We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend at Hebron Haven Hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Howick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hebron Haven Hotel & Country Conference Center
Ranked #10 of 16 Howick B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend at Hebron Haven Hotel”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My husband celebrated his 70th birthday on Friday 28th Feb, and we chose Hebron Haven as the venue to hold the event. What an excellent choice! The management and staff were fantastic!! We practically booked the whole hotel and everyone was very comfortable and happy with their accommodation. We had set menus for dinner on the Friday and Saturday nights and the food was lovely. Breakfasts were also great. We wanted to play the Amazing Race on Saturday afternoon and the beautiful spacious grounds of the hotel and it's facilities was the perfect venue, as well as the surrounding Midlands. We would like to thank, Robert, the General Manager, for going the extra mile and beyond, thus making it a celebration to remember forever!

Room Tip: We have stayed in room 16 and 33 and both rooms were beautifully spacious with everything one would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    10
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amanzimtoti, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Just had a great weekend at Hebron Haven, first visit for us. Staff are great, food excellent, room very comfortable. Lovely setting with 100-year-old trees and lots of birds. The staff were very friendly and coped well with our big crowd there for a 70's birthday bash.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anguspyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Short and sweet - old establishment that is past its heyday. The place needs a lot more maintenance - the rooms are old and a bit musty. Everything feels like it was let go and does not give you an "old english" feel, rather gives the impression that the establishment has long given up and is merely existing as a shadow of its past. I would definitely not visit Hebron Haven again. One positive - the food is not as bad as I expected given the other reviews. The home baked pies are not bad at all. I recommend the Thai Chicken or Pepper Steak.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hebronhavenhotel, General Manager at Hebron Haven Hotel & Country Conference Center, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Greetings from Hebron Haven Hotel,

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor, we value all comments posted by our guests.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your food, we are very proud of the food we serve.

With regard to the rooms,

We did have the most terrible weather, in December where most of the days it rained, thus not giving us the chance to open up the rooms and air them out properly.

The hotel is over 100 years old and requires on going maintenance, we are at a stage where the buildings are being re-painted and redone.

Please feel free to give Robert a call on 081 496 3434 and we will be happy to welcome you back to spend another night with us and to see what changes we have done.

Thanking you

Kind Regards

Robert Pollabauer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

My partner and I bought a two night stay on an online travel auction site which included dinner, bed and breakfast at hebron haven. The service we received both on phone when booking and in person was excellent.

Hebron is not a luxury hotel, but for the price we paid it was perfect for what we needed. Clean, well decorated room with tea and coffee facilities, and both a bath and shower. Dinner and breakfast were both good, though would have preferred more options on the set menu. Bar was festive and we really enjoyed the alfresco dining for our meals.

The hotel is conveniently located on the midlands meander, and is close to the must-see Abingdon Wine Estate. We will def revisit this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LetsGoGoGoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hebronhavenhotel, General Manager at Hebron Haven Hotel & Country Conference Center, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Greetings from Hebron Haven Hotel,

Thank you for your review, it is always nice to get good comments from guests that shows that we are doing it right,.

We are very happy to hear that you had a good time and are looking forward to welcoming you and your friends back again.

Once again,

Many thanks

Kind Regards

Robert Pollabauer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

We booked a 2 night special and were very disappointed. The hotel is in need of an upgrade. Our room was dark and smelt damp. The TV was not working and although the hotel did not appear to be full the Management did not appear interested in our request to move rooms. The Pub was warm and vibrant and food satisfactory. The electric blankets on the beds were an very welcome on the cold night. We chose not to return for a second night.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lieselle56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hebronhavenhotel, Owner at Hebron Haven Hotel & Country Conference Center, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Greetings from Hebron Haven Hotel.
Thank you Liselle for the review and the constructive comments. I remember chatting to you and your husband/partnr in th bar a few times the Friday night. I am sorry you were dissapointed and that you folk failed to inform me or my management staff of your room. We did have the most awefull weather and lightning strikes the night before which resulted in some severe damage including the Hotel tv network. I have discussed this with the reception and appologise for them not having informed you of the blacked-out TV's.
If I had seen you the next morning when I personally come greet all my/our guests again, I would have attended to your issues immedeatly. After being in the hospitality business for some 31 years, I know just how important you forl/guests are to our establishments.
Please feel free to call Robert at the hotel or e-mail me and we will be glad to have you and your husband around for a night. I am sure you will not be dissapointed.
Thanks again.
Warm regards
Rudolf Pollabauer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I feel bad at giving a bad review to a place that is already obviously struggling, but maybe the owner will take note and try to make some improvements. So this is being done in the spirit of constructive criticism. Also, it's only fair to say that the service was fine and the staff were friendly.

As you will see from my other reviews, I believe in taking price into consideration when giving a evaluating a venue. This is clearly not a fine dining establishment (there are some in the area), so I'm not comparing it to those. But apart from the drinks (beer and soda), which I did think were very cheap, its prices were comparable, or even slightly more, than what one would pay at even better a better class of venue, either in the Midlands or even Durban. In terms of quantity, both main courses we ordered more than adequate, but the quality was really bad. One order came with onion rings that tasted doughy and tasted like they'd been fried in old oil. The real complaint though was with the other main course—peri-peri chicken. It was supposed to have been grilled, but it came almost literally swimming in oil. It was almost inedible.

The staff did ask us whether we enjoyed the meal, but it was difficult to complain there and there. But they should perhaps have noticed how little of the meal was actually eaten. (We fled to a neighbouring pizzeria to try again, and had a perfectly good meal there.)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NautieZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hebronhavenhotel, Owner at Hebron Haven Hotel & Country Conference Center, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Greetings from Hebron Haven Hotel.
I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your meal. We really do try to keep every guest happy and content. I have been in the hospitality business for some 31 years and know how important you folk/guests are to us.
I myself enjoy good food and would readily complain if I were not satisfied. I am sorry that you did not let us know immedeately, as we would have sorted out your meal and rectified the issue.
None-thepless, I want to thank you for your very constructive report and actually wish there were more folk like you.
Please feel free to call again, come speak to Robert (as I now reside abroad) and he will take care of you.
Hope to see yo again.
With thanks
Rudolf Pollabauer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Howick hotels
0.0 mi away
Biggy Best Cottages
Biggy Best Cottages
#5 of 16 in Howick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lemonwood Cottages
Lemonwood Cottages
#6 of 16 in Howick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Meander In
Meander In
#7 of 16 in Howick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sunbird Guest House
Sunbird Guest House
#8 of 16 in Howick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Howick Falls Hotel
Howick Falls Hotel
#14 of 16 in Howick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hebron Haven Hotel & Country Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hebron Haven Hotel & Country Conference Center

Property: Hebron Haven Hotel & Country Conference Center
Address: D128, Lions River | Off Dargle / Impendle Road, Lions River, Howick 3260, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Howick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Howick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place to call home. The best value for money hotel in the Midlands. Great food from award winning chef/owner, Olde English style pub, with roaring log fires in pub and lounge for those cold winters nights. Farm like gardens with tame pigs roaming around, majestic views of the berg, large gardens, live music Friday Nights & Sunday lunches in our lush green gardens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing