We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling at home in a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Agulhas Country Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in L'Agulhas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I spent two nights at this hotel in the southernmost tip of Africa. The location oversees a small bay and the room had a large balcony with a nice view. Very spacious, with all required amenities and a feeling that you are in a country home. Food (although a fixed menu for dinner) was very good, you could help yourself late hours at the bar (just registering what you had) and smoke a cigar in the smoking sitting room instead of being left in the cold of a balcony as in most hotels. Owners and employees gave me a warm welcome and were most helpful with guidance on what to do in the area (including info on roads damaged by the flash floods in the last night I stayed).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio_R_1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

We spent a night here and it was just lovely. We arrived late in the afternoon just in time for a drink in a veranda room with stunning views. We decided to have dinner at the guest house and it was excellent. They made a special meal for our children which we loved. After dinner we were able to sit in a lounge room in front of the fire and relax. The rooms are very nicely done with a country feel. Breakfast superb. Wish we had stayed a bit longer!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I had the privilege of spending 3 nights at the Agulhas Country Lodge, an up market B&B. I chose the lodge as I wanted something special for my birthday. I was very pleased that the lodge lived up to the advertising blurb on its web site.
It is easy to find as you need to drive right past it if you are visiting Agulhas. The Bedrooms were large and comfortable with bathrooms and a sea view from the balcony. We spent many hours sitting and watching the rollers with their spray of white horses from an upstairs vantage point.
The Lodge is very well laid out with a number of homely lounges and nooks to sit in and read. The main cigar lounge is equipped with a TV and a fireplace. As it was a very cold weekend we were happy to spend the evenings curled up in front of a roaring fire.
Our Host and Hostess made us feel most welcome. The food served was top quality from the beautifully presented three course dinner (you need to book) to the full breakfast. No lunches are available but the owner was happy for us to place our takeaways in the fridge and to serve the food to us in one of the upstairs lounges.
The only disadvantage with this location was the number of stairs that needed to be climbed to reach the various rooms. This is definitely not the place for someone with a handicap.
I am hoping to have the opportunity to visit again in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damsonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Need a brake away from city life just to relax. Agulhas Country Lodge is one of the best places to do just that. Take long walks on the beach or just stay in bed and enjoy your amazing view from your room. I enjoyed my relaxing weekend away at the Agulhas Country Lodge and would recommend anyone to go there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We were there in off season,but still the management gave us atour, offered advice as to local things to do and gave us directions. We had the room with the jacuzzi, candles supplied too. The room also featured a lovely bed with a wonderfully comfortable mattress,custom linen and a view to die for, that we could admire from our balcony. The food in the restaurant was delicious,we had a beef dish that was made to perfection. The bar and cigar lounge are good places to unwind and relax after a long day out. Will definitely return one day.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the jacuzzi, it has a balcony with an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Engela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We have stayed here several times - they even hosted our wedding and made it the best day ever! We always enjoy the peaceful atmosphere of the hotel and Sue's fabulous cooking. We will be back again in 2014.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Our bedroom was lovely and spacious room with a sea view.

The staff were very friendly & helpful
&
The breakfasts were delicious and varied.
Our dinner was superb (we ate in one night): a divine mussel soup and the creme brulee was one of the best I've had.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GailofDeLangenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Agulhas
15.6 mi away
Arniston Spa Hotel
Arniston Spa Hotel
#1 of 2 in Arniston
833 reviews
19.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bredasdorp
10 reviews
0.2 mi away
Agulhas Ocean House
Agulhas Ocean House
#1 of 7 in L'Agulhas
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beachcombers Bed and Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Ocean View Guest B&B
Ocean View Guest B&B
#2 of 5 in Struisbaai
103 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mermaid Guest House
Mermaid Guest House
#1 of 5 in Struisbaai
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agulhas Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agulhas Country Lodge

Address: 673 Main Road, L'Agulhas 7287, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Cape Agulhas > L'Agulhas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in L'Agulhas
Price Range: £82 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Agulhas Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Agulhas Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agulhas Country Lodge Cape Agulhas, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing