few photos, as many of the fantastic curries on offer are not well known here. I will be back soon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Looking for a decent Indian in the Northern Suburbs - Durbanville”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The best Indian food I have tasted since moving here from London, we missed our Indians but we have found this place, we have only had take away to date but will be going for a meal soon. Indians don't usually last in Durbanville so support these guys, they cooking some good food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durbanville, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sublime”
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

The location of this restaurant is deceptive.
Their variety of Asian foods, including sushi and plentiful vegetarian options make this one of my favorite
Their service is top notch- better than some higher priced fancier places.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Himalayan Asian also viewed

Durbanville, Cape Town
 
Durbanville, Cape Town
 
Durbanville, Cape Town
Durbanville, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing