We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Agulhas Country Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in L'Agulhas
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here three nights and were given the room at the front with the sea view which is very nice.
Aghulas is a great place to stay if you like the sea, with De Mont reserve about half an hour down the road (amazing sand dune ecosystem and beaches), Cape Aghulas reserve (not fully up and running yet), the light house, the 'Ghost walk' and fully stocked rock pools.
Breakfast at the lodge was well up to the standard of other places we stayed, but we did find the owner rather retiring compared to other places we stayed and we had to drag our heavy cases up the stairs without assistance.
As they were not serving dinner on our first two nights we ate out at really good (and cheap) seafood places, two in Aghulas and one at the harbour. So when dinner was offered on the third night, it seemed rather expensive in comparison and we went out again. It does seem to be famous for its cooking though as someone dropped by who ate here a long time ago and wanted to come back.
The bathroom in our room could have done with freshening up, otherwise I would give five stars.
But Cape Aghulas was one of the best places to visit on our entire garden route trip (our second).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deskjet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    104
    33
    9
    3
See reviews for
56
200
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

An excellent lodge close to the southern tip of Africa. Generous breakfast in a nice dining room. Very good service and good parking facilities. We will recommend ACL to friends travelling to ZA.


Fredrik & Birgitta Ektander

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Pekingfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I was very surprised by the stunning dinner which was served, did not expect anything like that at the "ending point" of the continent Africa... well done! Friendly people, owner run, beautiful sea views, cosy duvets.... will be a pleasure to come back at any time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Katharina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Bc, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed at the Agulhas Country Lodge just overnight, but this is the place to spend a few nights. A charming character lodge in a great location across the street from the ocean with comfortable large rooms and balconies. Friendly staff and excellent service.Comfortable character lounge with bar; excellent food and service in dining room with fireplace. This lodge is a "must stop" along the coast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Helmut H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My hubby and I stayed for only 1 night at Agulhas Country Lodge. The venue is gorgeous and beautifully decorated, clean linen and friendly host upon arrival. Highly recommended! Breakfast was to die for, and the venue has a ambiance to it that you simply have to experience! We will definitely book here again when we come to L'Agulhas.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank AdeleSpeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We spent just one night at the lodge and the weather outside was very poor, but this place has a very cosy and special atmosphere.. Decoration was those of an authentic English country house with authentic, not at all fake, details and vintage furniture. Service was very good even if we hadn't the opportunity to taste the dinner since the menù was more intended for romantic dinners rather than for families as it was our case.
I don't know when we will have further occasions to pass for the outmost Southern tip of Africa, but in this case, this will be again our place to stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Southern most tip of Africa & a nice location makes it worthwhile the trip. Dinner was good, room n° 1 was very nice with "private balcony". Good value for money. As we had even better accom. in SA => rated "very good"

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BilbaoMailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Agulhas
15.6 mi away
Arniston Spa Hotel
Arniston Spa Hotel
#1 of 2 in Arniston
772 reviews
19.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bredasdorp
9 reviews
0.2 mi away
Agulhas Ocean House
Agulhas Ocean House
#1 of 7 in L'Agulhas
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beachcombers Bed and Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Ocean View Guest B&B
Ocean View Guest B&B
#2 of 5 in Struisbaai
99 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mermaid Guest House
Mermaid Guest House
#1 of 5 in Struisbaai
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agulhas Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agulhas Country Lodge

Property: Agulhas Country Lodge
Address: 673 Main Road, L'Agulhas 7287, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Cape Agulhas > L'Agulhas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in L'Agulhas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Agulhas Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Agulhas Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agulhas Country Lodge Cape Agulhas, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing