We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-located, clean and pleasant self-catering accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South Point Self Catering and B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well-located, clean and pleasant self-catering accomodation”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Clean, well-furnished and good value self-catering accommodation within walking distance of the Cape Agulhas lighthouse and restaurants. Hilary was welcoming and helpful. The unit was tastefully decorated and well-equipped; exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carpevacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hilarymarshall, Owner at South Point Self Catering and B&B, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Thank you Riemer Family!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    48
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
66
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We were booked into another establishment in L'Agulhas but upon our arrival we realised that it was not fit for human consumption! We were lucky enough to find South Point Self Catering and B&B and we were able to book in for 3 nights. We found the units wonderfully clean and very well decorated. The beds were extremely comfortable - for us that's what either makes or breaks a holiday. Hilary was such a warm and friendly lady and nothing was too much trouble for her. South Point is within walking distance from the southernmost tip of Africa, tidal pools, the lighthouse and restaurants. Lovely area to explore - we will be back!

Room Tip: All the Units boast the same wonderful features.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hilarymarshall, Owner at South Point Self Catering and B&B, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Hello Sian
Thank you so much for the wonderful compliments.
I look forward to your return.
Best Regards
Hilary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

South Point Self Catering and B&B
The stay at this B&B has been exceptionally pleasant.
We can full heartily recommend to stay here.
Hilary is making every effort to make your stay the best.
Seldom have I seen such clean rooms in all of my travels.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelrewiever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at South Point L’Agulhas! It is a quick, refreshing and beautiful walk to the southernmost tip of Africa, which is watched over by the majestic lighthouse of L’Agulhas. The units are quaintly decorated with just the right amount of privacy, and only a short walk away from the surrounding stores, restaurants and wine boutique. Hilary herself was instrumental in advising us on what the attractions were in the area, and each one was an amazing experience in itself. For anyone who has been to the tip of Africa, I would most certainly recommend it, and where better to stay than South Point!!!

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mps19999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Just a note of thanks for our wonderful night at South Point, Cape Agulhas. After a long road trip along the coast visiting all the light houses from Cape Town to Cape Agulhas, it was a refreshing relief to find such comfort and assured service at South Point. The fine weather allowed us to stroll through the town, enjoy an amazing supper and then a slow walk back to an early bed.
We were first up in the town and got to take some wonderful shots of the sun rise over the ocean reflected in the tidal pool with the full moon in the opposite sky.
After a wonderful breakfast at the lighthouse we had to drag ourselves away and back on the road.
We will definitely be back, so much to still see and do at the tip of Africa. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

Fairly easy spot to find (ignore any misleading GPS co-ordinates you may find online!). Found a warm & welcoming owner - yay! More facilities than we'd expected of a small self-catering venue were available. Parking bays, laundry, in-cottage satellite tv, fridge, cooker, pots, cutlery as well as our own private outdoor grill). The cottage had a simple, practical layout. Was within close proximity of the beaches, pools, pub, convenience store, curio shop/cafe, lighthouse and southernmost point of Africa! We were certainly sorry to leave our lovely cottage behind. Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urijnaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2008

Cape Agulhas or the Southern Most Tip of Africa is a must visit, not just for bragging rights, but also because it is a quaint little village and the scenery is stunning!
To make your stay better, stay at the South Point Self Catering and B&B, where Hilary Marshall and her very efficient staff will take good care of you. We contacted Hilary early the morning that we decided to go to Cape Agulhas and she very promptly sorted out all the logistics. When we arrived, we were shown to our very neat and tidy unit with it's sparkling white tiles in the bathroom. Very welcome!
The unit itself is cosy but has everything that you need to make yourself comfortable. It is also 300m to the historic lighthouse and 1.5km to the southern tip of Africa (15min for those that want to walk).
Hilary recommended Angelos restaurant down the road from her (2mins walk). The food was in a word tastee! Shailou had a seafood basket with prawns, mussels, calamari, fish and chips that she said was the best she had ever eaten. I had the garlic pita bread which was also good. The atmosphere at the Angelos was also very welcoming on a bracingly cold evening.
This was a thouroughly enjoyable visit to the Southern Most Tip of Africa made all the more pleasant by a nice chalet, restaurant and people. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Clean, tidy and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Two single beds!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pooben&Shailou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Agulhas
16.7 mi away
Arniston Spa Hotel
Arniston Spa Hotel
#1 of 2 in Arniston
766 reviews
1.0 mi away
Agulhas Country Lodge
Agulhas Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in L'Agulhas
312 reviews
20.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bredasdorp
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Agulhas Ocean House
Agulhas Ocean House
#1 of 7 in L'Agulhas
93 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cape Agulhas Backpackers
Cape Agulhas Backpackers
#1 of 4 in Struisbaai
151 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mermaid Guest House
Mermaid Guest House
#1 of 5 in Struisbaai
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Point Self Catering and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Point Self Catering and B&B

Property: South Point Self Catering and B&B
Address: 190 Main Road, L'Agulhas 7287, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Cape Agulhas > L'Agulhas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in L'Agulhas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — South Point Self Catering and B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Point is a small personal establishment consisting of 6 self catering units in a courtyard setting. We are situated 100 metres from restaurants, art, coffee shops and the gates to Agulhas National Park, where you will find the southernmost tip of Africa, where the Indian and Atlantic Oceans meet. All our units are fully equipped including fresh white cotton linen and towels. The televisions have a good selection of satelite channels including all sport channels and 7 movie channels. Prices from R700 for a 2 sleeper to R900-R2000 for a 4 sleeper. Free wi-fi. Laundry service available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your South Point Self Catering and B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Point Self Catering And B&B Cape Agulhas, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing