We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very restful stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Point Self Catering and B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South Point Self Catering and B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Fish Hoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very restful stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Had an amazing restful stay at South Point. They all went out of their way to make us comfortable. I can't wait to go back. All the restaurants and The southern tip is with in walking distance. There is a great tidal pool close by to swim in

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    47
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
66
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

The flat was very clean, the service friendly and the kitchen very well equipped. The owner is very accommodating and friendly. My only critique is that unit 1 is right next to the laundry, and the traffic and smells of the laundry can get a bit much. It does however have a nice seaview.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hilarymarshall, Owner at South Point Self Catering and B&B, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Hi Sunet
So glad you were satisfied with your accommodation.
The laundry was rather hectic last Dec, so we will be addressing the problem during the next Xmas holidays.
We do hope you will return.
Best regards
Hilary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

The room was very clean and the kitchen well equipped. For breakfast you need to go to a cafe but it is not far away. We slept very well on the new mattress.
We had a lovely stay at South Point.
Thank you Hillary!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christoph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hilarymarshall, Owner at South Point Self Catering and B&B, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Hi Christoph
Sooooo glad you enjoyed the new top quality mattress, and thanks for taking the time to review.
Hope to see you again soon...
Best regards
Hilary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Thank you Hillary. I had a great stay with you an d will surely recommend your place to anybody either business or pleasure. You make a person feeling at home and the accommodation facilities are great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hilarymarshall, Owner at South Point Self Catering and B&B, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thanks Johan.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Take care and see you again soon.
Best regards
Hilary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackenfell, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had such a lovely stay at South Point!! The accommodation is small but cozy, exactly the environment we were looking for for an anniversary break-away. The kitchen was well equipped. The unit was impeccably clean and tidy. South Point is situated at the most convenient location with a small grocery store 3 doors down, a great restaurant 2 door down and the lighthouse a stones throw away. There are several other great restaurants within walking distance. We had supper at the TF restaurant, which is owned and managed by the chef and everything about the experience was awesome...great service, great food, beautiful ambiance. We had breakfast at the little coffee shop down the road before we headed home and it was one of the best breakfasts I have ever had!! However, I think we chose a bad time to go to Cape Agulhas as the lighthouse was closed for maintenance and there weren't very many other activities/events taking place but we had a great time nonetheless.I guess we will just have to go again at a busier time of the year ;)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandra
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Thanks, we had a nice stay. Nice parking in front of the accommodation, the unit is well equipped with everything you need including braai facilities. The unit is very clean and the service excellent.
I would definitely recommend this as a value for money accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marius B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Everything was perfect; living room, kitchen, bedroom, bathroom and location!

Breakfast at the restaurant, left hand side of the road (from the B&B towards the lighthouse) that serves breakfast is somewhat unnecessarily expensive and perhaps not worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Agulhas
16.7 mi away
Arniston Spa Hotel
Arniston Spa Hotel
#1 of 2 in Arniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
1.0 mi away
Agulhas Country Lodge
Agulhas Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in L'Agulhas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
20.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bredasdorp
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beachcombers Bed and Breakfast
2.2 mi away
Ocean View Guest B&B
Ocean View Guest B&B
#2 of 6 in Struisbaai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cape Agulhas Backpackers
Cape Agulhas Backpackers
#1 of 4 in Struisbaai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Point Self Catering and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Point Self Catering and B&B

Property: South Point Self Catering and B&B
Address: 190 Main Road, L'Agulhas 7287, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Cape Agulhas > L'Agulhas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in L'Agulhas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — South Point Self Catering and B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Point is a small personal establishment consisting of 6 self catering units in a courtyard setting. We are situated 100 metres from restaurants, art, coffee shops and the gates to Agulhas National Park, where you will find the southernmost tip of Africa, where the Indian and Atlantic Oceans meet. All our units are fully equipped including fresh white cotton linen and towels. The televisions have a good selection of satelite channels including all sport channels and 7 movie channels. Prices from R700 for a 2 sleeper to R900-R2000 for a 4 sleeper. Free wi-fi. Laundry service available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your South Point Self Catering and B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Point Self Catering And B&B Cape Agulhas, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing