We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in the Midlands”
Review of Stocklands Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Howick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stocklands Farm
Ranked #8 of 16 Howick B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend in the Midlands”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Hard to fault this little establishment. Very well-appointed and spacious rooms with beautiful furnishings. Start your breakfast with their smoothie - YUM! LOVE the tree out front - plus/minus 145 years old and very stately! Thanks to the hosts for a really lovely and relaxing stay of 2 nights. Will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 don't seem to get the wifi, so perhaps try others. Although the rooms are really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    10
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
21
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hosts are more than helpful at this lovely bed and breakfast. All our stays here have been great.
The rooms are very comfortable and sizeable and they make sure the bed is warm and the room heated and ready on your return along with fruit/rusks and a glass of sherry. The breakfast is excellent - a choice of whatever it is you may want and individually prepared. Security is good and with electric gates and close proximity to the Ambers. I love staying at the B&B.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie-ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at Stocklands for 2 nights over winter which can be very chilly to say the least. We were warm and cosy in our fire heated room with heaters on top of that.
We had a great welcome from everyone and were right at home. The bed was so comfortable it felt better than being at home and the breakfasts were the best.
The room was done so beautifully that it was treat to be in. If we are ever back in South Africa we will make another stop here.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great depending what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EveM704, Owner at Stocklands Farm, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments Jenni! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed over for the annual BMW Motorrad gathering, and occupied two adjoining rooms in a separate cottage.

The rooms were clean, comfortable and warm. Just like the hosts were very friendly without being intrusive.

Located close enough to town but also a little bit out of town so you are close enough to Karkloof Falls as well.

Definitely a choice well made.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anton V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EveM704, Owner at Stocklands Farm, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you Anton for your review. We really enjoyed your group and I am so glad that you were happy with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stay at Stocklands fairly regularly and am always welcomed back warmly. The rooms are more than comfortable and either cooled nicely in summer or heated comfortably in winter. Your choice of breakfast is served in the mornings, and always delicious. I certainly highly recommend staying here if you are in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie-ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

After looking at several reviews on TripAdvisor, and after having some pretty poor stays at other Howicks B&Bs, we decided to try Eve and Roland's B&B.

From the moment we arrived, we knew the stay was going to be special. We were welcomed on arrival and shown to our exquisite room - number 2. A king sized bed, a little lounge area with flat screen TV, a small yet pretty little shower room / toilet with hand basin made up a rather special room. It's often the little things that make one want to stay at a place again and again, and in this case for us it was the thoughtful placement of a bowl of fruit and little containers of licorice allsorts and peanuts with raisins that really impressed. Add to that a small decanter of Sherry which we didn't use (next time!) to complete the picture, as well as toilet rolls tied with little bows and lavender - nice touch! Oh and let's not forget the teddy bears on the bed. Cute.

Although there was no air conditioner in the room, there is a ceiling fan which works well and managed to keep us from overheating. The aircon would have been nice but not sure how it could be installed without spoiling the retro feeling of the room.

The gardens - outstanding in every way. Lovely rock pool surrounded by beautiful trees and shrubs and a swimming pool complete with pool house which we were told we could use as we liked.

The breakfast was super. We started with fruit salad. My wife had the scrambled egg (she says it was outstanding) and I had the full English breakfast, which was cooked perfectly. I'm going to try and upload some photos when I can, and hope they do Stocklands Farm justice.

I have only one recommendation - if you're intending a stay in Howick and you're looking for a really nice, reasonably priced B&B, then you must stay at Stocklands Farm.

Thanks very much to Eve and Roland for the wonderful stay. We will be back!

Room Tip: Room 2 has the shower. Room 1 has a bath with overhead shower but has a queen bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Spent 2 nights at Stocklands Farm, Howick just before Xmas 2013. Beautiful place, like an English country garden with lots to look at and excellent walks in the garden and woods. The Courtyard room was comfortable, pretty with attention to detail even as far as the spare toilet roll being entwined with ribbon and a lavender sprig. Breakfast fresh and delicious on the beautiful, old style patio with a view of the gardens. Non-intrusive managers, a place well run behind the scenes. Excellent position in the Kaarkloof area with nature spots like Kaarkloof Falls nearby.We had a relaxing, pampered, beautiful experience and I would book there again tomorrow! Thanks to Alison, Eve and the staff for making our short stay there memorable.

Room Tip: The Courtyard is for a couple and has a lovely lounge and 2 patios. It is away from the main buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 901JayGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Howick hotels
0.3 mi away
Rockwood Lodges
Rockwood Lodges
#3 of 17 in Howick
52 reviews
1.0 mi away
Azalea Bed & Breakfast
Azalea Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 16 in Howick
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Biggy Best Cottages
Biggy Best Cottages
#5 of 17 in Howick
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Country Lane Guest House
0.4 mi away
Nutmeg Guest House
Nutmeg Guest House
#16 of 16 in Howick
5 reviews
0.6 mi away
Howick Falls Hotel
Howick Falls Hotel
#15 of 16 in Howick
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stocklands Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stocklands Farm

Property: Stocklands Farm
Address: 4 Shafton Road | Karkloof, Howick 3290, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Howick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Howick
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stocklands Farm is an early settler property set in the Midlands of KwaZulu of Natal. The original Voortrekker house still stands and adjoins an English settler house. There is a three bedroom self-catering cottage, two one bedroom self-catering cottages,two luxury rooms, one Courtyard suite and one standard room. All rooms have private rooms with verandahs that open onto the gearden and all have en suite bathrooms. Breakfasts are served either on the garden verandah or in the dining room in the old settler house.There are extensive gardens, which include a small idigenous forest, a swimming pool and large poolroom all for the use of guests. For attractions around Stocklands there is the well-known Midlands Meander with a wealth of craft shops, artisits and restaurants. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing